We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy but tiny rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tovar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Tovar Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim; PO Box 699 10 Albright Street, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very cozy but tiny rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had a one-night stay in a room with a double bed because it was a last-minute reservation and that's all that was left. The room was tiny- basically a bed and 2 foot space surrounding it for walking around. That being said, it had all the basic amenities that you'd need- TV, closet, Iron/ironing board, wireless internet, coffee machine. The bathroom had nice fixtures. You could tell everything in this hotel was old but high quality and well-maintained. Bed was comfortable, rooms were quiet. We had a window that overlooked the canyon on the main floor.

The main lobby of this hotel has a cozy fireplace and several different seating areas. All wooden, lodge-like. There is an upper level mezzanine with board games and comfortable seating for guests to enjoy. All morning coffee and tea are served there as well. Gift shop inside and restaurant as well though I wouldn't highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    652
    567
    220
    92
    47
See reviews for
394
820
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I love hotels like this. plenty of history, comfort and right where you want to be. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms ample size for what we needed and have a certain charm being old worldy. Clean as well. Of course the reason you are here is the Grand Canyon and that is right out the door. We could see it from our window 50 metres away. So cool. The dining room although a little pricey is perfect for the setting. Great food and service. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and it was fine.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantorville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our tour guide recommended that we try the small bar and grill in the El Tovar saying that it wouldn't be crowded, the prices and food would be good. He was right on the money...the view of the canyon from our table was great, the food was delicious and considering where we were the prices were good. The hotel looks gorgeous but we weren't there to stay overnight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Having experienced very comfortable accomodation on our 6 week tour of North America, we were quite unprepared for this, our worst hotel experience and most expensive. After a 5 hour drive there was no parking and no proactive assistance from the hotel. Do guests walk there?

Our room was very very cold on arrival; we sat in our coats and it took several hours for the room to reach a comfortable temperature.

The noise from the heater and the other guests not only interupted my sleep but it felt like the guests were in the same room which made me edgy, so I wore ear plugs during the day in the room as well as at night. The heater noise is so loud (on then off then on) it interupts the TV.

The internet requires you to constantly re-log in (i would have done this 20+ times) and it's a slow process, as opposed to normal practice which is to log in once or once every 24 hours.

The room is really dark; I needed my torch to locate items in my bagage.

The sheets are thin and greying.

I had difficulty pre-paying for the stay in full (my emails were ignored/took a while to respond to) and having pre-paid they took a long time to remove the security deposit from my credit card.

Yes, the location is great, room clean and the staff on the ground are excellent, but I couldn't wait to check out. It reminded me of school camp and I don't know why everyone gives it such high ratings?

I had a Deluxe room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

If traveling to the South Rim, the El Tovar is well worth a visit even if you don't stay there. Our room was very small, but well kept and clean. The restaurant overlooking the canyon was wonderful! Reservations fill very quickly, so don't procrastinate or you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had a great stay here on my way round the States. Wanted to see the canyon and to say this place is convenient is an understatement. Positioned right on the edge it's the perfect place to explore from. I did the walk along the Rim - spectacular. The hotel was built about a hundred years ago and manages to blend the old feel with modern comforts. The room was comfortable and the restaurant very good although the menu seemed a little over fussy. One moan would be the Hotel advertised free high speed broadband which is a bit misleading. To me High Speed should support video - 5Mbps - the speed here was usually about 0.2Mbps. Annoying but if you don't have to use the internet then it doesn't matter! All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms with a balcony view over the Canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Stopped into the dining room at El Tovar during a blustery day of seeing the rim. Hotel is wonderfully appointed and each area is full of interesting items.
At the restaurant our table of four, had sandwiches.
Clubhouse was just piles of tasteless cold cuts and no extra flavour, asked for hot mustard to assist it taste. Ordered Ruben sandwich with NO thousand island dressing. It was not good! Came loaded with thousand island dressing on all the pieces of soggy bread, no mustard and I had to search for the sauerkraut. Waiter offered me new slices of bread to put around my meat and sauerkraut.
Hot beef sandwich was tasty and juicy with drippings, a bit to much. The juice ran down the eaters arm and by the time he got to the second half the bread was so soggy it would not hold together.
Hamburger and fries - EXCELLENT and done to order.
The bus boy/waiter, was very attentive, efficient and busy. The waiter missed a couple of things at our table and the table beside us. He was friendly and we enjoyed visiting with him, but it may help to write our orders down as we make them.
Price was good, considering we were almost at the top of the world.
Make sure your waiter gets your order straight.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Address: Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim; PO Box 699 10 Albright Street, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Tovar Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tovar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.