We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Tovar Hotel to your Saves list
El Tovar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim; PO Box 699 10 Albright Street, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A great place to eat. Lovely well cooked food and the location is just amazing. Try a lunchtime snack outside on the balcony while you stare across the Grand Canyon - nothing like it on earth! Evening dinning is a really good experience a bit pricey but considering the location - well worth it. You can eat cheaper in the park but the quality at this venue is worth the extra cost

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    735
    313
    127
    64
See reviews for
543
1,077
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Awesome view of the Grand Canyon, great history. Have the Beef Stronganoff, it's awarding winning & you'll understand why. Good regional beers are served. Nice stop for lunch before checking out surrounding trails, Kolb Studio, Bright Angel Trailhead and photo ops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenolden, Pa.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 6459 which is a suite, at @$300 a night this was the most I've ever paid for a hotel stay but decided to splurge to stay at this National landmark. The hotel is beautiful and rustic. I liked the built in soap, shampoo and conditioned in the shower and the built in safe. It was wonderful going out at dusk and dawn and seeing lots of elk grazing. Breakfast was delicious..loved the strawberry cream cheese filled French toast. I also loved the porch with the views and rockers and swings. The only complaint I had was the lack of counter space in the bathroom, but it led to the charm of the room. I would recommend this hotel but having been there, done that would probably stay at another Rim hotel for cost effectiveness if I should ever return to GCNP.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's really about the hotel's long history, had a great night at dinner with my 20 year old daughter and sat in front of fireplace, probably same place I sat with my parents and brother in 1959. Great atmosphere, we had drinks on front porch (an old fashion and an ice tea of course) and enjoyed the wait for our table. Very old school professional waiters, Alecia had the duck and loved it, I had the special steak and ok, but a little tough. I would still go here even if the food was not first class, the ambiance and atmosphere is unbeatable...they had great desserts.

Room Tip: Probably stay outside of the Village again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had 3 rooms at El Tovar on June 10th, the Fred Harvey Suite and 2 Deluxe Queen rooms. I called 13 months in advance to book the Fred Harvey Suite for my mother in law, and I'm so glad I did. The view from the enormous patio was incredible. We watched the sun set over the Grand Canyon as a family. The deluxe queen rooms were very small, just the beds, a small bedside table and an armoir. The bathroom was extremely small compared to a normal hotel bathroom. There is no counter space at all, so be aware of that. Everything was very clean, and the bed was comfortable which is most important to me. The location is what you are paying for, and I think it's worth it if you like convenience and walking out to a gorgeous view. The hotel lobby is very dark, but it has a lot of personality. The staff was very friendly and helpful in answering all of our questions, although we had to wait until exactly 4:00 pm to check in because the rooms we were assigned had all late checkouts. The parking lot is the worst thing about this hotel. They do not have reserved parking for hotel guests, so you either have to drive around in circles waiting for the tourists to leave, or go park at one of the other lots almost a mile away. Loved it!! The only thing keeping this hotel from being a 5/5 is the parking situation, room size for the price, and having to wait until the end of the day to check in.

Room Tip: I booked as soon as reservations opened 13 months in advance to get the Fred Harvey Suite, which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Okay...this definately has a close view of the canyon, which was exactly why we stayed here. The hotel part is nice.. but as far as the rooms go, for the price I definately expected more!

The parking lot was full when we arrived. I agree with the previous comment that there really is no designated parking lot for hotel guests so basically you have to park in the circle at the entrance of the hotel until there is an open parking spot and then go move your car. There is no elevator..so with that im glad we were on the first floor but if you want privacy this might not be the floor for you. Neither one of our curtains closed all the way which would be ok if there wasnt a place for people to walk past but there is! We woke up to a guy taking pictures outside pointed at our room.

The bedding looked very old and worn. One would think they would update once in awhile but the room was old and plain. Nothing special.

A huge negative for us...was the fact that the air conditioner automatically adjusts...so no matter what you adjust it to its going to stay on where they put it. When we got here the room was very cool and felt good. All 3 of us woke up at 4:30 am to a very hot room. Not sure if all the lodges here do that but when you have a sunburn you need air not heat. We tried adjusting it but realized we have no control over what it says. I definately expect more!!!!!! With $300 a night for an old average room the least they can provide is cool air in the summer months!

There were some reviews about small rooms. Ours was not small and we did have 2 queen beds but just plain and for the price we paid $300/night should have been updated long ago. Its definately a hotel with history but the price you pay is not worth it to me. I have stayed in older hotels much nicer.

The positives: beds are comfortable and bathroom is nothing to rave about but was nice. Beautiful view right outside hotel 20-30 feet. Elk grazing right in front of hotel. But you can walk over or drive to see the elk and beautiful view from outside. That is what the hotel staff said was the reason the parking lot stays full certain times of day!

People only stay here for convenience. I definately expected more! Overpriced. Very disappointed!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from the grand canyon and stayed for 2 nights at the el tovor lodge. our room was on the first floor, 6444, great view of the canyon. just a few steps out the door and you were standing at the rim of the grand canyon. the room was very comfortable. bedding soft and clean. bathroom was very clean but a little small. in room coffee was great. eat at the el tovar dining room. the food is GREAT!!!. prices average. parking is limited on site, but not a problem. the staff is very friendly and very helpful. book in advance this lodge is always full.

shuttle service around the village is a great way to get around. shuttle service every 10-15 minutes just a few steps from the lodge. highly recommend the lodge.

Room Tip: this lodge does not have an elevator. first floor is very comfortable. ask for a room facing the rim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.0 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Address: Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim; PO Box 699 10 Albright Street, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tovar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tovar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.