We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bell boy's suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Tovar Hotel to your Saves list
El Tovar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bell boy's suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I made our first ever trip to the Grand Canyon, and had read how wonderful and historic the El Tovar is on Tripadvisor. We booked through the national park service- which is actually the wrong service to use (at least that is what we were told by hotel staff) we should have used Xanterra. Upon our arrival- we could only stay one night- we found out we had been booked in a double bed, tough for 2 people so we asked for an upgrade. Which they did have available. We were assigned the Bell boy suite, king size bed and sitting room, very large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, however my hubby and I both had trouble sleeping. I always have trouble in older hotels, due to the noise level, so be aware if you are a light sleeper, the heater (it was 13 degrees outside) kicking on at night is very loud, as well as, noise from the hallway. It's to be expected in an older hotel so just be aware this is no exception. The dining area and bar are very nice and cozy. It was nice to have a hot cocoa after being outside in the cold! One of the other great features (at least in cool weather) is the beautiful fireplace in the lobby with seating. I wish it threw more heat, but it was really great, and with my hot cocoa I felt like i was at a ski lodge! Overall the el tovar has a great location right along the south rim, and very comfortable accommodations. We even got to see a herd of elk right next to the train station!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Jessandjohnforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a two night stay that we really enjoyed. The service was outstanding, and our room was great. The bathroom didn't have much room but the shower was nice and they had plenty of towels. Good value for the money. The location, right on the edge of the canyon, was spectacular.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank aatbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We came the first week in February- and booked our room somewhat last mintue. We had no idea what to expect. We were a little reluctant to spend the extra money to stay here rather than one of the other hotels just down the road in the town of Tusayan. I AM SO GLAD we chose here! We booked a standard room with a King Bed and when we checked in I was informed that we were assigned the Solarium Suite! There was an enormous patio off of the living room (as large as the room itself) a living room with a TV and a huge bedroom with a King canopy and another TV. There was so much character yet it was updated with all modern comforts- flatscreens, iPod docking stations. The location could not have been closer to the rim of the canyon. Upon arriving and checking in we went for a nice walk on the paved pathway just outside the front door and observed the canyon in the late afternoon sun. Going in Feb isn't the warmest but I felt like we practically had the park to ourselves! We walked about 1/2 a mile and came face to face with a group of 5 elk just grazing in the woods completely unfazed by our presence. I think they would have let us pet them! We did not eat in the dining room at El Tovar- we had a toddler with us who was weary from travel and I didn't think it would go well to have her sit in a nice restaurant. So we just drove a few miles into town and grabbed some pizza. The restaurant looked just lovely though. The staff was wonderful and very knowledgable. There were plenty hotels in Tusayan that looked standard and decent but this truly was a unique experience that made our Grand Canyon visit so enjoyable. If we ever return I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMH585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonner Springs, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I planned a surprise trip for my husband around being able to stay in the El Tovar Suite at the El Tovar. The El Tovar is a historical hotel in one of the most breathtaking locations in the world. The El Tovar Suite has an unobstructed view of the Grand Canyon via a large balcony. The staff was welcoming and we were able to check in early. They had our bags in our room and took care of anything we needed/wanted, including taking our bags from our room to the train. The sunrise, sunset, stars and views from our balcony were worth every penny. We just bundled up and enjoyed it all. The hotel is 100+ yrs old and we expected it to show some age, wear and tear....it did not. With over a million tourists through the lobby each year, the hotel is amazingly clean and maintained. The rooms are smaller but that also comes with age. Our suite was nice decorated and modern. The resturant was exceptional....by far the best food in the Grand Canyon Village. We enjoyed two great dinners and breakfast in bed. We regretted eating at the Bright Angels Lodge as it paled in comparison. Stay at the El Tovar and spring for the suite; you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Go for the best - stay in one of the suites!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stoneymeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The dining is amazing. The suite is luxurious with a massive balcony to enjoy the sunrise from. As I relaxed on the balcony in my comfortable robe watching the sunrise, a gang of elk walked right below the patio and began eating from the trees and playing amongst each other. The other side of the lodge is no more than about 50 feet from the rim of the Grand Canyon where you can enjoy the Sunset.

Room Tip: If you are splurging, get a suite to enjoy the patio, but if not you can easily go outside and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived in early evening needing 2 rooms with assistance carrying our bags upstairs and reservations for dinner, all was done quickly and accurately. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

The next morning light revealed the canyon. Great experience. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel7056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

El Tovar Hotel has a breathtaking location, outstanding service and restaurant. Rooms are small. Opt for the top floor to avoid noise. If you go to the Grand Canyon Southern Rim, stay at least for a day to enjoy the dawn and dusk, the nature and the stars. You'll be amazed.
The low season was an excellent opportunity to enjoy the Canyon and El Tovar. The snow gives a different dimension to the awesomeness of the Canyon. Remember to always check the weather forecast.

Room Tip: Opt for the top floor for less noise and ask for the north or north east-facing side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuanSeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.0 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Address: Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tovar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing