We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth the experience of the atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Tovar Hotel to your Saves list
El Tovar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim; PO Box 699 10 Albright Street, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth the experience of the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked on line for a two night stay. We are a family of 4 and week given a room with two queen beds - we were allocated to a room upstairs, facing the car park. I assume it cost more for rooms with views to the canyon. The Internet rate for such a room was some USD220 per night plus tax and utility fee (????). The room was not big and with two beds, there was not much room to place 3 bags. The hotel does have a very nice cosy atmosphere to it, especially when it was snowing whilst we were there. It was nice to come in to a fireplace in the lobby area after spending a day out in the cold. The day we were there, it was -13C when we watch the sun rise and I think the high on that day was only around 3C. On this occasion, we really appreciated the atmosphere of the hotel that really blended in well with the cold winter temperatures. I would recommend a visitor to the Grand Canyon to experience this hotel for its history in the area. Having said that, because of its price range, we would choose another property when we do visit the Grand Canyon again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    686
    281
    119
    58
See reviews for
495
998
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is expensive, the food at the restaurant is not worth the price, but it's all about the location and the experience. We truly enjoyed our two nights stay here and would do it again. The hotel is old and they definitely need to put some money into it, but the experience was priceless. Make sure you ask about the room location. We reserved online and once we arrived we were told that our room was downstairs, meaning the basement. They accomodated us at a ground floor room. The online reservation is not very specific. If you get a room upstairs, you have to climb stairs, no elevator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa AZ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Lovely room and a great staff. Amazing breakfast very reasonably prices. Once in a lifetime event, but would love to make it twice in a lifetime. Everyone should stay here at least once. The room was very clean and the bed a dream. Brought my childhood girlfriend here who had never been out west. She was overwhelmed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you want to see Grand Canyon properly, you really must stay in the Park. The best parts of every day are around sunrise and sunset. Staying in the Park allows you to enjoy the quiet and beautiful light before the day trippers arrive. Having decided to stay in the Park, the best hotel accommodation is definitely El Tovar. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the staff is always friendly and helpful. It is a little bit expensive for the quality of the accommodation but it is a price worth paying for the ability to be steps away from the South Rim. Complimentary coffee in the second floor lobby for guests is a nice touch in the mornings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor room with a balcony facing east. Was really nice in the December morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I ended our Arizona trip by staying at the El Tovar hotel right in the Grand Canyon National Park. Our check-in was quick and courteous. The lady at the front desk noted that the room we had reserved had two double beds instead of a queen or king size bed. She agreed to upgrade us to a room with two queen size beds at no extra cost. The room was beautifully furnished. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom quaint. You do feel that you are in a hotel with a lot of history. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel. One of the most enjoyable meals on our trip.
The hotel staff are extremely friendly and courteous. I felt as if I was staying at a luxurious hunting lodge. The best bonus is the view, steps away from the hotel and multiple choices for walks down beautiful trails. I am so glad we decided to stay at this hotel even though it was only for a night. A memorable hotel in a memorable location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at El Tovar. The room was very small and the bathroom nothing special and we felt the weight of the age in spite of the 2005 refurbishment.
The lobby and the dinning room are much more pleasant.
The service was ok but at the same time funny, specially at the breakfast (very good) were the distribuition of the tables was very complicated besides the dinning room were occupied less than an half.
The location of the El Tovar is in fact fantastic, very close to the rim with wonderfull views to the Grand Canyon and this is the mainly reason why I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

El Tovar Hotel right on the South Rim of the Grand Canyon has everything you could ask for. Spend a day of hiking the many trails at the Canyon, spend the late afternoon in the bar, spend the evening in the dining room. Then there are the nightly lectures given by National Park Rangers. What more could you ask for during a vacation? The rooms are very comfortable. Big, fluffy beds, chairs for reading, a large bathroom with tub and shower. Great views from the rooms. The windows open to let in fresh air. The desk clerks are very helpful and friendly. There are several shops in case you have forgotten anything. There is a iPod dock so that you can listen to your own music, a refrigerator, and, in the common space, card tables, several large fire places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Address: Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim; PO Box 699 10 Albright Street, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tovar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tovar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.