We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat this location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins
Save Saved
You added Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Can't beat this location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for our one night stay in the Grand Canyon and couldn't be happier! To be able to walk out your door a few hundred yards and marvel in the aweinspiring beauty that awaits you is just unbelievable! We had a connecting room (two doubles in one room and one in the other) with our own shower. No AC but the fans were running but turned them off and opened the windows for the cool night breeze! Rooms were very clean and ours came with a small fridge. The only complaint I had is that we were on the end of the hallway and could hear people coming on and out of the bldg. The only complaint my kids would have is that I failed to tell them there weren't any tv's. But from bring out all day to doing a sunset pink jeep tour they crashed when we got back! Would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    566
    627
    188
    57
    21
See reviews for
294
827
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Positive: Check-in and out went very smoothly. Lodge is only about 50 feet from the South Rim - great view. We did pay the extra money for a private shower and that was worth it. Negative: We knew going in that there would be no A/C; but not sure if there would at least be a fan (NOPE!). Oh well, it was going to be chilly at night, so we could open the window and get a breeze - WRONG - WE HAD NO BREEZE AT ALL NOR DID WE FEEL THE COLD AIR. It was only a double bed (we're used to a King) which was not very comfortable. We hardly slept and were off to over a four hour drive in the morning to the North Rim. What a miserable night!

Room Tip: Pay more money and stay at a better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to secure three rim cabins for our family. They were all of slightly different formation, of rustic design with bathrooms ensuite. The beds were comfy and linens clean and fresh. There were two chairs and an occasional table along with TV, coffee making facilities and a fridge.
Access to the trails and shuttles was easy and on an evening when the day visitors had gone it was amazing to stand out and just enjoy the view in silence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Staying at Bright Angel Lodge is like taking a dip into the past. I am rating this 5 because we knew ahead of time what we were getting- a room without a shower for a great price. Our room was on the end of the building so we had a great cross breeze. We were worried about the lack of ac but it gets cold at night at the Grand Canyon even in the summer, so it was fine. (There is a fan provided.). The room is neat as a pin and the bathroom was spotless. The showers are individual rooms with space to change. Very clean and private.

Bright Angel is in what I consider to be the best location in the village. It is steps from the rim, across the street from the mule barn, at right at the head of the best trails. We loved loved our stay here and really regretted not booking out last 3 nights. One night? What were we thinking?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked a cabin online a couple of days before we turned up as we weren't sure of our plans. The cabin was perfect as far as we were concerned. The fact is that you're not going to be spending a lot of time in your room since the reason you're there is to gaze and walk. The cabins are a minute from the rim. They are modernised while retaining a rustic feel. They have nice bathrooms. They have everything you need and are very clean. No complaints and we loved it, so much so that we decided to stay an extra night. The staff at reception were incredibly good and helpful. A cancellation came up while we were out walking and we came back to find a note on the door to say that we could keep the cabin another night. It seems that cancellations come up all the time and so you can get a room at short notice. Other friends of ours have found this too. If location is important to you then definitely go for one of these cabins. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant, however, was terrible. I have done a separate review of this.

Room Tip: Try and get a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in a Bright Angel Cabin in the middle of my R2R2R hike and had a true fantastic experience. The location is excellent, my cabin was within sight of the trailhead. The staff were incredible - I completed the first leg of my hike faster than expected and arrived 2 hours before check-in, but they were able to get me into a cabin immediately. The bathroom was immaculate, and the room extremely clean and well furnished. While there is no A/C, I was able to stay cool by opening the window and turning on the fan. The bed was very comfortable (though after hiking 24 miles, I probably would have slept on anything). Conveniently, the Backpacker Express Shuttle picks up hikers in the morning outside the main lodge, which also includes a decent bar and two restaurants - the casual Bright Angel Restaurant (food and service = mediocre, but reasonably priced) and the slightly upscale Arizona Room (food was pretty good, service was great, slightly more expensive). Probably the best value, considering the location and quality, on the entire South Rim.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a private bath - be sure to check when you make your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Cozy, clean cabins right next to the trail leading to some the best views on the south rim of the canyon. There's a nice restaurant in the main lodge. There's also a great little museum and gift shop in the main lodge. We had a great time here before we hiked down.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.