We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins
Save Saved
You added Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location, location, location ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you want 5 star accommodation this is not the place for you .... the cabins are modest but it is all about the location. You literally step out of the door and the Grand Canyon is RIGHT THERE. It is stunning and takes away all thoughts of the not so comfy bed :) Great place to stay if you know exactly what you are going into before you get there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    646
    193
    58
    21
See reviews for
300
848
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when visiting the beautiful Grand Canyon. We got a cabin with a bathroom for just over $100 for the night.

We'd been driving a long time to get there and wanted to get some lunch when we arrived. We were directed to the restaurant who said it would be 45 minute wait or we could go to the bar and have a meal straight away. We went to the bar where they only had one worker on for a bar of 30 or 40 patrons. I stood at the bar for 15 minutes waiting to place an order and then was told I couldn't order a coke at the bar unless I gave them passport ID. It was a frustrating first experience when we had been driving a long time to get there.

The room was very ordinary. You could barely squeeze into the basin area to brush your teeth. The mattress and pillows were terrible and kept us up all night. The food options are very limited and very poor.

I wrote a letter of complaint about the bad experience several weeks ago but never got a response. I would not recommend staying here but would definitely recommend visiting the canyon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Bright Angel Lodge and the cabin we stayed in, are located next to what must be one of the most magical views in the world. I have waited over 50 years to see the Grand Canyon and I must say no photo of mine would ever do it justice. Our cabin 6169 was comfortable and warm for our January stay and conveniently located to the main lodge and a short 20-30M walk to the view itself.
The cabin while plain, was good for purpose, with private shower and lavatory, coffee maker, fridge and comfortable queen size bed. Our neighbours were quiet, but I can imagine noise could be an issue as there is just a door between cabins in the duplex.
The Bright Angel Lodge restaurant had good food and very cheerful and helpful waiting staff, and I consider good value for money.
Make use of the free bus service and free guided walks if able.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Bright Angel Lodge was one of the more reasonably priced places to stay within Grand Canyon Village. We booked a Queen Cabin quite close to the rim and needed some help to find it. It wasn't straight-forward to find at all....at least not to us! The room was right next to the current building work, so the noise and the view were not great, but we were out walking on the afternoon we arrived, and by the time we got back, it was dark and all the work had stopped.

The room was a decent size. The furniture was a little tired and the TV signal cut out quite a lot. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was well-equipped and absolutely spotless!

We didn't eat at Bright Angel. Instead we went to the restaurant at El Tovar, which was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The cabin was clean and had a very pleasant atmosphere, so historic. We enjoyed it very much. There was just one queen bed, but the mattress was good enough. Not too wobbly for two. The heater couldn't be regulated real well. It was a bit on the hot side. Like the hotels of the former Eastern European hotels: the heater was just hot and you had to open the windows to cool a little. We couldn't help but contribute to global warming!!! Not very much like Xanterra's philosophy I believe. We had dinner in the restaurant at Bright Angel Lodge. It was good. We were a little early to have dinner, before 7.30 pm. Before the large groups came in the servers could handle it, but later it was very difficult for them.
But the bad thing is the Internet WiFi connection. As international travelers we appreciate fast Internet. But here: no Internet in the cabins. Just in a small area in the hotel lobby. That's too much like in the Middle Ages!
But the location was perfect. We loved to stay here because of that.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

because we were excited about our hike into the canyon the room was clean but nothing more.. shower was adequate barely warm...mattresses old but this isnt the Ritz The rooms are close to the canyon so for this reason the location was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Of course, as others have said here, it's all about the location of the cabins and lodge here, as you are right at the edge of the Canyon and it's so convenient for wandering out to get pics etc whenever the mood takes you. The rooms are clean, basic (with a nice bathroom) with a comfy bed which is really all you need. Also, we arrived when it was pretty chilly, but the room heaters were amazing and it was toasty warm inside (good job though, as only thin bedding provided). The facilities at the main lodge are pretty good too, with free wifi being available in the lobby (but not elsewhere throughout which you sort of expect in a remote location like this). Staff were polite and professional throughout. My only downside to the whole place would be the bar, as there is an awful smell pervading the entire place (septic tank or sewage type smell) which really made it difficult to spend any amount of time in there (which was a shame, as there was a good duo playing on the night we stayed and it would've been nice to stay a while longer to soak up the atmosphere.) Overall, i'd recommend to anyone, but avoid the bar area if you have a sensitive nose!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;