We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins
Save Saved
You added Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Newhaven
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Bright Angel Lodge was one of the more reasonably priced places to stay within Grand Canyon Village. We booked a Queen Cabin quite close to the rim and needed some help to find it. It wasn't straight-forward to find at all....at least not to us! The room was right next to the current building work, so the noise and the view were not great, but we were out walking on the afternoon we arrived, and by the time we got back, it was dark and all the work had stopped.

The room was a decent size. The furniture was a little tired and the TV signal cut out quite a lot. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was well-equipped and absolutely spotless!

We didn't eat at Bright Angel. Instead we went to the restaurant at El Tovar, which was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    634
    189
    57
    21
See reviews for
296
833
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
holland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The cabin was clean and had a very pleasant atmosphere, so historic. We enjoyed it very much. There was just one queen bed, but the mattress was good enough. Not too wobbly for two. The heater couldn't be regulated real well. It was a bit on the hot side. Like the hotels of the former Eastern European hotels: the heater was just hot and you had to open the windows to cool a little. We couldn't help but contribute to global warming!!! Not very much like Xanterra's philosophy I believe. We had dinner in the restaurant at Bright Angel Lodge. It was good. We were a little early to have dinner, before 7.30 pm. Before the large groups came in the servers could handle it, but later it was very difficult for them.
But the bad thing is the Internet WiFi connection. As international travelers we appreciate fast Internet. But here: no Internet in the cabins. Just in a small area in the hotel lobby. That's too much like in the Middle Ages!
But the location was perfect. We loved to stay here because of that.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

because we were excited about our hike into the canyon the room was clean but nothing more.. shower was adequate barely warm...mattresses old but this isnt the Ritz The rooms are close to the canyon so for this reason the location was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Of course, as others have said here, it's all about the location of the cabins and lodge here, as you are right at the edge of the Canyon and it's so convenient for wandering out to get pics etc whenever the mood takes you. The rooms are clean, basic (with a nice bathroom) with a comfy bed which is really all you need. Also, we arrived when it was pretty chilly, but the room heaters were amazing and it was toasty warm inside (good job though, as only thin bedding provided). The facilities at the main lodge are pretty good too, with free wifi being available in the lobby (but not elsewhere throughout which you sort of expect in a remote location like this). Staff were polite and professional throughout. My only downside to the whole place would be the bar, as there is an awful smell pervading the entire place (septic tank or sewage type smell) which really made it difficult to spend any amount of time in there (which was a shame, as there was a good duo playing on the night we stayed and it would've been nice to stay a while longer to soak up the atmosphere.) Overall, i'd recommend to anyone, but avoid the bar area if you have a sensitive nose!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in a cabin the night before we hiked to the bottom of the Grand Canyon and on the day after we hiked out. Our adult children shared a room in the lodge. Our cabin with a partial view and fireplace ($184/night) had an absolutely wonderful view. We had a spectacular view of the sunset and the sunrise. It was also very nice to be able to hike out and walk directly to our cabin; my son was ahead of us and was able to check us in. The actual room was nice but National Park basic. The bed was comfortable, the food at the lodge restaurant was ok. My kids said that the rooms in the lodge are very noisy. You can hear everything going on in the next rooms and you can hear the door open and shut as people leave the lodge.

Room Tip: Definitely chose a cabin with a view; you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Cute little cabin close to the canyon rim with all the basics that you need: a bed and a bathroom (and TV!). But, the walls were thin and we could clearly hear our neighbor snoring like a bear, and there was no A/C so it was pretty hot even at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

You don't need me to tell you that real reason to stay here is the location. It doesn't get any better than this. The sunrise alone is worth it.

We found the room to be quiet nice too! I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the other reviews here but it was very clean and comfortable. Admittedly it's hardly 5 star but for $129 a night (that's the winter/off season rate, I'm guessing it's more in the summer) it's not a terrible deal. We've paid as much for a regular room at a Holiday Inn Express before. You're essentially getting a private or duplex cabin for that price. True it's small, but the value of not having to share a wall/hallway with a hundred other people is priceless. It makes it so much quieter.

The room was tidy, if a little dated. They do advertise the cabins as "historic" so we were expecting that. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom looked as if it had been renovated recently. The room included a little fridge and microwave. They have Internet in the main hotel lobby, bar and restaurant if you really want it but you're in a national park. What do you need a computer for anyway? The staff at the front desk was a bit unfriendly but the people working in the restaurant, booking office and bar couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.