We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view makes it all worthwhile.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins
Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Gold Coast Qld
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The view makes it all worthwhile.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visiting the Grand Canyon in October 2012 we stayed for one night in one of the cabins along the south rim. The view and location is the reason for staying at Bright Angel lodge. The rooms themselves although an okay size are quite basic. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed we have slept in and the linen looked to be years old - not very appealing. The room had a gas heater which kept the room warm - not sure how you would go on a really cold winter night though... Bathroom was clean, bath and shower in one (no separate shower). Room was equipped with a bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities, tv and two arm chairs if i remember right.
As said earlier the view and location is what makes staying in the cabins worthwhile - you are only metres from the edge of the canyon allowing for 24/7 viewing - sunrise/sunset & all day what more could you want.......If visiting the Grand Canyon again we would chose to stay at El Tovar Lodge instead as the location is just as fantastic but the hotel is much more comfy....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    551
    616
    187
    56
    21
See reviews for
284
813
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place was interesting because it was something lot different then average American hotel. I loved the lobby, there was a big fireplace, big wooden desk and huge souvenir shop! The room was old style like. There was no TV or microwave but it had a fridge. I loved the bathroom because of the retro bathtub! The only negative thing was that you could hear totally everything from neighbors rooms. And lastly as the name is Bright Angel Lodge it is very close to the Bright Angel trail and shuttles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Obviously, the location is awesome.
Stayed in a room not a cabin.
Very adequate. Bathroom was very clean.
Staff is okay. Friendly enough.
Think the place would be better if they played up the historic element a little more. There's weird paint on the floor in the lobby (may be some sort of required warnings or something- floor is uneven) Looks like a place from the 1970s not from the 1920s
The dining room is horrible. We got to the entrance and had to turn around because of the horrible smell. Ended up eating at the hotel down the road for all meals.
Think this would be a great place for a trip with the guys. If you're hiking the Bright Angel trail or going to the Phantom Ranch (at the bottom) this is the place to stay.
Reviews of places in National Parks are always on a sliding scale. The hotel will never be as great as one in Manhattan... but you're on the edge of the Grand Canyon!

Room Tip: I'd go for the cabin if I stayed here next time. They have amazing views of the canyon- Keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

stayed here with a couple of girlfriends when we decided to do a last minute road trip to the grand canyon for a weekend. we were only here one night and it rained then snowed most of the time we were there. staff was friendly and helpful when we woke up and were informed that the roads were not cleared yet and if we wanted to make it back to california we better get going. from the little exploring we did do, the site is just awesome... right on the rim and with a neat boardwalk/path that connects in the other south rim properties. our room itself was in perfectly fine condition, big enough for the three of us, nice amenities, and scale of the property and rooms is quite charming. parking right next to our cabin was actually helpful in the morning when i had to knock all the snow of our car, and made loading up and hitting the road easier than it would have been if we had to schlep our stuff to a parking garage.

i most definitely want to go back and explore the canyon more thoroughly and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south western ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights in late January. We were in one of the historic cabins that was a stand alone cabin, so no neighbours on the other side of the wall. We had a queen sized bed that was comfy enough, extra pillows in the wardrobe. The bathrooms seem to have been added on since the cabins were built and do not have space heaters on the floor. There was an electric space heater on the wall that blasted you with heat when it came on, but otherwise it was pretty chilly in there. It wouldn't be an issue in anything other than cold weather though, so don't let it deter you. Another thing that would be nice would be a closet area. There is a wardrobe but there is only room for one coat.
We loved the fact that the rim was so close with stunning views of the canyon. We were lucky enough to be there for a full moon over the canyon too - beautiful!
We found the staff to be all very friendly. This is a quiet time at the Canyon, and a great time to go if you don't like crowds or waiting in line. It almost seemed like we had the place to ourselves! You can also drive to the lookouts in winter with no worries about finding a place to park. There were at most one or two cars at each lookout we visited.
We ate in the Arizona Room and over at Maswick Cafeteria. In both places the staff were very friendly and the food was acceptable and good value (for a park).
All in all it was a wonderful experience, and I am very glad we chose to stay in the park.
One thing to note: They raised the price after our booking and we were not informed of this until we arrived. I realize rates increase, however we should have been notified prior to our arrival. I have sent a note to the management so perhaps I will hear back from them regarding this poilicy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you are a heavy sleeper then this is the place for you. If you don't want to hear your neighbors conversations like they are in the room with you stay away! The view and location is amazing. Staff was super friendly and we really appreciated that they offered to move us after we complained about noise level from neighbors. If I had read the previous reviews about noise I wouldn't have booked the room but because we were planning on doing the mule ride the reservation clerk I spoke with highly recommended we stay on property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

On january 29 We came to the lodge without any notice after our tour bus broke down as a result from the heavy snow. We where 80 frozen people that didn't know what to do. The lodge crew took care of us immediately and gave us all worm drinks and some food, contact the tour company for us and gave us a great service with everything we needed. They even gave us blankets & pillows so we could take a nap while we where waiting for other bus. With that kind of service there are not enough words to say thank you. Other than the more than best service we got, we can tell you that there's wonderful view on the canyon and that inside the lodge you can find nice restaurant, wifi service, gift shop and warm fireplace. The lodge is very clean. We're sure that on our next tour to the Grand Canyon south rim, we'll stay there for a night or two.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list