We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint cabin, great location,excellent site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins
Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Indian Springs, Alabama
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“quaint cabin, great location,excellent site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent one night in a cabin on the rim at the historic Bright Angel, prior to our mule expedition the next morning. The cabin was quaint, small, warm, comfortable and on the rim. It was more than adequate for our needs, plus it had a TV! It is not 'luxury accomodations', but that was not what I expected, and what I got was probably better than what I had anticipated. The south rim was about 30 ft from our door, the lodge was about 1/8 mile, and the walkway between included the Lookout and Kolb Studios.
The staff were very helpful, and our luggage transfers were a breeze. The staff at the transportation desk were very helpful, friendly, and accomodating.
There was construction going on right beside our cabin on the west side of the property, but we weren't in the cabin enough for it to be a real concern. The heavy equipment didn't start until after 8, and they were done before 4 pm.
Overall, a great experience here. I would stay here again if I was going on the mule expedition, doing a lot of hiking, or just wanted a couple of days on the rim.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin on the west side of the property - a little more privacy, a little less traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    682
    200
    62
    21
See reviews for
310
907
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I wouldn't say we got a discount due to construction on the roadway around the cabin, but the clerk went out of her way to stress the construction. Room was comfortable and it is worth a bit more rent to be right at the canyon, adjacent to the walks, studios, dining, and bus. We encountered mule deer on an evening walk and in the morning. Just a neat setting, ambiance and sense of history. WiFi only in the lobby...boo. And the worst fish taco of my life in the cafe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wow, a room right on the rim. We saw an Elk grazing on the grass just outside our room at dawn an a small herd of mule deer just as we left the El Tovar dining room after dark. The rooms are small but so what, I wasn't doing anything but sleeping there. The bath rooms are actually nicer than the Flamingo in Vegas. The vales in the gift shop are very good, we didn't feel gouged. You must stay at the canyon to get the full experience. I would go back. It's not rustic but it's close. It got Dow to the upper 30's in the night. Take appropriate clothing.

Room Tip: I'd try to get one of the cabins on the rim. I didn't call far enough in advance. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Bright Angel Lodge in a Historic cabin for two nights 11-12 October 2012.
I must stress here, before you read on, that the setting for this site is within the National Park and World Heritage Site and is absolutely stunning; being only a matter of feet away from one of the most spectacular natural sights a human being can behold.
HOWEVER, upon our arrival we found it almost impossible to park. 'Pretty odd', we thought. It wasn't apparent to us why until we did find a parking spot (a 15 minute wait for one to become available), which was right beside a 6 foot high temporary wire fence. Upon further investigation it became obvious that the Bright Angel Lodge 'had the workmen in...' There was robust fencing threaded all around the lodges and pretty heavy construction work going on in areas that seemed highly likely to be where the guests staying in said lodges would've normally parked.
When we checked in I expected to be told of the construction and some sort of apology to be offered...nothing. I was given the keys to the lodge and a map...still no mention of the work site. I asked the receptionist to point on the map to where the cabin was, she duly obliged, but still the elephant in the car park remained invisible! "what, there...in the middle of the construction site?" I inquired. "Yes Sir" came the reply, the elephants covert presence remained intact to the very end! That is...save for the welcome letter in the cabin that surreptitiously alluded to the building site.
Now, the cabin was lovely. It was clean and well presented...surrounded by wire fencing admittedly, but nevertheless clean and well presented. The bed was comfortable and you got a real feel of quirky nostalgia within. The whole park was pleasant (let's put aside for a moment the jaw dropping views at every turn of the Canyon Rim),the restaurants and bar were warm and friendly, all their staff very obliging, the food tasty and well prepared. Which brings me to my point. Xanterra, you're a big concern, it would've been a drop in your ocean to offer your guests a decent percentage (15-20%) off their food bill, to compensate them for the construction inconvenience, wouldn't it? After all, it's a closed shop, you'd still be trousering the profits! Or is it just that you're 'too big' and don't care? As I said, your guests are pretty much a captive audience. Unless they're willing to travel a good distance and refrain from alcohol (to drive), they'll be eating with you regardless! Oh, and I've just learned, from reading other reviews, that those who complained were compensated-but one had to complain first, shame on you!
Location-5 blobs, cabin-4 blobs, bars/restaurants-4 blobs, Xanterra's apathy-5 blobs!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed in a cabin within 100 feet of the Canyon wall. Loved strolling along the canyon, shopping in the Gift Shops (quality merchandise), having drinks in the bar with an incredible view of the Canyon.
A couple of hiccups-
One was the erroneous information we were given regarding the ability to utilize the lobby computer to access the internet. Manager didn't offer any solution.
Construction was being done around the cabins and parking lots. We were given notice prior to our arrival, work was completed each day by an acceptable time to ensure no sleep disturbance and there were (friendly) construction workers posted at crosswalks to ensure safe crossings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ma.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the cabins, which were small and dated but well worth the value.There was construction going on around the cabin and one of the workers told us to be sure and ask for the discount do to the construction..... it was $50.00 a night and for 3 nights we saved $150.00 on our stay. the work begins around 8am and stops around 4pm, the front desk did not offer this information so be sure to ask. We had a number of meals at the lodge and though none were
out standing they were good and the prices were not bad. Overall I would give it a do to the location and price.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location of these quaint cabins is amazing. Our door was a few steps from the rim. The rooms are a bit small but not a problem. It was nice to be able to take in the views and explore the canyon from here and not have to take a shuttle and be constantly on the go.

We had dinner one night a short walk away at El Tovar.

Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.