We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on you Xanterra!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bright Angel Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bright Angel Lodge to your Saves list
Bright Angel Lodge
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shame on you Xanterra!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Bright Angel Lodge in a Historic cabin for two nights 11-12 October 2012.
I must stress here, before you read on, that the setting for this site is within the National Park and World Heritage Site and is absolutely stunning; being only a matter of feet away from one of the most spectacular natural sights a human being can behold.
HOWEVER, upon our arrival we found it almost impossible to park. 'Pretty odd', we thought. It wasn't apparent to us why until we did find a parking spot (a 15 minute wait for one to become available), which was right beside a 6 foot high temporary wire fence. Upon further investigation it became obvious that the Bright Angel Lodge 'had the workmen in...' There was robust fencing threaded all around the lodges and pretty heavy construction work going on in areas that seemed highly likely to be where the guests staying in said lodges would've normally parked.
When we checked in I expected to be told of the construction and some sort of apology to be offered...nothing. I was given the keys to the lodge and a map...still no mention of the work site. I asked the receptionist to point on the map to where the cabin was, she duly obliged, but still the elephant in the car park remained invisible! "what, there...in the middle of the construction site?" I inquired. "Yes Sir" came the reply, the elephants covert presence remained intact to the very end! That is...save for the welcome letter in the cabin that surreptitiously alluded to the building site.
Now, the cabin was lovely. It was clean and well presented...surrounded by wire fencing admittedly, but nevertheless clean and well presented. The bed was comfortable and you got a real feel of quirky nostalgia within. The whole park was pleasant (let's put aside for a moment the jaw dropping views at every turn of the Canyon Rim),the restaurants and bar were warm and friendly, all their staff very obliging, the food tasty and well prepared. Which brings me to my point. Xanterra, you're a big concern, it would've been a drop in your ocean to offer your guests a decent percentage (15-20%) off their food bill, to compensate them for the construction inconvenience, wouldn't it? After all, it's a closed shop, you'd still be trousering the profits! Or is it just that you're 'too big' and don't care? As I said, your guests are pretty much a captive audience. Unless they're willing to travel a good distance and refrain from alcohol (to drive), they'll be eating with you regardless! Oh, and I've just learned, from reading other reviews, that those who complained were compensated-but one had to complain first, shame on you!
Location-5 blobs, cabin-4 blobs, bars/restaurants-4 blobs, Xanterra's apathy-5 blobs!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    721
    219
    64
    20
See reviews for
327
956
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed in a cabin within 100 feet of the Canyon wall. Loved strolling along the canyon, shopping in the Gift Shops (quality merchandise), having drinks in the bar with an incredible view of the Canyon.
A couple of hiccups-
One was the erroneous information we were given regarding the ability to utilize the lobby computer to access the internet. Manager didn't offer any solution.
Construction was being done around the cabins and parking lots. We were given notice prior to our arrival, work was completed each day by an acceptable time to ensure no sleep disturbance and there were (friendly) construction workers posted at crosswalks to ensure safe crossings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ma.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the cabins, which were small and dated but well worth the value.There was construction going on around the cabin and one of the workers told us to be sure and ask for the discount do to the construction..... it was $50.00 a night and for 3 nights we saved $150.00 on our stay. the work begins around 8am and stops around 4pm, the front desk did not offer this information so be sure to ask. We had a number of meals at the lodge and though none were
out standing they were good and the prices were not bad. Overall I would give it a do to the location and price.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location of these quaint cabins is amazing. Our door was a few steps from the rim. The rooms are a bit small but not a problem. It was nice to be able to take in the views and explore the canyon from here and not have to take a shuttle and be constantly on the go.

We had dinner one night a short walk away at El Tovar.

Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Hill, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in the Powell Lodge at Bright Angel. This was the cheapest lodging option to stay in the Grand Canyon Park. The room has a sink with soap & lotion supplied and a Mini-Fridge--so it had everything we needed--the bathroom and showers were shared and I thought that might be an issue, but it was not. I never had to wait on a shower or toilet and had plenty of hot water and for being shared it was suprisingly very clean and they even supplied shampoo, soap & conditioner!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new rochelle
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of the lodge is excellent! Walk out your door and the Grand Canyon is right there! Astonishing views--morning, afternoon, evening and night. Also, the lodge is adjacent to the Bright Angel Restaurant and gift shop. There is even a small museum and cocktail lounge (which doubles as a quick breakfast stop in the morning, though you can get a full breakfast at the restaurant). If you plan on hiking Bright Angel trail, the trailhead is in walking distance, and if you are taking the bus, the bus stop is very nearby.
The lodge itself is rustic and charming--high, wood beamed ceilings, big fireplace, walk right through the lobby to view the rim. The only significant drawback is the walls are really thin, which means that you hear the people in adjoining rooms, even if they aren't noisy. This is a popular place for hikers, so be prepared to hearing people as early as 5 AM as they get ready for their hike.
Would I stay here again? Most definitely! A little noise is nothing compared to the convenience and views!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent the night in this lodge before taking the overnight mule trip to Phantom Ranch. Our room was clean and serviceable. My only complaint was that the pillows (only 2) were just slightly bigger (and thicker) than a washcloth! But it's all about location -- enjoy sunset over the Canyon, get some sleep, and enjoy the sunrise.

We had a full bathroom in our room; for us, it was worth paying for en suite. The shower was warm and the quality soap, shampoo and conditioner were a quality touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bright Angel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge

Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Angel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bright Angel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.