We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins
Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Salem, Ma.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fall stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the cabins, which were small and dated but well worth the value.There was construction going on around the cabin and one of the workers told us to be sure and ask for the discount do to the construction..... it was $50.00 a night and for 3 nights we saved $150.00 on our stay. the work begins around 8am and stops around 4pm, the front desk did not offer this information so be sure to ask. We had a number of meals at the lodge and though none were
out standing they were good and the prices were not bad. Overall I would give it a do to the location and price.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    569
    175
    56
    20
See reviews for
263
748
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location of these quaint cabins is amazing. Our door was a few steps from the rim. The rooms are a bit small but not a problem. It was nice to be able to take in the views and explore the canyon from here and not have to take a shuttle and be constantly on the go.

We had dinner one night a short walk away at El Tovar.

Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Hill, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in the Powell Lodge at Bright Angel. This was the cheapest lodging option to stay in the Grand Canyon Park. The room has a sink with soap & lotion supplied and a Mini-Fridge--so it had everything we needed--the bathroom and showers were shared and I thought that might be an issue, but it was not. I never had to wait on a shower or toilet and had plenty of hot water and for being shared it was suprisingly very clean and they even supplied shampoo, soap & conditioner!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new rochelle
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of the lodge is excellent! Walk out your door and the Grand Canyon is right there! Astonishing views--morning, afternoon, evening and night. Also, the lodge is adjacent to the Bright Angel Restaurant and gift shop. There is even a small museum and cocktail lounge (which doubles as a quick breakfast stop in the morning, though you can get a full breakfast at the restaurant). If you plan on hiking Bright Angel trail, the trailhead is in walking distance, and if you are taking the bus, the bus stop is very nearby.
The lodge itself is rustic and charming--high, wood beamed ceilings, big fireplace, walk right through the lobby to view the rim. The only significant drawback is the walls are really thin, which means that you hear the people in adjoining rooms, even if they aren't noisy. This is a popular place for hikers, so be prepared to hearing people as early as 5 AM as they get ready for their hike.
Would I stay here again? Most definitely! A little noise is nothing compared to the convenience and views!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles Area
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent the night in this lodge before taking the overnight mule trip to Phantom Ranch. Our room was clean and serviceable. My only complaint was that the pillows (only 2) were just slightly bigger (and thicker) than a washcloth! But it's all about location -- enjoy sunset over the Canyon, get some sleep, and enjoy the sunrise.

We had a full bathroom in our room; for us, it was worth paying for en suite. The shower was warm and the quality soap, shampoo and conditioner were a quality touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The cabins are just about 50 steps from the edge of the rim of the canyon. We paid $118 a night for a 1 bedroom cabin. While a wee bit small it was sufficient. The tiny shower was challenging to say the least. White tea and lemongrass soap, shampoo, and conditioner were a treat. Have the soup at the Bright Angel Restaurant, yummy. The park services are run by a third party Xentera, wish their employees could smile a bit, they were fine but appeared grumpy. Our cabin was clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Book early on Xentera website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night during a two week road trip and was the worst night sleep we had. You could hear people in a number of adjoining rooms, including every word spoken and carrying out acts we would rather have been unaware of. The toilets were shared and were awoken every time anyone walked down the corridor to the toilet. We might as well have been staying in a dorm room in a noisy hostel. Avoid this place if you value a decent nights sleep.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins

Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel
Bright Angel Lodge
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel
Bright Angel
Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bright Angel Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list