We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best $4 can of beer ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phantom Ranch

Phantom Ranch
North Kaibab Trail, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
888/297-2757, 928/638-2631, ext. 6015
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
707 reviews 707 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 330 cities Reviews in 330 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“Best $4 can of beer ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our way hiking from the south rim to the north rim. We took the South Kaibab to the river, the Arizona trail up the north rim and took the Bright Angel back up the south rim on a 4 day trip. Phantom Ranch had a great camping area, a nice stream for cooling your feet, a ranger presentation and quite possibly the tastiest beer I have ever had. I was just a can of Tecate but it tasted great after a long hike down the south rim.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    35
    18
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wever ia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Rustic but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Neat location in canyon but $44 steak dinner? It is hauled daily via mule train was the explanation. Cheaper to just eat the mule.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indian springs, al
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“What an oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We took the mule trip down to Phantom and spent the night in early Nov. What a wonderful experience we had, and the Phantom Ranch was a very welcome portion of our trip! Somewhere with trees, and shade, and running water, and BEER! The staff here are wonderful-pleasant, welcoming, helpful, and well organized. The cabin is basic, but does have a toilet and running water, and electricity, which is more than in many places. The food was great - served family style in a large open dining hall that really gives you the oportunity to meet your fellow travellers.The showers are clean and easily available. A great pit-stop that will help you recover from the weariness of hiking or mule-riding. The fact that you can get any of this at all, is a testament to the mules and the mule-teams that make it possible!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new rochelle
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Basic, but great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Let's face it, you're at the bottom of the Grand Canyon, and everything is brought in via mule train! The breakfast is standard: eggs, bacon, and pancakes--all you can eat. Dinner is served at two times: 5 PM--steak & baked potato and 6:30: beef stew or veggie chili--all you can eat at 6:30. All meals served homestyle, so you get to meet lots of new friends! The food is nothing fancy, but tastes great--and plenty of it! perfect after a hike down the Grand Canyon!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best little lodge there is - anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Friends and I have hiked into the canyon and stayed at Phantom Ranch every 2 years for over a decade. It remains blissfully the same. Reservations are a bit of a challenge to get, but anything worth doing, is worth a little effort. The food is always great, considering you don't have to haul it in on your back, cook it, or clean up afterwords. Beer is $4.50 and cold and plentiful. The cabins are functional and again, no hauling sleeping bags. And, the showers? There is no describing the bliss of a hot shower after a hike into the canyon. Also love the creek for soaking the sore tootsies. Never had a bad time here, not even when we hiked in July - which I do not recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phantom Ranch also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Been to Phantom Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phantom Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.