We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of Trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phantom Ranch

Phantom Ranch
North Kaibab Trail, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
888/297-2757, 928/638-2631, ext. 6015
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“End of Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Bunkhouse for tired hikers on their way in or out of the Grand Canyon. Great experience. Good meals.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Lemonade ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We hiked down the South Kaibab Trail to Bright Angel campground, spent two nights camping at the bottom of the Canyon before hiking out along the Bright Angel Trail. We did not use Phantom Ranch for eating as had food with us but we did stop by for a drink that we had been recommended to try. They sell the best lemonade you will ever have, maybe the location helps but Lemony as it is known is oh so refreshing.
Phantom Ranch itself blends in really well at the bottom of the Canyon, nestling in amongst the trees. A picturesque spot - next to the river, what could be better.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best stew ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Phantom Ranch is an oasis of food, new friends, bonding with nature and relaxing. It is hard to describe the feeling down there. When hiking, it is a surreal scene to happen onto-coming in all sweaty in 100 degree weather to the dining area where everyone is playing card, talking, reading, writing and having a cold beer or the great lemonade with the $1 refills. A long cool shower in the dorm, a short nap in the confines of other tired hikers, and back to the dining area for a cold beer. The breakfast and dinners were great. The steak was good but the stew was spectacular! Our table asked for another bucket and our helper gladly brought another. We had about 3 bowls each and even obtained the recipe which they had printed out.

The Phantom Ranch is not the best accommodations, but it is the best atmosphere for a select few. It is the experience that makes it a 5 star for me. Memories for a lifetime!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englehart, Ontario
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Exceeded all my expectations!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked our GRAND CANYON MULE RIDE and stay at PHANTOM RANCH 13 months in advance..so needless to say, we could not wait to get there. The mule ride and overnight stay at Phantom Ranch exceeded our expectations!!
Thank you to our Cowboy Guides, Gregg and Utah for getting us all safely to the bottom then back up to the rim of the Grand Canyon. It was AMAZING!!!
Thank you, too, to the wonderful staff at the Phantom Ranch for greeting us with ice cold lemonade, preparing and serving us a wonderful steak diner and hearty breakfast the next morning. All the food was wonderful. Everything tastes better at the bottom of the canyon!
Check in was easy and we were immediately shown to our lovely little cabins. They were adorable and completely what we had expected. They are cabins folks...not luxury suites so if you are expecting something different..stay up on the rim!
Once we got settled into our room we made our way back to the main building which functions as a reception, office, lounge, gift shop and dining room. After a long ride down the canyon on mule....we needed a beer :) The temperature on the canyon floor is much higher than on the rim and the day we were there it was over 100 so that beer tasted great! Considering how much work it must be to get that beer down to the ranch..it was priced perfectly!
When you take the overnight mule ride and stay at the Phantom Ranch, your steak diner and breakfast the next morning is included.
Meals are served 'family- style' in the main building.
Diner was at five ( listen for the diner bell) and I think our breakfast was around 6:30.

I am not usually one for the family- style meals as I am still very much in love with my husband and enjoy staring into his eyes when we eat :) But, I must say,it was a nice experience to sit with fellow mule riders and hikers and share our experiences of the day over a wonderful meal!
The servers were friendly and quick to serve when something was requested at the table.
The steak diner was great and the hearty breakfast the following morning was wonderful.

There are no showers in the cabins themselves.You are given a key to the main shower building which is separate. It is a short walk to heaven! Believe me, after a long hot dusty ride to the bottom..you need a shower! Flip flops would have been nice to have so if you have room in your bag ..bring them. Also, a bathing suit would have been nice as the Bright Angel Creek is close and is a nice place to cool off in.

Be sure to take a walk back to the bridges and the Colorado River before you leave.

Soak in every moment of it...YOU ARE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE GRAND CANYON!!!
What more could you ask for?
Book it..NOW!!!

A special thanks to our mules, Mahoney and Chalula. They were wonderful.!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food at the bottom of the canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had two Stew dinners and two breakfasts booked for our trip. All meals were absolutely fantastic. Stew dinner included stew, salad, corn bread, and chocolate cake. Tea, coffee, iced tea and water were included, beer and wine were available for purchase. The food was surprisingly flavourful.
The breakfast had bacon, eggs, pancakes, and canned peaches. Also included a glass of orange juice, tea and coffee.
All meals were served family style, so you got to know your fellow campers. There was plenty of food to go around though, and they brought more out when needed. Don't be shy to make new friends, it makes the experience more enjoyable.
The canteen also sells a variety of other things, including ice (a large bag costs $3 - perfect for the hike up), souvenirs, cold drinks, and limited hiking supplies. We were able to send our families in Canada postcards from the bottom for less than $2. Definitely worth it for the "Carried out by mule" stamp.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phantom Ranch also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Phantom Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phantom Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.