We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't order the fish!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Tovar Lounge

El Tovar Lounge
6312 South Fiddlers Green Circle, Suite 600N, El Tovar Hotel, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
928.638.2631
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't order the fish!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We ate in the Dining Room for dinner. Overall the Staff was very attentive and professional. The salad I had and my husband's soup were very tasty and well prepared. Unfortunately our main course was terrible!! I had trout which basically was inedible It was overcooked and served with a large scoop of cold buttter with herbs. In all fairness, I mentioned this to the server and he generously offered to replace the meal. He did replace it with a halibut special which was equally overcooked and very dry. The rice served with the meal was very tasteless. My husband had the halibut as well and it was also dry and quickly became cold. At this point, we gave up and skipped dessert.

Reading the other reviews, it sounds like the steak is a better option than the fish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    549
    378
    186
    74
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrible Lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just got back from doing the Grand Canyon Railway trip. We had been to the Canyon before and had eaten in the Arizona Room at Bright Angel ( which was fabulous and the views were much better) This time we wanted to try the dining room at El Tovar. I had been telling my husband about Indian Fry bread, ( he had never had any) anyway, they had an Navajo taco made with Fry bread and we both tried it. All I can say is DON'T! It was a total waste of money. The fry bread was fine but, the toppings were awful. All I can say is Taco Bell could do a better job! If you can't do a good job, the take it OFF the menue. It's awful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very nice and small bar. had drinks while waiting for our reservation. Knowledgeable bartender and wait staff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“YUMMY DRINKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

El Tovar Lounge has YUMMY drinks! I had the prickly pear margaritta and husband had the spiked lemonade drink. They also have Blue Moon on tap! YUM!! Order a cocktail and walk outside to view sunset! PERFECT!

WARNING: Do NOT eat at the restaurant! GROSS!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“excellent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The food was very good, homemade. We had breakfast. The service excellent, We have pancakes, eggs, sausage and toast. Good quality

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tovar Lounge also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to El Tovar Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tovar Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.