We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special treat during our Grand Canyon visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tovar Lounge

El Tovar Lounge
6312 South Fiddlers Green Circle, Suite 600N, El Tovar Hotel, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
928.638.2631
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Prince Rupert, BC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A special treat during our Grand Canyon visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We kind of just fell into this one. We got lost right off when we entered the park, and ended up getting recommendations from fellow in a gift store. He recommended El Tovar. We needed to go for an early lunch as my husband was going to be having a helicopter ride, so we arrived at the El Tovar at 11:15. This historic hotel was still decorated in its Christmas finery, and since we were there just as the lunch seatings were starting we were given a table beside the lit fireplace and overlooking the canyon view. The choices were surprisingly reasonable in price. I had a chicken salad lettuce wrap and a lovely glass of wine. My husband had the soup of the day, beef vegetable and a reuben sandwich. He said the soup was great - but then he also says he has never had a bad bowl of soup. He didn't finish his sandwich so that shows how generous the portions were. We would highly recommend this location for fine dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    444
    208
    78
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had a fabulous breakfast here on Christmas morning. The food was great and so were the views. The 'but' is the service. I was dining alone and felt ignored by the staff. I had to get up and go in search of someone to place my order with. When it came time to pay, same thing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place to get a bite to eat while enjoying the mighty Grand Canyon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

After enjoying the view of the Grand Canyon and taking many photos, the wife and I got pretty hungry. We walked into El Tovar and was really impressed. Since it was just the two of us we were able to get a table right away. A group of 5 people in front of us were told that they would have to wait an hour for a table. The dining area has a great atmosphere with a lot of history. The service is on a five star quality even though everybody was in hiking gear and hoodies. Take time to grab a bite to eat here. You will love it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast at El Tovar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is said to be the nicest restaurant in the Grand Canyon and it did not disappoint. Service was good the food was fantasitc and a very reasonable value for the Grand Canyon. We were seated next to the fireplace when it was 20 degrees F outside so we were pretty happy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Epic meal experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was here with my longtime girlfriend and parents. I wanted to treat the ladies to a 'fancy' meal. My mom, bless her, is very hard to please and she never had to say a word about any request. Our water glasses never got less than half full. Our appetizers were phenomenal, entrees were dynamite, and the cheesecakes we split was good. Not the cheapest dinner, but worth every penny. My family really enjoyed feeling completely pampered during the entire meal experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tovar Lounge also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to El Tovar Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tovar Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.