We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of gifts/souvenirs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria

Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria
W Highway 64, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
928-638-2360
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $5
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lots of gifts/souvenirs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lots of little gift items to purchase and friendly service to be had also if needed! There is a large assortment of souvenirs if you are shopping for family or friends and some things you may not have expected to find! Browse around while there, you may be surprised what you find!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    29
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Typical tourist spot food. Burgers and sandwiches from a warmer. Had lunch at the trading post cafeteria. Experience was ok nothing to write home about but you don't have many choices at desert view.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Try the Yummy Fresh Nacho Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hubby and I stopped at the Desert View Trading Post Cafe for a quickie lunch in early April. It's a very cute little place with some wooden benches and tables for seating. With a buffet style serving line, we thought at first there wouldn't be much to rave about. But, the folks behind the counter were very friendly and funny and we decided to try out their nacho salads. We placed our order and then waited till our salads were prepared and brought to us. They turned out to be delicious, from the homemade chili to the spring mix lettuce with fresh tomatoes, grated cheese and excellent salsa and chips. Besides the good food, the place was clean and the people-watching was fun! We'll go back again someday.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“fair prices and fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are hungry, this is a good, quick stop. All the food was fresh and tastey. They had a lot to choose from. I was surprised by the selection. The food did take a little while to prepare but it was a busy day. If you are in a hurry just grab one of the ready made items. There is plenty to choose from.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect place to grab a snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Traveling with a hungry teenage boy can be challenging... and this place was a happy find while leaving the South Rim. A nice selection of grab-n-go food at a reasonable price. There is a moderate amount of seating inside and my family of three even managed to get a table. Simple pleasures.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.