We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor comes through again - Fantastic spot to view the Grand Canyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoshone Point

Shoshone Point
Grand Canyon National Park, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor comes through again - Fantastic spot to view the Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

After digging around on tripadvisor i found this place that was recommended as a advantage point to get some of the best views of the canyon away from the crowds and boy were they right. You have to take about a 20 minute walk but you will be blown away when you get near the end.
There is no sign, just a gravel parking lot on your left as you leave Grand Canyon village just past a picnic area on your right.
Some people we saw after we visited this place said they surrounded by a massive heard of Elk on the walk (how fantastic). If you go on the internet and check images of this place you will notice this is a favourite spot for local wedding parties to get their pics taken. Enjoy

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Most fantastic view of all time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

About a mile walk down a dirt road, far away from the millions of tourists is the best view of all time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We attended a wedding ceremony at Shoshone Point. It was a perfect location for a private ceremony with incredible views. Gated access down about a 1-mile dirt road means that not many people come to this area.

The gathering point includes a pavilion, picnic tables, and modern outhouses, but best of all is the open area where chairs can be set up right at the rim for the ceremony. With a 4 pm wedding most of the guests were comfortable in shade, but the wedding party was mostly in sun, though cool temperatures and a nice breeze kept them all comfortable.

After the ceremony, light hor dourves were served in the pavilion and then the group walked out to a breathtaking panoramic spot for photos of the wedding party.

I know the bride was frustrated at times trying to work with the National Park Service to secure a date and obtain the special use permit for the wedding, but in the end that didn't matter to the couple as they had a most magical, scenic, memorable location for their ceremony.

My main tip for anyone thinking of holding your ceremony at this spot is to make sure all the women (wedding party and guests) know to not wear heels. You are walking on a combination of deep wood chips, dirt, and rocks. Especially walking out to the point afterward for photos, heels are a huge hindrance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great way to avoid crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited the Grand Canyon last weekend and my sister-in-law picked this "hike" for the family. It was amazing. It was more like a nice stroll, it is a 1 mile hike on an unpaved road and it takes you to a great overlook. No one else was there and it has a view to rival anything else we saw in the much more populated areas. I highly suggest taking this hike as well as driving along the Desert View Drive and stopping at those viewpoints as well. I believe that if you stayed in the village and missed out on these views, you missed out.

Follow the directions to find the parking lot (east out of the village on Desert View Drive, The parking lot is located on the north side of the road, between mile markers 244 and 245.

At shoshone point, there are picnic tables, restrooms, and don't miss the little walk that takes you all the way out to the point.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delightfully private, exquisite views and light, perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

You can drive to the trailhead and hike the 1 mile out to the point....or, you can rent it from the NPS for an event and your guests can drive out!
Most GC weddings take place out there, we had a family reunion. Xanterra did an outstanding job catering the event (we chose the Western BBQ menu with big steak, salmon and vegan), and the food was terrific and service was great. My only complaint is that we didn't care much for the Grand Canyon brand of wine, and you are not allowed to upgrade or bring your own to an event. Stick to beer! Non-alcohol punch was good, too!
The point is a little treacherous, so any acrophobics will need to stay at the pavilion area. I noticed that the flat boulders were all bolted, so I felt extra secure watching the five condors soar below me as the sun set in the west and the full moon rose in the east. Sweet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoshone Point also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Shoshone Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoshone Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.