We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views - 6 day motorized” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona River Runners Day Trips

Arizona River Runners Day Trips
1 Village Loop Road, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
800-477-7238
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water sports, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided raft trips through Grand Canyon, one of the seven natural wonders of the world, is the ultimate bucket-list adventure. Since 1970, Arizona River Runners has provided all inclusive Colorado River trips. Arizona River Runners is one of the most innovative, progressive and well-respected outfitters specializing in Grand Canyon tours. We operate with customized state-of-the-art rafts and provide all the camping and rafting gear you will need for your river experience. Take a fun and exhilarating family rafting trip or come solo and leave with life-long friends. Our past guests say it best; many are moved to tears and most are unprepared for the powerful impact that the experience of a Grand Canyon rafting adventure has on their lives. Many wonder why they waited so long to experience Arizona's Grand Canyon from the Colorado River looking up.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Views - 6 day motorized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just got back from a 6 day motorized trip - its a fantastic way to see 187 miles of the canyon. We lucked out on the weather, but you really want to check the weather right before you go and adjust your clothes accordingly. They do an amazing job with the food - its excellent and plentiful. They've improved some things since we did the trip 8 years ago. You now get cots which make it great for sleeping under the stars. This is a wonderful trip. The guides make sure you're always safe and know an amazing amount of details about the canyon. FABULOUS TRIP!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome 7 day, 6 nights of rafting the Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The park service only allows 25,000 visitors per year to raft the Colorado through the Grand Canyon. I feel very privileged to be one of those visitors. AND if you are lucky enough to be one also, make sure you pick the right company. Arizona River Runners was everything we could have asked for and more. They were informative, very conscious of your safety, great cooks in unique camp spots. Slept under the stars all 6 nights, amazing experience. Never had so much fun playing in the muddy river, hiking and not showering for a week. You must help set up camp each day and tear down each morning. This is physical work, so be prepared. If this type of trip is on your list of things to do it is an experience not to be missed! So glad we did it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip, pack appropriately”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just finished a 6 day motorized trip last Saturday. Monsoon season so lots of rain. Cold much more a problem than water. I wish I had packed my fishing waders instead of rain pants. Bring really good rain or sailing suit of the white water is running.

Trip was awesome. Great logistics, 2 of our camp sites had natural overhangs to shield us from the rain. They provide tents, cots, sleeping bags, sheets and a pillow along with a dry bag for your stuff. You do have to pitch and take down your own tent and cot.

Basically up at 5:30a each day, on the water by 8:30, in camp around 5 or 6p. Stops to hike and for lunch.

One day of heavy rains turned the canyon into near continuous waterfalls which our guide said he saw only 6 times in the last 8 years.

The food is a bit simplistic with steaks on the final night to butter us up before we leave. Meat and cheese sandwiches for lunch. Wished for hot soup when cold and wet...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing 3 day rafting trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

An amazing and different way to see the Grand Canyon, where you get a bit of everything! A light aircraft flight out to a ranch, with amazing views; ranch experience with a horseback ride, attempt at skeet shooting, amazing food and a night sleeping in a covered wagon; wonderful helicopter flight down in to the Canyon to get on the rafts and a night sleeping under the stars, with shooting stars to make the night complete! All fantastically organised and you're kept fully informed throughout so there's nothing to be thinking about. The guidelines on what to bring are very good, remember to pack light but have a definite change of clothes! The guides are friendly and fun and happy to tell you lots about the Canyon - a great company to travel with. The scenery is amazing and the whitewater rapids are just enough to be fun and exciting without feeling too scary! 3 days was just right for us, all the experiences of the Canyon, outdoor camping and rafting without taking up too much of your holiday - ideal way to start our trip to the USA - just don't worry about getting wet and dirty!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Arizona River Runners 8 day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We just completed the 8 day trip with Arizona River Runners from Lees Ferry to Pierce Ferry. It was the most amazing, exciting, stretching, life changing trip ever. I would recommend it to everyone...well, everyone who likes rapids and hiking up the sides of canyons! Sleeping under the stars was amazing. The sites and sounds cannot be described. The guides were top notch! Couldn't ask for better people to take care of us. They were friendly, informative, funny, entertaining and excellent cooks!! They made the trip a memorable one for sure. I cannot say anything bad about this adventure. We saw it all - torrential rain, flash floods, stifling heat, freezing rapdis, bighorn sheep, waterfalls etc. I even had the experience of being bitten by a red ant. Not fun, but part of the adventure. Trip of a lifetime - no regrets!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona River Runners Day Trips also viewed

 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Arizona River Runners Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona River Runners Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.