We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052   |  
Hotel amenities
N.A.
1 review
“Just Okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Not too bad and not too good. It seems like they do some work on the rooms.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    514
    251
    91
    48
See reviews for
429
629
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed in two Frontier cabins. We could have used just one, but I thought they might watch how many people were in there. (it says max 3, but we could have slept 4 in with our 2 young kids; one double and one single) ---- We also could have slept a few on the floor since we had camped the night before and had sleeping bags ------

We reserved only 5 days in advance ----- keep watching their site because they'll put the cancellations online and they go QUICK. The cabins are clean, and I can NOT understand anyone who bad-mouths a place to lay your head in the Grand Canyon!!
The worst location in the place is still a fabulous location. Easy, convenient parking.

You wake up and go hiking just a few steps away . NOT CROWDED, words can't describe the beauty and tranquility. Also, the food is good. Splurge on a lovely meal in the dining room. The pink margaritas are delicious (the top drink on the menu) --- The train dining option looked gimmicky to me ($30person; a small open-air kiddie-train, like at a zoo, and it takes you to a tent to eat chicken and bbq. But it does include a show) ----

Go to the saloon for fresh coffee in the morning.

On our way OUT, we ate at Jacobs Lake. Restaurant + small lodging option. It is 44 miles from the north rim lodge, on your way out anyway. Stop to gas up and eat (next door to gas station) -----We will go back there, too. Good t-shirts, very nice lunch, yummy milkshakes (share! they are big) browse the gift-shop while you wait---- if the north rim lodge is booked next time, then we'll stay at Jacobs Lake and drive in to hike.

I hope this helps!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

This is the only game in town ay the North Rom, so you're stuck with it if you want to stay at the North Rim. That being said, the location is spectacular, the food in the restaurant 1st class, and the rooms perfectly adequate. The problem? Unacceptably bad customer service. We arrived at the Lodgeat about 3:00, to be told that 1) our room was't ready yet, and 2) we needed to make a resevation for dinner, and the first available was 9:00 p.m. We were basically okay with waiting half-an-hour for our room, so we made our dinner reservation, then went to the deli for a snack and to kill some time. We went back to the front desk and were told, nope, no rooms available yet. Come back in half an hour. Went back in half an hour. This time we were told that some rooms had become available, but they were given to others who had happened to be at the front desk at the time. At this point, I become a little impatient, and asked what's up with THAT? The excuse was that they hadn't been open very long, and the housekeeping staff wasn't very fast at cleaning the rooms. The manager said that by July, they'd be really good at it. So how come the folks that come in May have to pay full price, if the staff is just practicing on them?? Anyway, it took 2 1/2 hours to get us into a room. The front desk staff and the manager didn't show any sign that they were concerned with their customers. In fact, the manager complained to me that he should have been off-duty already. Also, they do have golf carts to help you schlep your luggage. The parking lot is quite a ways from both the rooms and the main lodge. The bad news is that they only have 2 golf carts. Rather than wait, we schlepped.

Stay here for the views; they really are spectacular. The food is pretty good (have the bison), and the rooms are clean and relatively comfortable. Just don't expect much in the way of service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My boyfriend and I just returned from a trip to the North Rim. We stayed in the lodge, at one of the frontier cabins. I agree that the cabins are rustic. But you don't exactly come to the Grand Canyon to sit in your room, now do you? Overall, we found the cabins to be cozy, clean, and comfortable- perfect for our needs.

The views from the sunroom of the main lodge area are stunning- the room has giant picture windows overlooking the canyon. This is the perfect spot to sit and relax with a drink after a long hike. We also had the chance to eat a meal at the lodge's dining room. We were lucky enough to get a table overlooking the canyon directly (these cannot be booked in advance). The views- and food- were incredible. This was truly a dining experience that I will always remember. On another note, the lodge is located close to most of the main hiking trails. There is ample parking available.

I would highly recommend this lodge to any North Rim visitors. It is historic and rustic- everything that I would look for during a stay at the North Rim. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Stayed in a "Western Cabin" - surprised by and swooned for in-room fireplace. Cabin was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Staff is fantastic. (I left something in the room. Called and Daisy helped get me my item back.) Eager to return.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We just returned from our trip out west and one of the highlights was our stay at the North Rim. If there were one word to describe our experience, it would be INTIMATE. The location at the edge of the canyon brings you intimate with nature. The people who stay here seem to be friendly and genuinely happy to be here. The staff is caring and informative. So what if the pioneer cabin we stayed in is small and sparse. SUCK IT UP. The cabin was clean and adequate. Frankly, it was better than expected. Some of the reviews are correct in stating that you can hear what's going on in the other cabin. However, this wasn't my last night on earth. Besides, the nearest accommodations were a mere 45 miles away.


The lodge was casual and relaxing. They have a huge fireplace outside on the patio. In the evening, it is fired up and becomes a great place to kick back and reflect. The restaurant was fine and the food and service were comparable to the restaurant at El Tovar, which is overrated in my opinion. We had no trouble checking in or out and everything was as we expected. Even the drive up from the South Rim was spectacular. You pass the Little Colorado River Gorge, the Painted Desert and the Vermillion Cliffs to get here. People here are more relaxed. If you have to choose either the South Rim or the North Rim, take the North Rim for a true experience. By the way, if you try and get a room on line and it shows there is no vacancy, keep trying. I reserved my room three weeks in advance by logging on twice a day until something came up. It is worth it. Just keep at it. By the way, it does get a bit nippy so be prepared.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Let me begin by saying the the North Rim of the Grand Canyon is a place every American should visit. There's nothing else like it on earth. The North Rim is cooler, quieter, and so much less crowded than the South Rim, and the hiking is wonderful.

Because of this, it should be fairly easy for you to spend the vast majority of your waking hours outside. Be very grateful for this, as the ONLY thing good about the Frontier Cabins is the location on the rim of the Canyon. This was the smallest hotel room we've ever been in. The cabin was dank, musty, and cramped. The bathroom was tiny and appeared to only have had a quick wipe-down rather than a good cleaning. We ran out of hot water after one short shower. The bed was hard as a rock and the pillows were HORRIBLE. We could hear EVERY SINGLE WORD exchanged by the people next door, and they could hear ours. I know this because I heard the lady say, "I can hear the people next door!" Needless to say, it was not a very restful night's sleep.

The nightly rates are way overpriced, especially considering there is no competition. The front desk staff seem as though they don't know what's going on - this could be due to the recent management change. When I tried to check in at 5:00 PM, at first they couldn't find us in their system. Thank goodness I had my confirmation print-out. Then they weren't sure if my cabin was even ready.

All that being said, it was worth it. The views and the trails and the scenery on the North Rim is unmatched and cannot be experienced through pictures or video. You have to see this place. At least you'll have a good hotel horror story.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.