We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this place.

I didn’t know it when I booked a Western Cabin that it would be literally on the rim of the Grand Canyon. I’m telling you; the cabin was 20 feet from the rim! The view was mesmerizing. It is quite possibly the best experience I have ever had at a lodge.

Check in was simple and fast. I found the cabin to be very clean and comfortable. Yes, there is no TV, but why would you sit in front of a TV when the wonder of the Grand Canyon is all around you?

I will never forget my experience here. Walking out to the rim of the canyon at midnight when the wind was howling though the canyon and the moon shining bright overhead.

The silence and the wonder of having that moment to myself as there was no one else around may possibly be the most serene and special moment of my life.

Incredible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    514
    251
    91
    48
See reviews for
429
629
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Grand Canyon is an amazing place and having visited both the north and south rim, which both have their strengths, I have to say I favor the north rim. Its less busy, easier to navigate and you are much closer to formations that are very distant when viewed from the south rim.

The downside of the north rim is there are few lodging options. There is the property I am reviewing, and lodging outside the park some distance away. The property therefore wins a lot of points for its location, which offers great views from the hotel itself as well as allowing easy access to other north rim viewpoints. The hotel room, which I stayed in was an okay room and met my main criteria of being clean. I would have stayed in a cabin, but was afraid there might be mice (read enough reviews and you will see reports of them), which would have ruined the entire trip for my wife who abhors them.

We only stayed a couple of nights but had a wonderful time there, partly because the first night was the most beautiful sunset on our trip, and secondly because its a wonderful place. We ate in the dining room several times and the wait staff was good as was the food. One of the receptionists wasn't as friendly but I will give her a pass as I think she had been there a long time and it was very busy.

One of the scary things that happened while we were staying there was that the TPM sensor on our rental reported low inflation. I had no tire gauge and access to a place with tire replacements was distant. I asked someone at the main desk about options and she called a garage mechanic on property who took time to drive over and test the tire pressure on my rental's tires, which were fine, and he even gave me his tire pressure gauge. He refused any money from me and wanted me only to realize that they believe in service there. Pat was his name and he was a Patriots fan, so he was rewarded for his good deeds this last January.

Its worth noting that getting a reservation here can be difficult, so try to plan ahead. If you have specific times you are interested in check the website frequently as things change there and rooms open up, although not for long.

So I recommend this place for its location and great service. And thanks Pat - I really appreciated your help.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mind blowing experience. A must to see grand canyon. Try dusk or dawn view from rim. The room was excellent. Comfortable beds. With all essentials.several places to eat. Not much choice if you are a vegetarian.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the motel portion of the grand canyon north rim lodge property. The rooms did not have air conditioning and they were about 10 feet by 10 feet in size. (Very small)

From the shower we could hear other visitors in adjoining rooms talking, sneezing, etc. It was creepy how close they sounded. The bed was comfortable enough and the ceiling fan helped keep the air flow going in the room. I would NOT want to stay here in the heat of the summer.

The outdoor atmosphere was very nice! We were very close to the rim of the grand canyon. We couldn't see the grand canyon from our room, but we walked there in about 5 minutes. The trees were mature and beautiful. The parking was a short walk away... up stairs and a gradual hill. It was nice.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not much puts a smile on my too cool for school 10 year old -but this did! Cabins are authentic rustic yet clean and cozy. Lodge is spectacular. Dinner is amazing! Summer Solstice Star Gazing was Out-of-this-World!!! Stay of a lifetime!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

First time visiting the north rim well worth the extra drive. Alot cooler and greener. The cabins were nice. We stayed in 2 room cabin just for the two of us and there was alot of room for alot more people. The views are absolutely breathtaking. would love to go and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We stayed here for several nights. We had a small cabin..........which even though we were not far from the lodge and the main road into the lodge, the way the cabins were staggered you could see a small view of the canyon from the window which was pretty special.

The lodge itself is great which amazing views of the canyon and places to sit inside or outside to enjoy the views.

The cabins are very small but are comfortable. We had an enjoyable time.

If visiting the North Rim, this is by far the place to go. No question.

The only down side of the stay was that we had a sewage smell which kept coming into our cabin. We did report this as we departed.

However, I would not let that stop you from going there - I am guessing that it was fixed soon afterwards.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.