We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magnificent again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a special place. We were here 7 years ago and this visit did not dissapoint. We had a cabin on the edge overlooking the canyon. Drawing the curtains in the morning, having a cup of tea in bed and looking at the view before you is truly inspirational/memorable. You leave your car in the car park and walk with you luggage to your cabin - buggies are available should you require them. The north rim is so different to the south (and a 1000 feet higher) and takes longer to get to it but in my opinion very much worth it. Do visit Imperial Point which is approximately 20 minutes from the Lodge. It is slighly higher in elevation than the lodge and is a must. The photos you take and show your friends when you return home will not be able to do it justice. So just admire the view and tell your friends that they will have to make the jouney themselves to really appreciate the grandeur and enormity of the canyon. There are many lovely walks around the edge of the canyon but remember you are over 8500 feet above sea level so heart rate will increase quicker. The restaurant has spectacular views across the canyon and we found the staff very attentive, food and service good. When we had dinner the night was upon us but to have breakfast with that backdrop is just magical. If you have time do take in some of the talks by the ranges - very interesting. Also on Fridays and Sunday evenings a telescope is set up on the terrace to view the stars/planets. If you are interested in the night sky this is for you as the sky is so clear you are able to see so much more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    511
    248
    91
    48
See reviews for
428
621
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a wonderful place to visit. Attentive staff, beautiful scenery and wonderful memories. We stayed three nights which was an extra night that we planned to stay due to the Government shutdown. The staff were so helpful and obliging and we loved it. Views are spectacular and there is so much to see. My children loved the Kaibab squirrels and chipmunks and spent most of their time spotting them. Wonderful, relaxing place.

Room Tip: Initially we wanted to stay in the cabins but after staying in both we like the motel rooms better a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The cabin layout was the same as at the sister lodges at Zion Canyon and Bryce Canyon except the fireplace was in a different place! Pleased to have a bath (at all the lodges) and there was a heater in the bathroom which was very welcome as it was pretty cold during our stay. We had a partial canyon view as we were in the second row of cabins back from the rim. It is just a matter of chance if you get a view or not which seems an odd way of booking. Good facilities at the lodge but the restaurant is rather chaotic. We had booked dinner for 7 o clock each night weeks before but it was just a nominal reservation as the first night we had to wait half an hour for our table and the next ten minutes, which wasn't so bad. Food was very good when we got it though. They seem to have a very complicated system of seating people and even at breakfast when there were plenty of tables available we still had to queue to get in. Very special location and we thought it a delightful place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Canyon North Rim and were very appreciative of the opportunity to stay inside the park. We were in one of the Western Cabins, which although not right on the rim, we were told are some of the larger nicer ones. Staff was lovely and very helpful in helping us with the choice of Western Cabins. The gas fireplace was a nice surprise as it was quite cold and windy outside. Still, for the price I was expecting something a bit nicer. The carpet was very old and stained. Not sure if I would stay there again. However, that said the cabins are the only in-park option and we loved our visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fabulous views from front porch of western cabin rim view #301!!! Everyone who came by our cabin commented how we had the best views in the house. Easy access to the main lodge and restaurants. In the afternoon the trees on the right side provide shade on the porch so you are able to sit outside and enjoy the views. Nice bonus is watching the sunset as you sit on your front porch in your rocking chairs enjoying a glass of your favorite beverage and able to hear the ranger programs on the terrace. It is located next to the main lodge outdoor east terrace and entrance to a couple of walking trails so there is a lot of foot traffic. For the most part no one really notices you on the porch because the trail is down slope and they past below your cabin. They are concentrating on were to walk. Only when they pass the entrance steps to the porch do they realize someone is there. At night it was quiet and had no problems with noise.
If you want a more private room with less foot traffic and a nice view get room #306. The full afternoon sun does hit the porch area of this room with no shade during this time of the year.
You are unable to drive up to any rooms in the lodgings. However they do provide porter service, which you may have to wait a while for help. Porter will drive you in a golf cart to and from your car and right up to your room.
Our cabin had two queen beds with fireplace. Across the bathroom was a small changing room with a counter and wall mirror. Place to hang your clothes, iron w/board and a small refrigerator. Also included was a hair dryer and toiletries such as soap, shampoo, conditioner.

I regularly use tripadvisor’s reviews to find good tips. So I decided I should reciprocate and hope this helps someone.

Six rim view canyons ranked according to best views. Rooms 301,305,306,309 are perched right on the rim.
1. 301 best view, shaded in afternoon, but lots of foot traffic.
2. 306 nice view, private, but full sun in afternoon and get hot sitting outside.
3. 309 porch not facing view, but a line of trees in front. Need to look to the side of your porch to enjoy your canyon views. I have been told that the interior of this room is the nicest and different from all the other western cabins. Don’t know details on how it is nicer. May have view from window inside cabin.
4. 305 porch facing neighboring cabin and not rim. Need to look to the side of your porch for rim view. May have view from window inside cabin.
5. 310 Further back from rim. Did not look at it.
6. Do not know which one is the last rim view cabin.

The first night we stayed in room #332, western cabin with no rim view. It was nice and private facing the tree line along the Bright Angel trail. Just a short walk up to the trail you can see great views of the canyon. I could however see parts of the canyon in between the trees from our room. From the map the other cabins that appear to be more appealing would be room #320 (if not considered rim view), 332, 339 340, & 360. They have private porches on the end and not looking across to another cabin.

Room Tip: Western cabins rim views #301 or #306 have the best views from the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enon, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We decided to stay 1 night all they had was a motel room. We got a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the woods which was good. But the bed was terrible after a long day of hiking. When we got there it was around 2:00 pm our room was not ready so we decided to eat there in the main dining room. They were still serving lunch and we were starving after the long drive in from Bryce Canyon. They had a buffet with sandwich fixings and 2 kinds of soup and salad and fruit so we decided to try it. I was good but not worth the price around $15.00 a plate, The views are great but you need to have the best beds to back it up. People expect great beds with the best bathrooms and food with the views. I bet our bed was around 15ys old what a shame I would have to say we will not be back its on the been there done that list..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have never been in this era after having visited many different parks, North Rim Grand Canyon is well worth the drive, over looking the magnificent view from the Lodge and surrounding walks(Hikes) some a bit scary, but well remembered . Cabin was fine, should be better luminated at night, even though it was close to the lodge and we arrived during the the, we still had a hard time finding our cabin.

Room Tip: Western cabin have the best view. We did not have a chance to reserve any of those cabins in time to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.