We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Insult to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“An Insult to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The only good thing about this place is the MAGNIFICENT view from the North Rim of the Canyon. The only reason to be there is for the beauty of the surrounding area.

The staff is surly, the entire resort is FILTHY, the food in the restaurant is inedible. The cabins are dark, musty, dirty windows and drapes, poor lighting. Thankfully the bed linens and bathroom were clean.

It proves that without competition in the area, if you want to see the North Rim you must stay there. Better off to camp out and bring your own food. BUT go see the North Rim.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    514
    251
    91
    48
See reviews for
429
629
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Papaaloa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

For me, it's all about the location--steps away from the majestic North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We were up and out hiking and exploring for most of the day and were only in the room to take a brief rest or to sleep at night. The motel style room is small, clean, and kinda warm at night even--thankfully they have a ceiling fan which helped somewhat. While we were there the daytime highs were in the mid 90's which is super warm for there and by comparison it was 112 in Zion a couple days before. If you arrive knowing what to expect you'll be ok. It has a fridge and coffee maker. Small bathroom with shower and separate sink/vanity area. Bed was a double and not that comfortable. We were there 2 nights and the 2nd night for sleeping was torturous. (In some ways I preferred the campground where we spent 1 night as my air mattress was more comfortable than the lodge bed.) No tv, ac, or wifi. Only wifi is at the campground store which has a roomy veranda with comfortable tables and chairs to chill and do internet. It is about 3 minutes away if driving or 1.5 mile walk. But as I say it is about the location and the main lodge building with the two canyon top decks with the incredible vistas along with all the trails etc. make it memorable. Having day hiked to the north rim from Cottonwood Campground back in spring of 2000, it was fun to see it all from this perspective. Next time we'll do the hike down to Roaring Springs and spend the hot part of the day at the springs. If I were rating just the room it would be a 2.5 but because of the location and access I give it a 4. YMMV

Room Tip: If you are staying in the motel style rooms ask for a room on the non-road side of the buildings. Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The lodge and cabins were nice but the food was horrible and obscenely expensive and lousy. If you stay at the lodge be sure to eat in kenab. It's an hour away but well worth it. Also skip the great cookout experience, at $30 a person , the food was awful and the show was lame. Also they held the dessert hostage for those who put tips in the hat the staff held out. Horrible. We will be sure to stay in the campground or kenab next time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I must say, we were a bit apprehensive about our stay at the Grand Canyon, after reading several negative comments. But, we were more than pleasantly surprised. Yes, the cabin is small & rustic, without a TV or A/C, but we were expecting that. The beds certainly weren't the most comfortable, but we also weren't expecting luxury. We were there for the scenery, the sunset, the sunrise, and a little bit of hiking on the trails. Oh, and the stars! Everything we came for was as good, or better, than we expected.

The main lodge restaurant is a bit pricey, but probably what you would expect as a captive audience. We did the nature trail with the ranger in the morning, and enjoyed that. Our five year old granddaughter also earned her Junior Ranger badge, so she was happy about that. It is a good program for the kids. It peaks their interest in looking for things, so I would definitely recommend it.

On the way out, we came across a herd of buffalo on the side of the road, and thought that was pretty neat. Having gone to both the South Rim and the North Rim, we would probably only go back now to the North Rim. It's hard to beat the trails right along the rim, and with very few people. It was great!

PS - If you have Verizon cell phone service, you can even pick up a signal out by the rim!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed one night in a motel room at the North Rim Lodge - the location is excellent, the room a little underwhelming. As long as you plan an active vacation and are only planning on using the motel room to sleep and shower, it's just fine! It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. However, the room is small and has no tv or wifi, so bring a book in case of bad weather or to relax before bed. As stated however, location is perfect; the rim is a minute's walk away, along with the store and restaurants within the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights, the second in a choice, rim-view cabin. Even the desk clerk was excited that we had scored such a great room. The cabins are rustic and cute, just to my taste. Be aware that meals will be very expensive, so plan accordingly. The main dining hall, for which you'll need reservations, is especially pricey, but with a good menu and great service. I must say that service was impeccable here. Everyone was friendly and helpful--happy to work here. One quibble: 3 daddy long legs crept across my daughters' bed--part of being in the wilderness.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The cabins isn't all that, but very cozy. And the area is one of the best in the world. Had been to the canyons south rim twice before, taking daytrips from vegas. This was a much better expirence. North rim is better in every way. Location one the rim itself. We where very lucky, 77 degrees, clear skys and it was all vey beautyful. Sunsets, sunrise and just a joy to sit down and relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.