We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to see all of the South Rim” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trailer Village RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trailer Village RV Park
Save
You added Trailer Village RV Park to your Saves list
100 Market Plaza Road, Grand Canyon Village, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
South Rim Full Hook-Ups!
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best way to see all of the South Rim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Grand Canyon Village for a week in May. We first came to the grand canyon in 1995 when we rode the train from Williams. We didn’t get to see much of the canyon but, this trip we saw all of the south rim thanks to camping at the Travel Village. We made our reservations on line which I am not a fan of but, this time it came off without a hitch. The greeter at the gate was friendly and helpful. We were able to find our spot with no problem. The space was perfect for my 40 ft. rig. The hookups were in working order and in the right location. There was a table but, unfortunately there are no campfires in the full hook up area. Strangely there are campfires in the tent area and on the last day there was a forest fire from those camps.. go figure, they have no water on site to put the campfires out unlike the full hook ups. There is plenty of room between camping spots. The location is close to a market and post office. Eating out for dinner is not easy. The only ones are at the Village a distance away and not that good of food. You can however drive into town where there are plenty of restaurants. There is no wifi but, our Verizon hot spot worked for us. There are spots for RV’s where trees do not interfere with your satellite. The location of the camp ground is close to the south rim of the canyon. You can walk, drive or take the free shuttles from the campground. You can walk all of the south rim or take a shuttle to each point of view. You can also walk down to the canyon floor or ride a mule. This is a nice park. The only con is that some people don’t know park etiquette and walk through your camp instead of following the roads. I take into consideration that this park gets people from all over the world and a lot of them rent rv’s. We will be back again with family and friends.

Room Tip: Book on line to pick the perfect spot in the campground. I hate using on line reservations for RV;s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great location and is well served by shuttle buses and about a 7 minute walk from the general store (which is brilliant). Would recommend for people in RVs. Not as beautiful as Watchman at Zion but you do have full hook ups.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in March and there was still some snow on the ground, but perfect weather for walking (light jacket) because it was in the 60s during the day. The RV park is in easy walking proximity to the rim of the canyon and the hotels/restaurants located in that area. You can also walk to the market. The person who checked us in was a little crabby, but we didn't deal with them again. Great way to visit the Grand Canyon. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Let me start by saying that the location of Trailer Village is brilliant. It's right in the Grand Canyon National Park, and a stroll to the free bus transit system which will take you in and around the Grand Canyon. In our opinion it's worth it for that. And to be honest, who is going to visit the Grand Canyon and hang around in their RV? You go to explore the National Park, and that's what we did.
The facilities are virtually non-existent. There is a restroom block located at Trailer Village, but no showers or laundry facilities. There is full hook-up.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Grand Canyon and would still recommend to stay here in an RV, however we were surprised that at an advertised full hook up RV park facility there were no showers or laundry.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Lake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Great site to camp right in the park , the shuttle bus comes right to the check in to take you thru out the park at no charge. The bathrooms were clean and heated, the downside was the showers were 1/4 mile away
Great place for the price

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This was our second visit to the Grand Canyon, but our first stop on our first RV trip. Trailer Village is the only spot inside of the Grand Canyon with full hookups. The full hookups (water and electric, if you're a first-timer like me) were important to us on our first trip, particularly because it gets cold at night in April and we wanted to keep the heat on overnight. The park itself is clean, each spot is a pull-through and they are well-spaced so that you have plenty of room between you and your neighbor. There are some trees, but not a ton - if you're going for a rustic, woodsy feel, this isn't it. But, if you're looking for a full hookup place to stay that's inside the Grand Canyon park, this is it.

We were rentng a 26 foot motorhome and it fit perfectly. The hookups were simple. We didn't use the shower facilities, so I can't speak to the cleanliness of those, but the bathrooms were clean. I think the website says something about cable, we didn't find it, but it was no big deal, we weren't there to watch TV anyway!

There is a shuttle that runs right at the front of the park and you can also walk to the rim. We ended up walking the rim to the main center and then taking the shuttle back (we have two little girls under 6 years old, they weren't going to make the walk back). :) There is something incredibly convenient about being right there when you wake up in the morning.

The market is a 15-20 minute walk away (depending on how far back in the park you are, and how fast of a walker you are). :) The market is fully stocked like any grocery store, although, not surprisingly, the prices are higher.

It's a great spot and if we come back, we're definitely staying here.

Word to the wise, book early, spots fill up fast.

As a side note, we had both Verizon and AT&T service and both were ok in the park. Definitely spotty, but you do get reception.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I loved waking up to walk 15 minutes to the rim and watch the sunrise with my son- and I couldn't have done that staying in a hotel in Tusayan. If you can camp here, it's worth it. Sites are fine for all sizes of RV's and trailers. Dogs are allowed and you can ride bikes or walk to almost anything in the area. The big park gift/grocery store is right nearby for anything you need.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Trailer Village RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailer Village RV Park

Address: 100 Market Plaza Road, Grand Canyon Village, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the trip your RV was made to go on. Trailer Village RV Park is the only-in park RV park with full hookups and it's incredibly close to the Grand Canyon's South Rim. Set within a beautiful desert landscape, the Trailer Village RV park is a paved pull-through site perfect for vehicles up to 50 feet long. Best of all, it's open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trailer Village Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Trailer Village Grand Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailer Village RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.