We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trailer Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trailer Village
Save Saved
You added Trailer Village to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Village, 1/2 mile from South Rim, adjacent to Mather Campground, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Bath
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had an easy check-in process when we arrived after getting helpful directions from at the NPS gate. Our pitch was reasonably level as they go. The main reason to stay here is the location and the fact it has full hookups in the middle of the Grand Canyon National Park. Once your up in the morning you can get straight on a bus to the south rim, extremely convenient. Admittedly the facilities were very basic, no hot water in the toilets for example We showered in our Cruise America RV rather than attempt one at the next campground along. Overall, we were there two nights and the convenience outweighed the negative aspects of the site

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
46
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After reading many of the reviews posted here before our trip to the Grand Canyon, I wasn't expecting much when we arrived at Trailer Village yet I was still disappointed.

First, the check-in process was painfully slow with the employee taking phone calls and casually chatting with anyone who stopped by the office while we waited. We'd made a point to arrive with plenty of daylight left to set up camp but instead ended up having to park our travel trailer in the dark as a result of the slow service.

Next, our assigned campsite was literally in the front yard of a park employee's mobile home/residence. The whole experience was really awkward. We felt like squatters.

Our site didn't have a BBQ making it impossible for us to 'legally' use our Dutch oven. There was a BBQ located just a few feet from the mobile home's front door with the employee's bicycle chained to it and limbs from an overgrown bush hanging above it. But there was no BBQ in a position where we could use it.

I'd definitely stay elsewhere if visiting the GC again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

As concessionaire-run campgrounds go in the national park system, at $35 this one is a bargain even if its roads are rough and the sites aren't too level. This would be a popular destination campground if it offered nothing but a place to stay within Grand Canyon NP. The ability to walk to a shuttle bus to go anywhere in the park is, as they say, priceless. Add to that the fun of having elk stroll by at any time and your camping experience is complete. If the park is remodeled as promised in 2013 it will be even better as long as the price doesn't increase too much in the process. We've paid nearly $50 at similar facilities in other NP's and we would hate to see this one increase to that level. I'd rather leave it just the way it is and maintain the price at an affordable level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Yes the Trailer Village is in a decent location and the buses are regular and very helpful. Yes there is cable TV, but who comes to the Grand Canyon to sit in their trailer and watch TV? And yes, we were greeted by a huge bull elk. That being said, there are no showers, and no campfires permitted, the sites are old and crumbling, and the bathrooms marginal, at best. For us, though, the end to a nice three day visit was destroyed by a major sewer problem. As we were preparing to leave, we hooked up to the sewer connection. The sewer tank must have been full to just under the connection, because when we opened the black water valve, the contents would not go into the sewer, and the pressure blew the hose connection off. The end result was a major spill of the contents of our toilet all over the ground on the campsite. We cleaned up the best we could, hosed down the area for quite some time, and then had to store all the dumping equipment. We then had to drive over to the camper service area at Mather Campground, wait in line half an hour, and finish emptying our black and grey water tanks. With all of this, our departure was delayed several hours, and we should have never had to deal with all these disposal issues.
We did advise the attendant when we checked out, and she said she would have the tank pumped and the site cleaned up. Don't know if she did, but if you were on site D-19 on October 9, hope your experience was better than ours, and the site was appropriately sanitized. The attendant was "sorry" for our "inconvenience", but offered nothing. It is incomprehensible that management would allow this to occur, when they are managing a National Park campground.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Great setting right in Park with frequent busses and brilliant access to rim. Facilities basic but it is the national park and if you have an RV with a shower then it's fine. Toilet blocks on the trailer site but nearest shower block is in nearby Mather campground. Elk freely wander the site and we saw a gopher digging its hole right by our RV. Brilliant to be staying in the park to get the sunset and sunrise and do hiking early without crowds. I loved it here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The best thing about this site is that it's close to the Grand Canyon and you can take the shuttle directly to the rim. Otherwise the sites are not level. They are bare and the bathrooms are not well maintained (the ladies room light was out for the 2 days we were there) and there are no showers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Trailer Village, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Trailer Village here on TripAdvisor.

Trailer Village is scheduled for a remodel of the sites and roads next summer. We will do one half of Trailer Village one month and then the other half the next month. We are also remodeling the two bathroom facilities (with sinks and toilets) that are located in Trailer Village although most RVs have their own bathrooms.

I hope you will consider returning to Trailer Village in the near future to see a much improved property. Should you decide to make another trip to the South Rim, please don't hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do to make your experience much more enjoyable.

Mike Harding
Rooms Director
mharding@xanterra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have been traveling over 16 months, visited over 120 RV parks, writing a book about RV-ing and shocked to see this place. The roads and sites are crumbling, almost the worst site we have ever seen in terms of level...our back wheels were off the ground, no Wi-Fi, no showers in the camp, the bathrooms were clean but aging, and this place was not cheap! The NPS and Xanterra should be ashamed . You check in at the gate and the person there had all our dates wrong and the computer was down.This is no place for a large class A.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Trailer Village, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback here on TripAdvisor. I apologize that we failed to meet basic expectations during your recent visit.

Trailer Village is scheduled for a remodel of the sites and roads next summer. We will do one half of Trailer Village one month and then the other half the next month. We are also remodeling the two bathroom facilities (with sinks and toilets) that are located in Trailer Village although most RVs have their own bathrooms.

Should you decide to take another trip to the South Rim, please don't hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do to make your experience much more enjoyable.

Mike Harding
Rooms Director
mharding@xanterra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trailer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailer Village

Address: Grand Canyon Village, 1/2 mile from South Rim, adjacent to Mather Campground, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Trailer Village Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Trailer Village Grand Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailer Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.