We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trailer Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Trailer Village
Save Saved
You added Trailer Village to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Village, 1/2 mile from South Rim, adjacent to Mather Campground, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Hartsburg, Missouri
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“You can't beat the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The roads are in disrepair, and the sites a tired looking, but hey you're right in the heart of the grand canyon south rim! No wifi but they have decent cable tv. Would stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The sites are not level and you feel like you've been put out of eyesight for other visitors. The restaurants are dated and could do with a freshening up, the food is pretty avenge too. No showers here either. The shuttle buses are excellent and get you to all other areas in the park easily. Best part was when an Elk just strolled up to our site, antlers the whole bit, very cool. Oh yeah no pool ere either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was once again more than underwhelmed by the quality of the RV facilities at our National Parks. Although not tightly configured "parking-lot style" like Yellowstone, the RV sites were adequately long and provided basic electric, water, sewer, and cable, but many (including ours) were unlevel side-to-side as well as front-to-back. Unfortunately the bathhouses did not include showers and lacked even simple shelves and/or hooks necessary to hold your shave kit. I imagined some bureaucrat in Washington declaring, "Let them use their RVs." when I asked the host where the showers were. I was told to follow a paved path for a short 5-7 minute walk to the nearby Mather Campground. They tell it to you this way so they don't have to say it's nearly a mile round trip (I measured it at 4/10 of a mile each way from the RV village entrance. If you're in the back of the village you'll walk least a mile. Luckily they do have parking if you can drive and avoid having to take a shower after walking back from your shower). Did I mention they are coin operated? Two dollars for eight minutes. This is long enough for most folks but you can't incrementally add additional quarters so if you have long hair enjoy the extra minutes of hot water to "get your money's worth." Forget wi-fi or cell coverage at this facility. We were consistently frustrated when the local market wi-fi was down for over two days (the "IT professional was out sick" we were told). I just can't help from feeling RV'ers are second class citizens at these National Parks and that the RV facilities are just an afterthought. Unfortunately they are the only game in town so if you want to stay at the park you'll put up with mediocre quality and lack of amenities. I would consider the RV park in Tusayan if I returned. Tusayan is just 7 miles South of GC Village just outside the park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Trailer Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on your stay at Trailer Village. We use feedback like yours to monitor, and ultimately help improve, quality levels at all of our in-park facilities.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies for an experience that did not meet your expectations. I would also like to apologize for the misinformation you were given with regard to the location of the showers and other in-park amenities. I have shared your comments with my fellow team members so we can look for ways to improve.

I hope your recent experience doesn't prevent you from returning to the South Rim and staying at Trailer Village or any of our other in-park lodges. If you return, please let me know so I have an opportunity to guarantee your complete and total satisfaction.

Mike Harding
Rooms Director
Grand Canyon South Rim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was an awesome park for r.v.'s. The best about it, it's right in the park. And if you don't want to drive around to see the sites, there is a FREE shuttle that stops right at the campground. Perfect! The only downside..no showers here. But full hook-ups make up for that. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The trailer village was the least well appointed of the camp grounds we stayed in, but that said, it was all very tidy. The rest rooms were convenient for us, and very clean.

There is a bus stop on site for the free shuttle buses that take you around this truly stunning location.
Walking out to Mather point, is something I will never forget. Truly stunning and breath-taking.

Highlights of the stay here were seeing the Mule-Deer wandering past the RV, and taking a helicopter trip over the canyon with Maverick, from the airport. Pricy, but for me, well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, WA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Rented a motorhome (first timers) and stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012. Fabulous location - inside the park and a short walk to the shuttle bus stop. Had an issue with our site not being level and no levelers provided with rental but helpful neighbors provided some wood we could use. Love the hookups and the sites were very clean with lots of garbage and recycling sites. Not a resort but we were not really looking for tons of ammenties. Would definately camp here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night here while visiting the Grand Canyon. The campground itself is a little rough and not well kept. The bathrooms were a little dirty. However, the laundromat (which you have to drive to) is very clean and nice. I did not try out the showers but they were busy. You have to walk to the bus stop to take the shuttle and it's not to far of a hike. But at night is is dark and a little unsafe when walking with children. Overall, we loved the Grand Canyon and felt the NP has done a fantastic job with it organizationally and keeping up with the trails. It was just this campground was a little more run down then the rest of the park.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trailer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailer Village

Address: Grand Canyon Village, 1/2 mile from South Rim, adjacent to Mather Campground, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Trailer Village Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Trailer Village Grand Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailer Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;