We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION - LOCATION - LOCATION!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com
Thunderbird Lodge
Canyon Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“LOCATION - LOCATION - LOCATION!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

By far the best part of this hotel is the location! The rim of the Grand Canyon was just steps away from the door. Beauty surrounded us not only in the view of the canyon, but in the abundant wildlife as well. We saw many elk, mule deer, a family of raccoons and a mountain goat all outside our door. Most of our group was up for sunrise each morning. The views were just breathtaking!

The room was clean, although not overly spacious. The bathroom was rather small but served its purpose. This didn't bother us since we were only planning to sleep there and spend the bulk of our time exploring the canyon. A definite plus was the in-room refrigerator where we kept snacks and drinks.

The restaurants and gift shops were typical National Park venues with adequate, but not outstanding food and well stocked gift shops. We actually ventured outside the park for dinner 2 nights in Tusayan, AZ at the Yippee-ei-o Steakhouse. The food and service were outstanding.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again at the Thunderbird simply because of the location.

Room Tip: Request a room on the canyon side for a great view from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    186
    42
    6
    2
See reviews for
150
112
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is a great location! In your front yard is the Grand Canyon, literally steps away. On either side are the historic El Tovar (great choice for breakfast or any meal) and Bright Angel Lodge which has restaurants. A short walk away is an art museum and the entrance to the Bright Angel Trail. In the other direction, just steps away is the bus stop. The hotel has a Keurig coffee maker with pods, comfortable beds...no complaints here. This was much nicer than I expected. What a pleasant surprise! Look for elk at dusk roaming the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We've stayed at a number of places through Xanterra at the South Rim (El Tovar, Maswick, Bright Angel cabins), and this is one of our very favorites! Bright, updated room with a beautiful view of the canyon (2nd floor). Yes, there is a roof visible as well, but it does not detract from the view and enjoyment whatsoever!!

Room includes a flat-screen TV with cable channels (including ESPN and Disney for our downtime enjoyment after two challenging hikes!). Pod coffee maker and mini fridge as well. Super-hot water in the bathroom, and heat lamp, too!

Beds were comfy, and housekeeping was dependable during our 3-night stay. Had lightning fast internet on Thanksgiving night, but after that, it was challenging in the evenings. Sunday morning was decent, but ~ bonus! ~ there isn't a charge, so it shouldn't be irritating. Kinda nice to "unplug", anyways!!

Nothing beats staying "on the rim"! We wouldn't stay anywhere else but one of the Xanterra properties during our trips to the canyon!

Our group of three thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The only really good thing about this hotel was its location. The hotel was almost on the rim of the Grand Canyon and was within walking distance of the bus stations and the cafeterias within the park. The rooms were dark, musty, old, and cramped. The hallways were also dark and very old fashioned. The staff wasn't nearby the hotel and there was no room service. Overall our experience was average.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, Ca.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a delightful stay! The room was clean and comfortable and the price was right. There was some construction going on but it wasn't noisy or dusty. It was lovely to be able to walk along the Rim and enjoy the beautiful views. Staff was very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed one night at the Thunderbird Lodge since we arrived late and then camped for 2 nights. The signs in the park are not the greatest, especially arriving after dark. We were at the Lodge but had a little difficulty identifying it and trying to find out where reception was until we noticed a small sign on a door that said reception was at Kachina Lodge. Everything was fine, the room was nice, recently redone, but small. They have WiFi in the lobby at Kachina, and they say they are installing it for the rooms but it was not ready yet. Somewhat expensive and we were on the street side, on the other side you would have a view of the canyon from your window. Convenient, but if I did it over again I would stay at one of the hotels in Tusayan. The only thing is that if you arrive in the park after hours there is no one to pay the entrance fee to, and as long as you don't leave the park no one checks. We actually tried to pay the campground attendant the next day but he couldn't do it. That saved some money but not nearly as much as staying outside the park would have.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Being the best in this town is not saying much. Well, ok let me step back. It's better than I was expecting. The staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The rooms were ok. You can tell it's old and beat up as everything was outdated... but, at least it was clean. The Location being right on the grand canyon rim was fantastic... you can't beat it. We drove out to the town right outside the park and was so thankful that we stayed in the park as the town outside was a beat up looking place and probably worse from the looks of it. (The food and lodging just look disgusting and beat up). STAY IN THE PARK! Well, this is kinda like being in an airport... you're caught with what they have because the next decent meal is hours and hours away. The cafe and food scene needs a lot of help though... at least it was costing you an arm and a leg... but if you're looking to eat something clean and healthy, you might want to pack your own food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Thunderbird Hotel
Address: Canyon Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.