We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildland trekking Company is amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wildland Trekking Company Hiking Guides

The Wildland Trekking Company Hiking Guides
4025 East Huntington, Suite 150, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ Flagstaff, Arizona 86004
800-715-4453
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wildland Trekking Company provides exceptional hiking tours and backpacking trips in the Grand Canyon, Havasu Falls, Zion, Bryce, Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument, Yellowstone, Yosemite, the Southern Sierras and Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Grand Canyon hiking tours range from day hikes to all-inclusive, multi-day backpacking trips to the bottom of the Grand Canyon and the Colorado River. When it comes to hiking, we're the experts! We have more than 25 years of owner experience, and one of our Grand Canyon hiking tours was featured on the Discovery Channel as "the Best Backcountry Adventure" in Arizona. Our certified guides are some of the best in the industry.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Palmetto, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wildland trekking Company is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

3 friends and myself decided to hike in Utah at the national parks. This was our 3rd booking with Wildland Trekking and once again, we realized that they are a first class business who cares about the customer. Our guide, Bob, met us the night before and we talked about our hiking plan. We had all the comforts of home in our deluxe tents and delicious home cooked meals. Our hikes were in some of the most beautiful and unique areas that I have ever seen. Wildland made sure that we were comfortable, had awesome hiking and all at a very reasonable cost. We are already planning our 4th trip and wouldn't think of using any other company other than Wildland Trekking. We have taken the Grand Canyon tour, the Yellowstone tour, and the Utah tour. Next stop, the Rockies!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great adventure and guides in Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

...just perfect...
We booked a trip In Yellowstone in August 2011 with wildland trekking company. They gave us all we had to know to plan our family trip in Yellowstone. The meeting with The guide in our motel The day before trip was helpful, giving us a lot of informations about wildlife (bears). The 5 days trip was great, Beautiful landscapes, tasty food and great guides! Thank's Scott and Tom.
We hope We'll be able to do a New trip with wildlife trekking company!
Olivier and family (70, 46,45,11 and 9 years old), Switzerland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Wildland Trekking made the Grand Canyon accessible and safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I hired a guide from Wildland Trekking (WT) to take us down into the Grand Canyon on a four-day backpacking adventure. We followed the New Hance trail to Hance Rapids, then up along the Tonto Platform to Horseshoe Mesa and the Grandview Trail back to the rim. It was a tough hike, but absolutely gorgeous and awe-inspiring. WT was great in setting up the trip. Our guide, Chris, met us at our hotel and helped us choose the right equipment, and on the trail prepared meals, bandaged a sprained ankle and a twisted knee, and found water in the desert (and carried it, too!)...all while encouraging us onward with good humor and a watchful eye for safety. We absolutely could not have done this trip without Chris!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HAvasu Falls with Wildland Trraking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

What an amazing 3 day Hike with had with Eddie Bowers. The 3 day hike was so much more than we expected (including the scarey parts!!) and was made even better by the excellent skills that Eddie has. Not only is he a knowledgeable and interesting guide, he instilled such confidence in us that when we got to some 'interesting' parts, we had no hesitation in knowing we could tackle the challenge.
The scenary, the colours, the waterfalls , the night sky, the blue sky - was just 'awesome'
He also is a great cook – how he rustled up such excellent meals we have no idea – lunch and dinner & breakfast and we even had appetizers and dessert with dinner!–he also ensured we were well stocked with energy bars and water constantly. He took such excellent care of us, that we were grateful not to have to do anything - even though we asked – at the end of the hike or when packing up. He is so orderly that it would have taken longer if we did ‘interfere’.
He has great guiding and natural leadership skills that many people would envy!
We all agreed that we definitely will be coming back and will definitely be asking for Eddie to be our guide. Wildland Treking really does provide superb Customer Service and i am sure the other guides are great too.
Tip for people doing this is to prepare for it with training specifically your legs and core- it makes recovery easier and the trip that much more fun.
Thanks Eddie and thanks WildLand Treking

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely awesome!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our Grand Canyon Classic Tour that was booked through the Wildland Trekking Company. It was the best vacation we have ever taken. They were excellent at getting back to me every time I sent them an email with questions. Every single interaction was easy and I never felt like a bother. There was a mother with her two teenage boys that were part of our hiking group. Although we had never met them prior to the trip, we all got along famously and I already miss them. Shayne Hall was our tour guide and I feel like we really hit the lottery having such a great person to hike and camp with. He was very open about his experiences in the Grand Canyon and also shared hilarious stories that kept us all laughing the entire time. This trip was completely affordable but I would pay ten times what I did because it would be totally worth it! We are already planning a return to the Grand Canyon next year. Thank you Wildland Trekking Company!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wildland Trekking Company Hiking Guides also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to The Wildland Trekking Company Hiking Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wildland Trekking Company Hiking Guides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.