We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hualapai Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hualapai Ranch to your Saves list
Hualapai Ranch
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Grand Canyon West, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I ended up in Grand Canyon West due to the Government shutdown. We didn't make it to the canyon until 5p so we felt we didn't have time to see the whole canyon before sunset and still had to figure out where to stay for the night. As we spoke to Luke at the Hualapai Center where you buy the Skywalk tickets he recommended the Hualapai Ranch. We took his suggestion and it was the best thing we did! The town was set up like and old west town, the cabins were clean and seemed newly built. There's a dance hall where meals are served and you can mingle with other guests. They were offering a bonfire with smores but the wind didn't cooperate that night. In the morning there where free wagon rides while old time gunslingers walked through town. Motorcycles riders... the 9 mile gravel road leading to the grand canyon west is not that bad if you're an experienced rider. Be prepared for lots of dust and bumps but it is a wide road which is mostly flat on either side. Also, the ranch allows you to park your motorcycle between the cabins. They provide security for cars but they are understanding of riders wanting to keep their bike close.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived quite late (as we mixed up the lodge and the ranch - apparently it happens often), but they were very accomodating. Note: After dark the roads are quite difficult to travel, not super well marked and a lot of construction. Highly recommend arriving early! There were five of us, so we "required" two cabins - although there was probably enough room in just one. Both cabins were very clean and *very* basic. If you need a tv to entertain the kiddies, this isn't the place for you.

Anyway, we went directly to our rooms, missing the campfires and other evening action, cleaned up and jumped into the pretty comfy beds. In the morning we realized just how close we were to the Grand Canyon - very cool. Had a decent breakfast, then off to the visitor center for the passes to get our day started.

To summarize, rooms - basic, but clean and comfortable; food - decent; setting - beautiful, the faux town was a little kitschy for me, but the kids liked it; location - perfect! So nice to wake up and be right there. Kingman is the closest town and it's a loooong drive. The set up here made the day very easy and convenient. As I mentioned, there is a lot of construction. I don't imagine this is going to remain a "hidden gem" for long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great day with great people just wish we had booked an overnight stay. My kids will remember this experience forever. And my husband and I are forever greatfull for the amazing hospitality the staff showed us. The performers are so entertaining and the location is grand. Food and facilities were of a very high standard. We visited on June 29 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A wonderful place to visit. The staff at this Ranch are the best. We were a group of stranded tourists on June 29 when our bus broke down and if not for the assistance of the staff at the Hualapai Ranch we would have been lost in the desert. Our tour company did not seem to care. The staff at Hualapai Ranch gave us free meals, entertainment and looked after everyone including organising the bus to take us back to Vegas. They provide the best meals in a great location. I highly recommend this location and its staff and performers to all Australians and anywhere else in the world you come from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at the ranch on the Tranquility package and we really loved it. The people there were super friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the campfire and making smores after eating a great dinner at the dance hall. The rooms might be small for some people but we didn't mind the room at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On a recent tour from Las Vegas to the West Rim our bus broke down and the WONDERFUL STAFF at this resort were AMAZING!! They gave us free drinks, dinner, entertainment, wagon rides and shelter as we awaited a new bus. While our tour company did very little to rectify the situation the great people at the ranch arranged refunds for show tickets and dispatched a new bus to rescue us!! No trip to the canyon would be complete without a stop at the Hualapai Ranch!! Many, many, many thanks to Steve, Dave and the entire staff at this OUTSTANDING CANYON TREASURE!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My niece, her daughter and I stayed here April of last year and loved it the minute we drove up to the cabins. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We took a horse back ride out to the rim of the canyon. The staff were just as friendly as can be We especially loved Josh. After dinner we had a camp fire, made smore's and Josh told stories, ghost stories and that of his heritage. The staff showed us how to lasso a cow, shot bow and arrows. The best was waking up early, catching the sunrise over the canyon. As long as you go in knowing that it is not a 5 star hotel but very clean, food was very good, staff were amazing, you will truly enjoy your stay here. It ranks as of the best times we had, we laughed so much, had a magical time. We were truly hated to leave the next day. I would recommend anyone give this place a try.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
0.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.9 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,945 reviews
5.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualapai Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualapai Ranch

Address: Grand Canyon West, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hualapai Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hualapai Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualapai Ranch Hotel Grand Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualapai Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.