We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of a camper but this was great....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mather Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mather Campground
Save
You added Mather Campground to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Village, Near Mathers Amphitheater, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Not much of a camper but this was great....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am not much of a camper but this is definitely a place I recommend camping in. It is within the Grand Canyon National Park thus you can walk to see the south rim views as the sun rises....you can also walk back to your campsite after the sun sets. There is a well-stocked grocery store nearby in the park, places to eat and coffee shops. The hotels within 20 miles of this entrance are VERY high and are outside the park thus you won't get the full experience. The cheapest hotel I found near the park was 150.00 per night, off-season, in the motel section (read: run-down) of the hotel. I didn't even end up putting my tent up and instead slept in my car after laying outside looking at the stars which are surreal in this atmosphere. The tent site was 18.00 per night. It is imperative that reservations be made. I was talking to the woman at the check-in area and she said September is the slowest month but this month almost everynight they have been sold out as well as the other campground in the park, the Desert. Mather is very well maintained, quiet (where I was).

Room Tip: I asked when I checked in if I could have a place that it is quiet and away from people. The woman d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    118
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
90
114
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This campground compares favorably, but not remarkably, with other campgrounds. I rate it "very good". But... given the utter unavailability, as well as VERY high prices of any motel rooms within 20 miles of the canyon, I rate this campground "excellent". I booked the site very last minute, all of the other lodging had been sold out months earlier. Clean, but not spotless. Quiet, especially given how big a campground it is. All of the facilities were well maintained. The check-in was a problem, as the campground office was literally never open while I was at the campground. THey were closed when I arrived at 8PM, closed the next morning when I went out for my run over to the North Rim and back, and closed when I got back at 8:30 PM. I wound up "checking-in" when I "checked-out" on day 3, but they gave me no problems. Given the rustic nature of much of the "in the park" lodging, I think the campground represents an excellent value for visiting an amazing National Park.

Room Tip: In a lot of campgrounds, going all the way "to the back" means a quieter campsite. Here &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There was a lot of space and privacy at our site (#292 I think), and it looked as though most of the sites had the same. The showers are far, but it's not really a big deal. They do cost $2 for 8 minutes, but I didn't really mind that. I think it's pretty helpful in the conservation effort, and the shower felt fantastic after exploring the rim and some of the trails all day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Booked two nights here.
Pitches were big enough for us to spread all our gear out
Toilets were clean and tidy
Showers clean & good value
Bus Shuttle was close by
Village Shop fully stocked and not too expensive

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A very big campground but plenty of space on each pitch. We had 2 nights here, the first of which was good and the second a disaster. No fault of the campground but a six hour thunderstorm over our tent caused us to wake up at 3am lying in 4 inches of water. Stayed the rest of the night in the car and packed up the following morning in the rain.

We used the showers and found it difficult to get hold of 8 quarters each, we needed 24 in total for the three of us to shower. They weren't the cleanest campsite showers I've used but given ow busy it is they aren't too bad.

Room Tip: Choose your pitch carefully, avoid through routes but stay an easy walk from the rest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the campground and thought it was a great place. All of the sites are spacious with room for more than one tent. There were two washrooms on our loop. A trail leads directly to the shuttle stop for access to the rest of the village. There is showers and a laundry mat at the entrance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a wonderful campground. Some sites are close to the amenities, some are further into the pines. Depending on what you want, this campground has everything. My best advice is to do your research. I chose site 232 as it was far from the well-traveled roads in the area. This site backed into the forest, and on either side were campsites that were not on top of me and provided a bit of privacy with the trees and brush. Bathrooms are close by in nearly any site, but, I wouldn't recommend staying close to them as the hand dryers are very very loud.

The shower and laundry facilities were great. Bring quarters and you can get clean easily. Stalls are small, but the water is good with mild pressure. Showers are $2 for eight minutes, and, that's really enough time. Trust me.... time yourself in the shower next time!
I didn't use the laundry, but whatever you need is right there. Phones and a handy internet (pay) access is there, too. Park rangers are incredible. Thank you!!!! Trash and recycle bins are situated to give you the means to keep your site clean.
By the way... you do NOT want to leave anything out food-wise even for a minute unattended. The marvelous and fun to watch ravens will swoop down and take it in seconds. Elk will wander near, too, so the park wisely will not allow clotheslines or other "lines" to stay unattended as the elk may get tangled. This wasn't a bother for me. My rain tarp lines were high and short, clothes line and hammock dismantled when I wasn't there. Carabiners are fabulous for easy up and down. Hard sided latched containers made for easy storage of everything, though I kept my food in a cooler or in my truck. Just in case!
There are paved paths to walk or bike on and a free shuttle bus to take you anywhere you want is close, too. Just get the guide and find the route you want. The buses run frequently. Very, very nice.
Grocery store is close, too. Walking distance if you need a thing or two.

Fire ring has a grill that flips out if need be.

It's a great campground.... enjoy!

Room Tip: Oak loop has nice sites. Look at the campground map before choosing. The first loops (especially on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mather Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mather Campground

Address: Grand Canyon Village, Near Mathers Amphitheater, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers 320 campsites and is situated near Grand Canyon Village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mather Campground Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Mather Campground Grand Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mather Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.