We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phantom Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phantom Ranch
Save Saved
You added Phantom Ranch to your Saves list
North Kaibab Trail, South Rim, bottom of Grand Canyon, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
SALEM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We decided we wanted to try to get a cabin at Phantom Ranch at the spur of the moment during a trip to Sedona. People that tell you they book a year in advance aren't kidding! However, we called them anyway and they put us on a waiting list for the next morning. When we called we were happily surprised that they had one available! Must have been the cold weather on the rim that scared people away but we lucked out! We had to pull ourselves together and drive from Sedona to the Canyon and hike down the same day! We took the Kaibab trail down and got there with five minutes to spare before the 5:00 seating for dinner. We didn't have a choice but understood later that the 6:30 stew seating was already filled up. The steak dinner was more than adequate albeit a bit spendy ($44.00 per person), breakfast was good and the lunches for the hike out were more than adequate. The family style seating is fun but you are only given 45 minutes to eat so beware if you are a slow eater! They also offer wine and beer but plan to spend a bit for it.

The cabin was very cozy with minimal amenities (a bed, nightstand, alarm clock, small table, toilet and cold running water.) The shower house had plenty of hot water and towels.

We only had the one night as we had to hike out on the Bright Angel trail and return to Sedona the next day. The hike out was long but so worth every step of it.

I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who can endure the 7.5 miles down and over 9 miles out but definitely think about more than one night so you can explore the area around Phantom Ranch and let your legs rest for a while.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    57
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
66
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

*This review is for the meals. My group stayed at the nearby campground, but were able to reserve meals at the ranch.

Phamtom Ranch is in the middle of the grand canyon. The nearest road is 7.1 miles away via the grueling South Kaibab trail. It is the only dining option inside the canyon and good luck if you don't have reservations! Although, you could buy candy bars and such if you were really desperate.

The food is hearty and filling, even for the famished hiker. For dinner, they served stew and vegetarian chili, along with cornbread, chocolate cake, vegetables, tea and coffee, all in ample supply. They also had a steak option. The lunches, were just as fulling. I ate my lunch on the hike out and could not finish it.

The sweetest thing (beside the chocolate cake) was that I did not have carry the meal in on my back, saving my knees and blistered feet.

Getting the reservations was a bit tricky. They were all filled up the first time we called. However, we were persistent and found a number of spots actually opening up in the two weeks immediately before our embankment into the canyon.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I loved Phantom Ranch and had such a great time meeting other travellers and just hanging out with people. It really reminded me of summer camp! After a long hike down into the canyon, this is the perfect place you'd want to stay at. It's quiet, beautiful, has great food and very friendly.

The vegetarian chilli is delicious as is the filling breakfast. You don't need to buy a packed lunch, it's very expensive. The dorms are heated/air conditioned with a shower, toilet and sink. The bunk beds aren't too bad at all. Remember to bring a flashlight! We didn't have one and it was really hard to get around at night using our mobile phones.

Enjoy! I'm very jealous you're going.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight and some flip flops/sneakers to walk around in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We hiked down the South Kaibab and up the Bright Angel trail. We spent one night at Phantom Ranch. I would not trade one second. We have tried for years to get a reservation at the Ranch and finally got through on November 1 2011. So we waited an entire year for the trip and the weekend we hiked a cold front came through. Although it was cold (4 degrees the morning of our hike down), it was sunny and turned out to be great hiking weather. I was so excited to actually get to Phantom Ranch! When we reached the Colorado River, it was fabulous. The staff is wonderful! We each stayed in a dorm room that was comfortable and warm. Fresh clean towels and soap are provided. The food is fine--we had dinner, breakfast and picked up a bagged lunch. They also sell beer! We celebrated with a Grand Canyon beer when we arrived. There are a couple of ranger presentations which were fun and educational. I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: There were people in our cabin who had called that very morning to see if a reservation had opened u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had wanted to hike into / out of the Grand Canyon for 40+ years and finally made it 2 weeks ago. The weather was perfect for both days, and the experience made the leg pains following the hike all worthwhile. The Phantom Ranch meals were great (steak dinner @ night; full breakfast the next morning). The dorms are so-so, but what do you expect sleeping in a bunkhouse with 9 other guys? If I want a great room, I'll go to a 4 Seasons somewhere. The staff was great; very welcoming and encouraging. They know they work in a special place and want to be sure that each visitor has a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited Phantom Ranch in February 2012 for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. My wife, myself and my 14 year old son all hiked down on the South Kaibab Trail. We got a fairly early start and arrived by mid afternoon. If you aren't in shape you better rethink this hike. Do whatever you can to get your calf muscles in the best shape you can imagine. We did fine but were sore the next day. In all we stayed at Phantom Ranch for 2 nights, (stay at least 2 nights, 1 will not do this place any justice or give you enough rest time unless you are in VERY good shape). The meals available especially the hikers stew are very good. We had a cabin with sink and flush toilet and 4 bunk beds all very nice for the bottom of the Grand Canyon. The showers were clean and had plenty of hot water. The staff is under paid and over worked, they are not here to make money they are there because they love it here, TIP them!! The hike up (Bright Angel trail) was actually easier than hiking down hill, hard to believe but true, you will see. End of February was great weather for hiking, lots of ice on the Bright Angel trail be sure to have Yak Traks and hiking poles. Will hopefully return someday.

Room Tip: You aren't going here for room service, this is all about the experience. If you are looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are working on our bucket list and decided to take the mule ride into the Grand Canyon and stay at Phantom Ranch. It was a fantastic ride and the accomodations at the bottom were the best surprise of all. Understanding that things were be rather rustic, what we found was superb! The cabin we stayed in was comfortable, air conditioned (which we didn't expect) and we had our own bathroom (minus a shower). Remember this is at the bottom of the Grand Canyon where the temperature was 100 and everything must be carried in on mule. The food is served family style and was ample and delicious both breakfast and dinner and the staff were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The views were spectacular - words cannot do them justice. This is the trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: It is hard to get a room, you must book months in advance. The cabin was very nice and had two sets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phantom Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phantom Ranch

Address: North Kaibab Trail, South Rim, bottom of Grand Canyon, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Phantom Ranch Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Phantom Ranch Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Phantom Ranch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phantom Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.