We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe inspiring!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon North Rim

Grand Canyon North Rim
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Canyons, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Geologic Formations, National Parks
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Word of mouth has that the more remote, harder to get to and therefore less crowded North Rim offers a more authentic Canyon experience and better views. However, there is no bus service on this rim and it is closed during the winter.
WOLFVILLE
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The views from the North Rim are amazing. We drove from Denver and getting there was a wonderful experience. It was actually July 2007 (not 2013) and very warm, but so beautiful. Every hill and corner revealed a gorgeous view. We spent about 3 hours at the North Rim and the drove to the South Rim.

FILL YOUR TANK WITH GAS BEFORE YOU HEAD TO THE SOUTH RIM! There are no gas stations on the way.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    83
    18
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the extra time and effort to get to!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I prefer the North Rim over the South since it is much more laid back and quiet. It is much smaller in size and there is only one road into it and since the lodging facilities are limited it gives you a much more intimate experience as compared to the crowds that throng the South Rim. Visitor numbers to the South Rim are measured in the millions annually, but the North Rim has only a few thousand in comparison. The view from the Lodge is spectacular, and the menu in the dining room may seem a bit pricey but the quality of the food and the service rivals that of 5 star restaurants in major cities I've been to.
For a little bit of a different experience, as the setting sun is changing the colors in the canyon order a pizza from the deli and eat it on the patio right at the canyons edge along with a bottle of wine you can bring yourself or order your drinks from the waiters that serve the patio. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Place to be in once atleast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Came here as a causal trip to see the Grand Canyon, Though had heard a lots before wanted to see it in person. But now after having the personal feel, Would like everyone who get a chance to be here and experience it. Its worth.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Awesome viewpoints without the crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Having spent time at the South Rim we decided this year to travel to the Nth Rim of the Grand Canyon. It was a very scenic drive from Kanab. We drove to the top of the plateau and through alpine meadows and were lucky to see some deer near the Lodge. On arrival we walked the rim trail to Bright Angel Point and there were awesome views of the canyon. The North Rim is 1000ft higher in altitude than the South Rim so it's much cooler and has different wildlife including the rare white tailed squirrel which we saw near the cabins.The next morning we drove to Point Imperial which is the highest point at 8800ft. Our only disappointment was that the road leading to Vista Encantada, Roosevelt Point and Cape Royal was closed. We wished we had be told this when we entered at the park entrance the day before.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor and come here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We came for the Perseus meteor shower. I was surprised that rangers n staff didn't talk more about it, but it got hit hard by the sequester. I've been lucky enough to come here 3 times and love it. Charles Krault called the drive from the main highway to the park one of America's top 10 drives, I don't quite see that but very nice. It's 1000 ft higher in elevation and takes 1-2 hours longer to get here vs the south rim. I like it because it has more trees, more dramatic rock coloring, more wildlife viewing and less crowds by far. There's still a crowd, but very small compared to the south rim and its incredibly easy to get away from them. Spring has lovely flowers and fall has the leaves. There's still buffalo here. The best views by car are bright angel point near the lodge and cape royal (farthest point) then point imperial and the window rock of wallhalla is nice too. Ranger talks and walks are always a must do. The lodge is lovely with scenic seating and just more relaxed. The restaurant is a different company as the south rim and not quite as good but still yummy. There's less things to do and no real attractions to see. I think it's still the best because the place just feels like I imagine the USA was like in the 50s or over 100 years ago with the friendly folks. Take a stroll on the rim or hike into the canyon and you'll understand words like peace, tranquility or the phrase getting in touch with nature. Oh and if your kids get bored easily pick up a Grand Canyon activity book from the last gas station (1 pump) before the entrance, plus bring other games n stuff from home. Do yourself a favor and check it out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon North Rim also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Grand Canyon North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon North Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Canyon North Rim to your Saves list