We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do. Major Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Kaibab Trail

South Kaibab Trail
Along the side road to Yaki Point, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
928-638-7888
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the two superhighways into the Canyon, the other being the Bright Angel Trail, this path runs along a ridge offering stunning views. During the summer, visitors are advised to bring at least two quarts of water along because it can get very hot and the trail offers no shade.
NH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must do. Major Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We took shuttle bus and got there at 8:30. Still some ice and snow on upper switchbacks but all doable. Took to heart the warning not to go to base and back in one day. Easily could have. Got to cedar point. Really feel part of canyon when you climb down. My two teenagers loved it. And views amazing. Scale better understood than by the rim walks. Truly one of the highlights for all of us

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    106
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I wrote a lot of detail on this in my grand canyon review. We loved this day trip and highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Going deep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Steep with multiple switchbacks in the beginning. If your child needs to pee, get comfortable having them going between waves of crowds. Definitely take a water back-pack and fresh vegetables like broccoli and cauliflower because they are naturally salty. A 23 year old marathon runner died recently because she didn't take enough water and only packed a protein bar...the story's posted at the Kaibab Trailhead.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rim to river and back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Left at dawn on Good Friday. We were dipping our toes in the river at 9:00 am. Back to the top at 1:30. A truly memorable hike. But we were also well prepared and had trained for it. As the rangers say, we don't recommend trying this. . . .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We hopped on the Hikers Express bus early one morning and were dropped off at the trailhead for the South Kaibab Trail. There are steep switchbacks in the beginning and we were in the shade because it was still early (8AM). The veiws were amazingly beautiful. Ooh Ahh Point is fantastic and just a little farther there is an even better un-named view point where we took pictures. We hiked down to Cedar Ridge where there were restrooms. Cedar Ridge is a beautiful plateau that over looks the canyon with plenty of room to spread out. On the way down a mule train passed us and we had to get off the path to let them pass. That was really neat to see and exciting! It did take us a little over double the time to go back up. It is a steep ascent and not being in the best of shape I was winded to say the least. It was 3 miles round trip to Cedar Ridge and worth every step. It was a well maintained trail and I would highly recommend taking it if you are visiting the Grand Canyon!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Kaibab Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to South Kaibab Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Kaibab Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.