We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going deep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Kaibab Trail

South Kaibab Trail
Along the side road to Yaki Point, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
928-638-7888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$179*
and up
Grand Canyon Day Hike Tour from Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the two superhighways into the Canyon, the other being the Bright Angel Trail, this path runs along a ridge offering stunning views. During the summer, visitors are advised to bring at least two quarts of water along because it can get very hot and the trail offers no shade.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Going deep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Steep with multiple switchbacks in the beginning. If your child needs to pee, get comfortable having them going between waves of crowds. Definitely take a water back-pack and fresh vegetables like broccoli and cauliflower because they are naturally salty. A 23 year old marathon runner died recently because she didn't take enough water and only packed a protein bar...the story's posted at the Kaibab Trailhead.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank thetraveledmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rim to river and back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Left at dawn on Good Friday. We were dipping our toes in the river at 9:00 am. Back to the top at 1:30. A truly memorable hike. But we were also well prepared and had trained for it. As the rangers say, we don't recommend trying this. . . .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adobe313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We hopped on the Hikers Express bus early one morning and were dropped off at the trailhead for the South Kaibab Trail. There are steep switchbacks in the beginning and we were in the shade because it was still early (8AM). The veiws were amazingly beautiful. Ooh Ahh Point is fantastic and just a little farther there is an even better un-named view point where we took pictures. We hiked down to Cedar Ridge where there were restrooms. Cedar Ridge is a beautiful plateau that over looks the canyon with plenty of room to spread out. On the way down a mule train passed us and we had to get off the path to let them pass. That was really neat to see and exciting! It did take us a little over double the time to go back up. It is a steep ascent and not being in the best of shape I was winded to say the least. It was 3 miles round trip to Cedar Ridge and worth every step. It was a well maintained trail and I would highly recommend taking it if you are visiting the Grand Canyon!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JillVA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We did this hike in late March, it was about 60 up on the rim. We planned on hiking to Ooh Aah Point but ended up continuing down to Cedar Ridge. This was definitely worth going the extra distance, but Ooh Aah Point to Cedar Ridge is double the vertical distance of the rim to Ooh Aah Point so just be sure you bring plenty of water and be prepared to take it slow. Our group was a range of fitness levels and some people found the hike back up more challenging, it took everyone about 2 hours (give or take about 20 minutes for various group members). The views are amazing, especially from Cedar Ridge.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank me10lee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Incredible views...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This trail was suggested to us instead of the Bright Angel Trail, as it apparently got us out into the canyon faster. We caught the Hiker Express bus from the backcountry station and were dropped off at the trailhead.

We spent about an hour hiking down to the restroom facility, then maybe an hour and a half climbing back up. It was quite a climb back up, like doing a set of stairs for hours...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderingPencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Kaibab Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to South Kaibab Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing