We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Kaibab Trail

South Kaibab Trail
Along the side road to Yaki Point, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
520-638-7888
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Hiking Trails, Trails
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the two superhighways into the Canyon, the other being the Bright Angel Trail, this path runs along a ridge offering stunning views. During the summer, visitors are advised to bring at least two quarts of water along because it can get very hot and the trail offers no shade.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only walked to Cedar Ridge but it was so worth it. A must do treck while in the area. When I come next time I would like to do the complete journey and stay at the phantom ranch for a few nights.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    60
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Canyon
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This trail is the "short" way to Phantom Ranch and has majestic views of the canyon. Just a short hike to OOH AAH point is well worth it, if you have the time Cedar Ridge is well worth it. I don't recommend going any farther then Skeleton Point for a day hike as the trail is very strenuous.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“knees better be in shape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

south Kaibab was a test on anyones knees . switchbacks were too numerous to mention but the views were awesome,,, once you get your first view of the colorado river you wont forget the scene

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Steep but incredible trail to hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Kaibab trail is steep no matter how you look at it. The views of the Grand Canyon are unmatched no matter how far one hikes up or down the trail. Be prepared for sore calves after hiking downhill for almost a mile, but a delight in being in a special place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hiking this trail was the highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This day hike was absolutely AMAZING. I was all set to do Bright Angel when someone recommended doing this hike instead. I'm so glad I switched. The views were out of this world stunning. My husband and I hiked to the first stop, Ooh Ahh Point, and then on to Cedar Ridge. We turned around at Cedar Ridge and all in all, accounting for snow/ice, breaks, and numerous photo ops, it took us about 4 hours to go down and back. The hike is not for the faint of heart and if you go in cold weather be aware that it can be snowy in some places, icy in others (especially on the initial switchbacks) as well as muddy or dusty in some spots. Yak Traks were an absolute necessity. The hike up is really as challenging as people warn. If you are in shape you will likely be fine but even if you are in moderate shape you will be huffing and puffing. I can see how walking sticks would be helpful. I received good advice and layered appropriately and brought a lot of water. I was surprised how much water we drank, even in the colder weather. The views along this hike will take your breath away and stay with you forever. Definitely, definitely hike into the canyon if you have the time. The experience is priceless.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Kaibab Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to South Kaibab Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Kaibab Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.