We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet, good company with good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skyline Lodge
Save
You added Skyline Lodge to your Saves list
Kantishna Air Taxi, Box 46, PO Box 46, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Orange, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet, good company with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We like to travel on our own rather than with a tour. When I noticed the loft in the room, I invited our son, who lives in Fairbanks, to join us. My husband was not looking forward to the shared bathrooms but once there I heard no grumbling.
If you have good topo maps of the area (our son forgot to print out some from a program he has), be sure to bring them because the maps offered are not good. Ask for trekking poles if you plan a hike described as "steep," you also want to do the steep part at the beginning rather than the end of the hike. They said bears aren't in the area, we saw no evidence but we had bear spray with us just the same. They might have some at the lodge, we didn't ask. We took the flight in to the lodge -- beautiful. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I warned them that mattress in room 2 is saggy -- little too much togetherness. Hope they replace i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear sueoc76,

Thank you for your 5-star ratings, and we were pleased to host the three of you during your trip to Kantishna. We were particularly pleased that you loved the flight and did not have to endure any grumbling, and you'll be pleased to know that we've purchased new mattresses :)

All the best,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hard to review because different than a city or town. Here you are in he middle of nowhere. Food comes by air or truck from 300 miles away inFairbanks. All non burnable waste is trucked out. The season is super short and by mid september or so it is done. There are only a handful of lodging options at the end of the denali road. This one was right for us.

Casual, friendly, and authentic, this lodge is more like a b&b. No real rules, come and go as you like, bikes available to ride, communal meals. Aside from being much more affordable, Skyline is easy without the regimented autocracy of some some nearby hotels.

The rooms were comfy and clean. Nice views of the valley. Didnt love the fact thatthe only twobathrooms werent all that conveniently located, but operating in this environment is understandably tough. meals were workman like. Bit on the basic side.

But for overall comfort, location, price, and atmosphere, we liked Skyline.

Awesome improvements would be more bikes in better shape and free wifi. Better venting of septic would improve the airspace between the main lodge and the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear kyle 10014,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and thanks for the suggestions. Most of all, we're glad that we were the right fit for you in Kantishna, and we hope you can make it back some day.

Cheers,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Skyline Lodge was just the right fit for my family - my husband and I traveling with my parents. From the flight in, which was exhilarating, to the care and hospitality shown during our stay, we found the lodge and staff to be the perfect base and perfect hosts. We felt comfortable with the staff, pilots and guests alike and enjoyed chatting with them about flying in Alaska, Waldorf education and whatever other topics happened to come up. Like other reviews here have mentioned, we did not feel like paying visitors, but like welcomed guests in a family atmosphere.

Simple, tasty communal homecooked dinners were a treat after eating in restaurants for weeks, and we liked the flexibility of making packed lunches for hikes and outings. We had no specific plans, so the maps, bug nets and bikes provided by the lodge gave us plenty of options for walking and hiking, as well as exploring further afield.

Thank you all for making our two nights in Kantishna so enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear jessachieng,

It was a pleasure to host your family. Thanks for sharing your review, and we look forward to your next trip to Denali!

Your friends,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have never felt compelled to write a review about any place...ever. That has changed now that I have spent two days with the Skyline family. And I mean that, family. They, in essence, welcomed us into their home. The experience was like staying with close friends over the holidays. In fact, Marge cooked a Thanksgiving dinner the first night we were there. We got in late but found dinner waiting for us to warm up when we arrived. This is the un-resort, but I'd rather stay with friends. Greg - thanks for starting this place and for schooling me at ping pong. Matt - never change, you are the nicest person I know. Shakti - No one could be better at making guests feel welcomed into the family. Andy & Denise - blue skies! Jason - let me know when you want to cut those trees. Peter Chan the Weather Man - best of luck with your future, may the fish always bite. Marge - You are the best cook in Denali! All of you are welcome in my home anytime your in NC.

Room Tip: You're staying with family. The room is not as important as the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
To the party people in the cheap seats,

You've got us blushing. It was a pleasure to invite you into our home, and while we're fond of saying that in Kantishna "we're all here 'cause we're not all there," the truth is that hosting guests like you is the reason we're all here. Thanks for chillin' with us on the north side.

Keepin' it real since 1992,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let me start by saying, if you are going to Denali, stay in the park, you just don't get to experience everything when you bus in and out. And if you are staying in the park, I cannot recommend the Skyline Lodge run by Kantishna Air Taxi enough. It's as far in to the park as you can go, and a bike ride away from Wonder Lake. Everyone was extremely friendly and helped us plan some great hikes, made three delicious meals everyday (and even catered to my vegetarian ways), and had all kinds of gear like bikes and mosquito nets as a courtesy. They are are the perfect balance of helpful while letting their guests do their own thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Rachel B,

Thanks for letting us share Denali with you, and we were psyched to hear that we provided a perfect balance for you during your recent trip to Kantishna! We appreciate you and look forward to more great hikes, delicious meals and bike rides to Wonder Lake on your next trip to Denali :)

All the best,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at this lodge for two nights and it is about as far as you can go into Denali. This lodge was a highlight of our Alaskan vacation. When you book they let you know that there are shared bathrooms and the lodge is a bit on the rustic side but that seems just right when you realize how deep into Denali you are. The dinners were wonderful. Home cooking at its best and as it is communal dining you get to meet and talk with people who are also traveling Alaska and share experiences. Having the pilots from Kantisha Air Taxi staying in the lodge just adds to the experience. Everyone is so friendly and the staff all so accommodating. Schocke was the person who we made our reservation with and he greeted us when we arrived and was just so welcoming and helpful with any questions we had. The hiking is great and you truly feel you are in the great frontier of Alaska. What an incredible experience. Oh, and this lodge is not nearly as expensive as the two nearby. May not be as private but we enjoyed the time with other travelers.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed if you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear JosieJo02,

Great to hear from you, and thanks for all the useful information in your review. We especially liked the fact that Kantishna was "the highlight" of your Alaskan vacation :) We look forward to seeing you again at "the end of the road."

Blue skies,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Staying at the Skyline Lodge was a treat and fit our style perfectly. My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary on a special Alaskan vacation for two weeks. The first place I booked was the Skyline Lodge and then worked the rest of our trip around the dates approved. We are self-sufficient and don't need guided hikes, the Skyline provides wonderful information and maps of area hikes and there are plenty. We borrowed the mountain bikes and drove the 8 miles back to Wonder Lake and hiked there and came "home" on the camper bus. Several great scenic ridge top hikes just outside your door. Close local walks to other resorts and "local" history. The accommodations were perfect. Beautiful room, views, deck, a focus on conservation and eco-lodging. The food was outstanding. We enjoyed the company of the pilots and chatting with others staying at the lodge. The experience is more intimate because only six rooms are rented out each evening. We took the camper bus into the lodge and then did a flyover of Mt. McKinley. Thank you Andy! That was the most awe inspring flight I have ever taken. In fact, if you go to the Skyline Lodge, you have to book a flyover trip with them as well. You would be missing out on one of the most fabulous opportunities of your life. Thanks to everyone at the Skyline for making our Alaskan trip so memorable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear prink2,

It was awesome to host you for your 25th anniversary shenanigans in Kantishna! You definitely made the most of your time in Denali: a fantastic Mt. McKinley flightseeing tour with Andy, numerous scenic ridge hikes overlooking the Kantishna Valley and the camper bus ride along the Park Road. Solid work--we're proud of you :) Thanks for sharing your special Alaskan vacation with us!

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skyline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge

Address: Kantishna Air Taxi, Box 46, PO Box 46, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.