We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Unexpected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern

229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern
Mile 229.7, Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
(907) 683-2567
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Totally Unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A huge surprise to find this gastronomic restaurant along this highway of tourist bars and chow joints. Delightful decor, lovely staff, and food to die for. Herb soup. King crab in pasta. Scallops on potato with prosciutto. Not your usual Alaskan fare. And an excellent wine selection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    40
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

You could miss this place if you arent on the look out .It is hidden behind a lot of shrubbery and a board on the roadside announces its presence .The food was good .Portions were just right and loved the spiciness of the food offered .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Exquisite"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a dinner experience not to be missed. It was recommended by a staffer at Seven Glaciers in Girdwood (another great restaurant!). If you drive too fast, you may miss the sign that is literally at mile marker 229 on the Parks Hwy., on the left side if going north toward DNP. They are currently open from 5 to 10 pm. The menu sheet is printed with the current date, which reflects the opportunity to offer dishes highlighting what is fresh and locally available. (There is a nearby greenhouse that supplies produce.) I had the salmon wrapped in crispy prosciutto. My husband had the rack of lamb. Not only were they beautiful dishes to behold; wow, were they heavenly to ingest. If you only want something light, we suggest trying the deliciously flavorful mint/rhubarb lemonade with an appetizer. Or the amazing homemade 3 scoop(not too big) ice cream dessert: we split this part of the meal, having the salted caramel, coconut vanilla, and chocolate. If you're like us, you'll have all of the above and make it a really special meal occasion! In short, we really do consider this one of the best restaurant dinners we've ever had...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I can't really imagine a better meal, anywhere. Brilliant cocktail ideas...mixing peach lambic with prosecco made a Bellini that I prefer to the original. I will do that at home. Perfect Alaskan oysters and king crab cakes. Some of the best rack of lamb I have had...perfectly seared and rare on the inside. Homemade ice creams blew me away: we tried salted caramel, roasted cinnamon and intense sour cherry sorbet. Don't miss this place for at least one dinner during your Denali visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

229 was recommended, very nice building. Had the pan seared halibut, at first taste it was very good, however then the peppercorn and spice rub hit and it ruined the whole meal. If the description was blackened or Cajun I would of never ordered it for neither do I like. Maybe in Alaska pan seared means blackened? The snap peas were fresh and the soba noodles were different, but could hardly taste it due to the over powering spice/peppercorns. My husband enjoyed his crab/ravioli like meal, I tasted it, but I thought it had an after taste, he did mention the scallion/onions were alittle over powering. The desserts looked amazing. We tried a chocolate tort, the chocolate shell had no taste, chocolate center was good, raspberry drizzle inhansed the chocolate but there was not much of it. Would never have that again.

All in all service was ok, food came out fast. Should real change description of the halibut meal and maybe I would not be so unhappy

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to 229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.