We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very accommodating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Park Salmon Bake

Denali Park Salmon Bake
238.5 Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755 (Formerly Denali Salmon Bake)
+1 907-683-2733
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our landmark bar and grill's Alaskan menu has something for everyone. While we get many compliments on our signature Cedar Plank Salmon, famous Halibut Tacos, full pound split Crab Legs and our Beer Battered Halibut; many consider our steaks, burgers and salads to be the best in the area. Offering nightly entertainment, The Bake is the biggest hub for nightlife in Denali. Open since 1984, The Bake has been celebrating life in Denali for 30 years.
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“very accommodating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We needed a quick lunch upon our arrival to the Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge before we headed out for the Nenana Gorge Whitewater Rafting excursion, and our waiter was great--he got us in and out very quickly, which we greatly appreciated.

The next day we went to pick up our boxed lunches for the Tundra Wilderness Tour in Denali National Park, and as soon as they realized a mistake had been made (one of the sandwiches was missing), they quickly rectified it. A member of our family needs to eat gluten-free, so they made a lettuce wrap instead and substituted a piece of fruit for the cookie. But I made a silly mistake--don't do the tuna salad as a lettuce wrap! Totally messy! But they provided these "boxed" lunches in incredibly sturdy plastic bags that are well sealed. A really great boxed lunch and we would definitely do this again before setting out in the park. But next time, the lettuce wrap will be turkey and cheese, not tuna salad!

Everyone we met at this place was super nice and helpful--two situations that could have been very difficult were handled very well. An extra star given for great attitudes and hospitality. Thank you!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Wow! Thank you for your kind words. We really love our work and hearing that we made someone's visit to Denali better really means alot. Safe travels on your next adventure! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    263
    96
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

good food and great music. poker in monday. bands fri-sat . If you are in Denali area, stop here for great food great bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to write about your visit! We really appreciate feedback from our guests. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Enjoyed The Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Salmon Bake was crowded and noisy when we visited, much of the noise emanating from an upstairs bar. It's not the most comfortable place nor is it for fine dining but it isn't trying to be, so we took it on its own terms and had a dinner of halibut and chips, and a pulled pork sandwich with its usual extras and this was OK. Good for a decent casual meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok place for a national park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were staying here in the "tents" so we decided to eat here. It was a very warm day in June, so the mosquitos were eating us during dinner. The place was very busy so our waitress was not attending to us like we wanted. We had the halibut fish n chips which was pretty good. Fish n chips is greasy and there's nothing you can really do about that! But we did complain about my husbands fish being cold and they gave us free dessert, so the manager was very responsive to his customer satisfaction.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quirky institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A locally owned institution, this quirky restaurant had decent food, great service and funky ambiance. Salmon was delicious for dinner, breakfast was mediocre, but the atmosphere was fun. Worth checking out for dinner, I think that was better then the breakfast.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denali Park Salmon Bake also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Park Salmon Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Park Salmon Bake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.