We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Diamond Grill

Black Diamond Grill
Mile 247 George Parks Highway, Turn onto Otto Lake Road, Free Transportation Provided, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99743
907 683 4653
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mile 247 George Parks Highway
Australia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent Italian food - some of the best we had in Alaska. Dont miss it if you are in the area as it is worth a detour. i had salmon and it was fresh and prepared in a Northern Italian style. It is located in the Golf Club in Healy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, DE
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Too pricey for Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We are foodies...we like to eat good food. Although recommended by many, we did not find anything much too like. The portions are large...however, my brother in law and sister ordered steak stressing many times they wanted it rare but it was more like medium well when served. I had pasta...ok but not special. the problem with this place is they charge four star prices for two star food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We shared an entree ( it was huge and more than enough food for 2 people). The food and service were fabulous. Excellent value. Be sure to save room for a dessert!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Watch out Holland America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was amazed that this small out of the way restaurant could deliver such a scrumptious meal. After cruising, and hitting the other restaurants at Denali, we found the most well prepared meal of our trip here. Simple lodge style decor and friendly staff make it enjoyable. Pretty presentation. I hate salmon, and I loved the way it was prepared. I am still dreaming about the cheesecake. They a picked us up and delivered us back to the Mckinley Chalet

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining near Denali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Gourmet Dining near Denali. Everyone agreed Black Diamond Grill was our best dining experience in Alaska! Every entree surpassed our experience at the highly touted 229 where we dined two nights before based on reviews by Yelp.

Black Diamond Grill Restaurant was recommended by Denali Park Hotel and AAA.
Party of eight included very discerning palates from NYC and Chicago as well as two excellent chefs from Hawaii and Fort Lauderdale.
We Congratulated both Black Diamond Grill chefs who were trained at Culinary Institute and Cordon Bleu on their excellent presentations, generous portions and incredibly delicious preparations of fresh Alaskan fish (halibut, salmon, king crab) and steaks with variety of side dishes.

Overlooks golf course, resort, horse country and wildlife with view of Majestic Alaska Mountain Range

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Diamond Grill also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Black Diamond Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Diamond Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.