We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Team Alaska” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Perch Restaurant, Bar and Cabins

The Perch Restaurant, Bar and Cabins
Mile 224 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99743
907-683-2523
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Perch offers you cozy, private cabins, hotel rooms and lodging near Denali National Park. Tucked into the woods and bordered by pristine Carlo Creek, our cabins offer you an Alaskan experience that is truly unique.Tree-top dining at the Perch Restaurant is a wonderful way to begin and end your day. The restaurant is “perched” atop a gravel moraine left by a glacier. Each of our 13 bay windows has a spectacular view of the Alaska range and it's many glaciers. Weather permitting, you can dine on our large deck, or just sit out in the sun and enjoy a cocktail while you wait for dinner.
Home
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Team Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had dinner at The Perch, on Tuesday night, June 25, with 4 friends, that I was traveling with in Alaska. The Perch with Josh and Denise, was suggested by members of my Well Managed Practice Group IV, who had eaten there earlier in the week. WE are veterinary practice owners from all over the USA. All of our meals were excellent ranging from halibut, salmon, and caribou. The dessert was phenomenal. The environment is unique and friendly, hosted by their dog, Barley, who ended up sitting by our table for most of our dining experience. We did not feed him, although it was hard not to. The view on the deck is beautiful, but it was a bit too warm to eat out there. Over all, it was a 5 star eating experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    22
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal high in the Boreal treetops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My Grandfather and I dined at this restaurant after our Denali National Park and Preserve bus tour to Kantishna. It was simply amazing. The menu featured seasonal Alaskan dishes such as fresh Alaskan halibut and Copper river red salmon. The waiters were incredibly knowledgable about wine selections, and a full-scale desert menu arrived in the form of a cart. Eating a gormet meal amid the Alaskan Wilderness in a restaurant that was elegant and European, was a great experience! I highly recommend this restaurant to tourists and locals alike!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rustic goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We made very last minute plans and were delighted to find a reasonably priced room. Actually it was a cabin with a small but adequate private bath. While not the ritz, it was fine for active travelers. The restaurant was excellent, reasonably priced, service was slow, but hey, this is Alaska. Breakfast was really good. Other guests all seemed to have some kinda voucher. Meets the needs, lots of electric outlets. Lovely quilts

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I visited Denali with some friends, and stopped by The Perch Restaurant. Loved everything about it! Sat outside on their back deck, and drank a glass of wine in front of an absolutely beautiful mountain. We ordered some breaded salmon bites that were great! For my main dish, I had the roasted duck, and can honestly say, I have never had any other better meat than what I had there. Topped it off with some creme brulee cheese cake. Everything was delicious. Most of all, the service was great! There is also a pizza/pub down the hill which i recommend checking out. Pizza was awesome, with great beer, and live music!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Perch...fine food & friends...just like their sign says!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a great dinner here during our stay in Denali. The views are amazing and the owner, Josh, was so engaging we felt like we were old friends. Amazing food, views, and atmosphere! Had a beer at his pizza pub just down the hill the next night & wished we had more time to spend. Fun atmosphere...music inside & corn hole games outside!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perch Restaurant, Bar and Cabins also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to The Perch Restaurant, Bar and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Perch Restaurant, Bar and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.