We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the hill overlooking the city.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Bluffs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Denali Bluffs Hotel to your Saves list
Denali Bluffs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 238.4 George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Waterloo, Ia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“On the hill overlooking the city.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very nice hotel. It was the end of the season and they were getting ready to close for the winter, but they handled the people, very well. Very good breakfast in the restaurant. Quaint rooms.They were very helpful to store our baggage, while we toured.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if that is a problem, be sure to ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    117
    114
    41
    35
See reviews for
91
145
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here one night before entering Denali NP. I found my room to be clean and comfortable. The shuttles worked great and made several rounds to pick everyone up at the train station. Shuttles into the park and Glitter Gulch worked out fine as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is not a luxury hotel but it is certainly clean and comfortable. They have convenient bus service into town, the view from the back porch is beautiful and the staff was accomodating. The restaurant didn't have much to offer dinner wise but breakfast was good. I would be careful to make sure you get a 1st floor room if you have any disability. The grounds are steep as it's built on a hill and there are no elevators.

Room Tip: Check on handicap accessible. Could be difficult with a wheelchair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for two nights, the worst experience of my three week trip to US
Shuttle not ready at train station- left standing in rain
Luggage got wet
Coffee Shop not open.
Restaraunt on a par with Mcdonalds
Rooms very very very noisey
Pipes burst in middle of night , had to relocate helped by maintanence man no front counter staff
Staff advised not paid to carry bags
Would never recommend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Carmel, In.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights here. The shower was nice, but that's about it. The property is old and very poorly maintained. Chipped paint, sagging everything. There was one chair in the room. No chairs on the balcony. The bed was uncomfortable. There was no AC, or it didn't work. We left our balcony door open. They provided a shuttle for shopping in Glitter Gulch, train station, and to the Visitors Center, but not a pick up at the Wilderness Access Center. We rode the Princess shuttle from the WAC back to the entrance of the park, and then walked to the hotel, which is up a steep hill. They were accomodating in offering a pre ordered box lunch for our visit into the park, and holding our carry on luggage, while sending our luggage ahead to the train station on the morning we were leaving, while we did a river raft ride. All the hotels in the area would have done the same. We didn't eat in their restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We chose this place blindly because of its close location to the park entrance. In reality, there are several other better places to stay than here. I put this hotel in the category of a motel than a hotel.
The wifi in the lobby was nice, and was the brunch buffet (extra cost). The room was rather small, older furniture, and a view of the building across from it. They all are that way. The buildings face each other.
They run a shuttle down the hill to where the shops and restaurants are, but you may end up walking it. It's a bit of,a hike.

Room Tip: I do. It think there are any better than others room. They are essentially all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent staff, helpful/flexible shuttle service, basic/clean rooms. As with everything in Alaska in Summer, this hotel was markedly over-priced. It's an easy walk to the strip of stores and eating options and a nice/long walk into Denali NP. Note that this hotel is the first stop for the Park Connection bus to Anchorage, which is quite convenient, and also serves as a main stop for the various tour services.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
5.6 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#5 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
64.4 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Denali Crow's Nest Cabins
Denali Crow's Nest Cabins
#3 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
2.0 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
5.9 mi away
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
#13 of 28 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Bluffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Bluffs Hotel

Address: Mile 238.4 George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Bluffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing brings out your adventurous spirit like a mini-vacation in our Sugarloaf Mountain hideaway at the Denali Bluffs Hotel! Alaska native owned and operated, we not only have commanding views but the Bluff's design allows our guests to feel "at-one" with nature while still providing a comfortable stay with 112 cozy guest rooms perfectly equipped with all the conveniences of home, such as private baths, cable TV, and much more!Enjoy hearty, home-style Alaskan fare when you dine at the Mountaineer Grill & Bar. Savor your appetite on our patio with a cold local brew, while taking in a beautiful view of Mt Healy. You’ll also find a variety of specialty coffee and beverages, pastries and other delicious food items in the Perky Moose Espresso. Our main lodge features a log-beamed great room, with authentic Alaskan art, a gift shop, and a tour desk at which our staff will be happy to assist you in choosing from a wide variety of optional tours available in Denali National Park. Adventure is just steps away at the Denali Bluffs Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Venere, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Denali Bluffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Bluffs
Denali Bluff Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Bluffs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.