We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge next to Denali entrance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Bluffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Denali Bluffs Hotel to your Saves list
Denali Bluffs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 238.4 George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge next to Denali entrance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Denali Bluffs lodge is a stone throw away from the Denali entrance. The campus is big and beautiful. The rooms were good. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    103
    95
    39
    35
See reviews for
83
124
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Don't go to Denali expecting the Ritz, it doesn't exist. Our stay at Denali Bluffs met our needs, the room although dated was clean, service was good and staff friendly. Front desk staff didn't volunteer much info but if you asked a direct question they provided info...if taking the train ask them in advance about procedures for luggage at checkout, we wouldn't have known if we didn't ask the night before (we stayed early in season and staff was still new and learning). Breakfast buffet very over priced, you will do better at the Salmon Bake restaurant (yes, they serve bkfst).
We paid for a room with a view, it was not worth the extra money in my opinion. Shuttle bus service was reliable.
Property is very hilly, so this should be considered when requesting a room if you have difficulty walking up and down hills.
If we ever go back (and I hope we do), I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We booked a king room with a view (and price to match) for our 3-day stay here but on arrival were given a room with no view at all, it looked directly out on the back of the cabin opposite. Returned to the desk to get another room but the only king room available had a view of the roof of the next cabin and a partial view of the mountains blocked by trees. Asked for a reduction in price and were told this had to be escalated to management, but on checkout were charged the full original price. Had to leave to catch flight so no time to complain. Very disappointed. Food in mountaineer grill was so-so, although staff were friendly and enthusiastic. Check out time is advertised as 10am though on one day we were woken by housekeeping at 8am wanting to service our room! Not good when on vacation and wanting to sleep in! No "Do Not Disturb" sign provided for door. Good location near Denali National Park with free shuttle bus into town, though close enough to walk if in a hurry. So if you are looking for a mid-price hotel near the park and the town then this is as good as any. Just don't pay for a view - there isn't one.

Room Tip: Cabin 10 has the King rooms but don't bother booking these as none of them have a view. Looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The proximity of the hotel to Denali National Park is great and they run free shuttles down to the shopping/dining area of town. The rooms are a bit older and they are close to the highway which can get noisy. Also, when they ask if you want to upgrade to a room with a view it's a con - all the rooms have an ok view.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Clean room, great location, bad view, and a little inaccessible, mountaineer grill was good but a little pricey

Room Tip: no swimming pool or fitness areas, room views are blocked by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed one night before visiting Denali national park(7 min by car). It was the start of the season and we got a really good bargain by booking directly from its website. Internet rate was 99/night while the best available rate you can get from other websites were 219/night! The queen and double room we got had two queen beds and a balcony, very cozy! You can walk uphill for 0.5 mile to another hotel they own and have a better view of Denali. You can book boxed lunch for 15 dollars from the front desk and it's very useful if you are going on a shuttle bus tour to Denali since lunch is not included. Everything was good especially for the price!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The location is excellent, just outside the entrance to Denali Natl Park. Everything else about the place is inferior. The cleaning crew left the carpet uncleaned with food on it. The coffee maker had day old coffee left in it. a used coffee cup and take out cartons were left on the floor. The breakfast buffet food was so old that the oatmeal was hardened. With the exception of one waiter everyone else in the restaurant seemed untrained, lackadaisical and uninterested. Not worth half the cost that they charged.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Denali Bluffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Bluffs Hotel

Address: Mile 238.4 George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Bluffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing brings out your adventurous spirit like a mini-vacation in our Sugarloaf Mountain hideaway at the Denali Bluffs Hotel! Alaska native owned and operated, we not only have commanding views but the Bluff's design allows our guests to feel "at-one" with nature while still providing a comfortable stay with 112 cozy guest rooms perfectly equipped with all the conveniences of home, such as private baths, cable TV, and much more!Enjoy hearty, home-style Alaskan fare when you dine at the Mountaineer Grill & Bar. Savor your appetite on our patio with a cold local brew, while taking in a beautiful view of Mt Healy. You’ll also find a variety of specialty coffee and beverages, pastries and other delicious food items in the Perky Moose Espresso. Our main lodge features a log-beamed great room, with authentic Alaskan art, a gift shop, and a tour desk at which our staff will be happy to assist you in choosing from a wide variety of optional tours available in Denali National Park. Adventure is just steps away at the Denali Bluffs Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Denali Bluffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Bluffs
Denali Bluff Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Bluffs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.