We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay accommodations, good for the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge

Save Saved
You added Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mile Post 238.5 George Park Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Okay accommodations, good for the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Fine accommodation for the area, which doesn't have much and everything is expensive. Try to get a river view room if you can. Didn't spend any time in the main lodge or the shops. It feels like a cruise ship but on land, definitely a little cheesy but we were really just there to sleep so it was fine for us. Its convenient and centrally located. We were independent travelers (not with the cruise line) and we planned all of our own excursions, so we didn't need to use their services. Overall it was fine, definitely not luxury but its important to realize that everything in Alaska is expensive, so level your expectations and remember you are there to enjoy the beautiful surroundings, not to hang out at a hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    199
    168
    86
    54
See reviews for
154
311
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here in July . The property is really nice with an awesome view of the river rapids on the back of the property.
I'm in decent shape and not too old, but the park is not within walking distance of the hotel, unless you want to exhaust yourself. Take the shuttle from outside the hotel to Denali. It leaves and returns at all different times.
Internet is available in the main lodge.
Food here is pricey and so is the snack bar. Lodge coffee is $2.75 and a muffin is $3. Buffet is $15, but we didn't go.
The accommodations are decent but in no way high class.
Across the street you have a strip mall that includes:
Prospector's Pizza: which is pricey but good, and their beer is cold. Service slow...it was busy.
Subway: breakfast was horrible but we went back and got a dinner sandwich - it was a $5 footlong that costs $9.
Liquor Store: Score!
Going to Denali: Pack food, drink, water, camera, binoculars and rain gear. Have fun.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to avoid creaky noisy floors from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzgitter, Germany
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

When we booked a cruise tour we thought that we get the same PRINCESS level which we knew from the cruise ships. The train ride was a horror trip for us Europeans who use trains as mean of transport with a certain comfort. The dome cars were so narrow that we had no fun on the scheduled 7 hours nor on the extended version with 2 hours delay from Whittier. An agent on board should help you to make the best of the time at Denali but she was helpless herself. She even did not know that the transfer busses took you right to your lodge. That was the simple reason why guests were allocated to different buses with different numbers otherwise you could only go first come first go. We came too early. Due to longer winter some of the rooms were not ready as they need to defreeze the water-pipes as some buildings still had no water-supply. Organisation regarding moving from hotel to the next was quite well. Also the logistics for the bags. We requested many month before by e-mail a twin-bed configuration. But neither did we get an answer nor a twin bed. We asked for seperate blankets. Service was not willing to provide any service and only delivered a "construction set" so you had to do everything yourself. Next day an experienced (many of the staff members do not stay longer than one season) front desk agent told that our room was supplied with a sofabed and they could arrange the set up of the sofa-bed. The agent the night before did not knew so we had an horror night because we cannot have one mattress only. Food outlets. We asked someone from the staff members to find the entrance to the casual dining. He did not know and told us that we should see the pizzeria (worst ever - after long wait as printer in the kitchen did not work). Next morning we found out that entrance to casual dining venue was 10 yards away from the place we asked. No breakfast to go for guests with special need like me with diabetis. Only sweet breakfast Danish with a lot of sugar and sugar and fat and fat. 18 USD was the breakfast buffet. Very slow. Many items ran out and came again on request after you asked at least 2-3 staff members 2-3 times. So I made a sandwich to go for the wilderness tour (great!!!) and asked for a bag and they told me they have not and I am only allowed to eat in the restaurant. I asked for a garbage bag: No. So I took it with a napkin and the souvenir store's agent Alaska gave me a bag. Next day a nice driver took me to the access point for the Denali NP Wilderness Tour so that I could buy there sandwiches made of wholegrain-bread. The other shops in Denali were not ready to sell breakfast or sandwiches. It's a total different world: they only share the logo of the Princess Cruise Company but you get a total different product. And do not wonder that you have to ask for everything three times to make sure that you get an appropiate answer: some even did not know that Internet (free) was also available in other but the main building. And you get as meat mostly rendeer... So have a nice breakfast with Rudolph...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Hilliard, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We recently took a land and sea vacation with Princess Cruise Line. Along with a 7-day cruise, it included two nights at this lodge. Keeping with the traditions of Princess cruise ships, the lodge is extremely clean and well managed. It is located within a couple of miles of the Denali National Park and is located on a main road with many shops and restaurants across the street. The food at the lodge is very good although a little pricey. It is located in a very scenic location.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be very nice and all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The lodge had a great view so long as McKinley is out. There were lots of cruise passengers, but once they left it was great! Good for one night and a midpoint between Talkeenta and Denali National Park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As far as hotels go, it's the same as many others. After a cruise, you know it's not the same but your paying the same price.

Other than that there's not much to say.

It really is the same as other large chains just in the middle of no where, so you have to use the restaurants.

Breakfast was REALLY bad but the main restaurant, mainly pizza, was ok.

Room Tip: Couldn't find one, so dunno know. Our group had 8 bedrooms and all of them were as bad as each o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge is a full service hotel outside the entrance of Denali National Park. The rooms are nice, updated and clean with good bathrooms. They are "cruise ship standard" quality. The lodge is a large property which is designed to handle cruise ship touring groups. Rooms are spreading out among 10-12 different buildings. We were not part of a cruise ship and felt very comfortable and welcome at the lodge. There are many food options which we found to be good. The common areas are large and inviting. All Denali activities can be arranged from hotel and most will lead from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile Post 238.5 George Park Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Princess Wilderness Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.