We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of civilisation in a remote setting!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mile Post 238.5 George Park Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A bit of civilisation in a remote setting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Princess Land Tour. This lodge is all about location being at the entrance to Denali National Park. The Main Lodge is over two floors and includes reception, the tour desk, gift shop and coffee bar. [The restaurants are in separate locations.] It feels a bit like a transit camp due to the large amount of footfall especially in the mornings when tours are departing and the carpets were quite dirty. Our room was in C block on the upper floor & fortunately overlooking the canyon. Those on the ground floor and on the other side of the block would not have had the view. The room was rustic in style and far more dated than McKinley Lodge. It had 2 double beds & was very compact once 2 largish suitcases were in - the sink was also in the room. Bathroom had shower over bath and loo and the noisiest extraction fan imaginable which came on with the light and you could hear all our neighbour’s fans early in the morning when people were getting up for transfers or tours. The bathroom appeared clean but smelt a little musty and the room was on the dark and gloomy side. However, WiFi worked well and there was a TV should you want it (neither of which is available in rooms in Yellowtone NP for the sake of comparison). No air con but this was not needed whilst we were there. First night had local beers and a plate of seafood nachos at Base Camp Grill. The nachos were so huge (just as well at $20) that we did not need anything else that night. Following night we had a lovely window table overlooking the river canyon at the King Salmon Restaurant. Dining here was more upscale with prices to match ±$15 for a starter, ±$35 for an entree. Service was good and we enjoyed the meal. There is also a pizza restaurant which gets good reviews or a few places across the road from the Lodge where some people ate but prices were all pretty similar. There was also a bakery which sold delicious bread, scones & cakes which we raided for breakfast in our room using the in-room coffee facilities. We upgraded our tour from the Natural History to the Tundra Wilderness Tour (the former goes 17 miles into the park on an out and back road and the latter 53 miles) which I highly recommend as we saw so much more wildlife including 11 Grizzlies in separate sightings.
This is not a luxury facility but given the remoteness of the location and the seasonal nature of tourism there, it was a perfectly acceptable base for visiting the Park. Incidentally, Block A & B near the car park appeared to be newer with good views across the river and its own bar area. This could have been improved by making it more cosy with nicer seating and not serving drinks in plastic cups as the space here was rather under utilised which was a shame as it was a much nicer area than the Main Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    261
    200
    92
    61
See reviews for
191
385
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pomona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel following a princess cruise. The weather was warm and the room was uncomfortable. The rooms need to be upgraded with air conditioning. Also, the room was very dark and needed better lighting. The lobby was nice and had wifi. It would have been much more convenient if the rooms had Wifi also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge as part of a Princess Cruise Tour. The facility is huge...much larger than the Copper Center and the McKinley Lodges. With that being said, there were many, many people there. Rooms are fairly basic, but wonderful for this part of the world. As when you travel in foreign countries, you have to suspend your "USA" expectations for a while and remember that you are in a pretty primitive setting and that things aren't like you'll find in San Francisco. Food was good and prices were comparable to other restaurants in Alaska. The side trips were great, as well. Wish we could have done our fixed plane flights, but the weather didn't cooperate. All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Calling this wilderness in the midst of the Alaskan "outback" is a misnomer.

It is a large, spread out facility with lots of rooms, shops and restaurants.

The valley is typical of mountain towns most everywhere. Very little to see but the commercial buildings and the other side of the canyon.

However, it is a gateway to the amazing Denali!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had our keys handed to us on the coach, the luggage already in our room. Nice clean room but the bathroom no heating so it was chilly to use. We asked at reception, so the heater in the bedroom was put up and this with the door propped open helped. The room was clean and comfortable but we were unlucky to be near the service area vehicles and road. The scenery about is beautiful. and we enjoyed the park. We didn't get the northern lights call, unlucky.

Room Tip: be away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

When we disembarked, we were handed our room key, directions, and other useful information. Our luggage was delivered to our room before we got there! Accommodations were excellent. Our room was very clean, smelled fresh, and provided easy access to rest of compound. Service at restaurants was prompt and friendly at the shops. The pizza was the best we have ever had! The Northern Lights Show in the theatre was excellent. It was followed by a 2:00 AM call telling us we could see the lights. We went outside with a number of other guests and enjoyed actually seeing them "for real." :-) What a wonderful experience! The scenery around the compound was beautiful. Every staff member we talked with was helpful, informative, positive and pleasant. A wonderful experience........

Room Tip: Princess Cruises did a great job. We had a wonderful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The "Lodge" itself was nice. The rooms, like at Mt. McKinley Lodge were a cheap attempt at luxury accommodations. Bathroom was downright dirty in appearance, especially the tub. YUK! Decent location to get into the park. Shopping across the street and, of course, on the property too. Front desk staff were great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile Post 238.5 George Park Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Princess Wilderness Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.