We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlo Creek Lodge
Save
You added Carlo Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Mile 224 Parks Hwy, Stoepler Family, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
1 review
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed for three nights and had a great time. The lodge was very clean and well kept. It was also very close to all the attractions.

I would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    38
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stayed here in a cabin in June 2010. The cabins are okay. Give a rustic look to them. Bathrooms are also okay. However, the staff is extremely rude and has no manners. They'll nick-pick for the slightest reasons and behave as though they're doing you a huge favor by having you stay at this lodge.

I would strongly advise to stay with any other cabin in the area (there are many of them around Denali in the 75-80 $ range... esp in Healy). Keep AWAY from Carlo Creek Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cclowner, Owner at Carlo Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
We pride ourselves on providing a safe and friendly environment. This particular guest was caught speeding 15 mph over the posted speed limit. We have both wildlife, guests, and small children walking all over the property and have a specified speed limit for their safety. We then caught the guest with an additional person in the cabin that had not paid to stay here. We did require them to pay for the 3rd cabin guest and were appalled at their inability to follow posted rules. We are very up front with our expectations of our guests but will not tolerate noncompliance. It is one of the reasons we can offer such a beautiful location, maintain the historic structures, and allow both guests and wildlife a relaxing safe atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed in a "shared bath" cabin. The cabin was quiet, clean and comfortable and only a very short walk to the shower/bath. The price was less than half the cost of a room at one of the big, tacky hotels up the highway and was much more suited to the environment and to the spirit of a national park trip. No TV and no phone but wifi service is available.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We stayed in one of the cabins during our stay in Denali. The location was wonderful and the price was great. You do need to realize that this is a no frills place. We had two queen beds, two bunks and a table for four in one fairly small room. There is no tv or phone, but there is wireless internet access that worked very well. For the price you pay it is a good value especially compared to other places at Denali. We were exactly 15 minutes from the park. There are three good restaurants across the street.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

These are really cute cabins ! We loved our 3 day stay here, the cabins are very comfortable and nice & cozy. They are very convenient to the Denali National Park if you have a car (about a 15 min drive). There a quite a few good places to eat right opposite the cabin like the Creekside Cafe (excellent breakfast !). We had a good time in Denali.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We were suppose to stay here 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip through Alaska, but on the way up to the cabins from Anchorage a tanker had flipped over and closed the highway for almost a day. Tucker, the owner, and Kristen were SO helpful in terms of giving us updates about the highway closure and with working with us on renting out our cabin so we wouldn't have to pay for that first night since we couldn't get through. When we finally arrived the next day, we were really pleased with the property and our cabin (Cabin C). The cabin was really cute and rustic. You could tell they had put some thought into how the cabin was decorated. The location of the cabins were convenient to Denali Nat'l Park. Just down the road. There were also plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The shared bathhouses were always clean, however, you had to share them with the people who were camping and there happened to be big tour groups while we were there so it was tricky trying to find a free bathhouse at times. Otherwise, we had no other problems during our stay here. We would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Liked — the cabin and the owner
  • Disliked — sometimes you had to wait for a shared bathroom to become available
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We loved staying at this place! It is south of Denali NP, about a 15 minute drive. We stayed in cabin #4, which was about 20-30 feet away from the nearest cabin. There was a very nice swift flowing creek about 20 feet from the back of our cabin and we could hear it at night as we were falling asleep. Our cabin had a double (maybe queen) bed and a twin bed. The bathroom and shower were small. The place was very quiet and the people in the office were very nice and helpful. Mom said that she would like to stay there for a week.

  • Liked — Creek, quietness, closeness to Denali NP
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlo Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlo Creek Lodge

Address: Mile 224 Parks Hwy, Stoepler Family, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlo Creek Lodge offers a rich Alaskan history having been homesteaded by our family in 1959. We are known by many for our distinctive features including black spruce burls and handcrafted log cabins. We invite you to stay nestled in the Alaska Range in a private bath cabin on the creek, shared bath cabin nestled in the woods, or one of our new Lodge Rooms. Enjoy a restful evening on wooded acres bordered by Carlo Creek. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlo Creek Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.