We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong choice for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Denali Cabins to your Saves list
Denali Cabins
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Mile 229 George Parks High Way, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wrong choice for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked our Denali reservations ourselves online after reviewing other lodging in the Denali area. We booked it 4 mos prior to our trip; we had 3 families traveling together which meant we needed 3 cabins so we were concerned about not finding enough accommodations. Perhaps we were too hasty. The cabins were small but OK; we had 2 comfortable double beds in ours. The bathroom was tiny and the shower VERY tiny with the shower head very high up for some reason. Often the toilet didn't flush with first try.
We happened to be in Denali in mid-June 2013 when a heat wave was in progress...temps in the 80's. We were away from the cabins during the day but they would have been unbearable for sleeping except for a ceiling fan and screened windows. The room actually cooled down quite a bit by morning. The screens were mandatory because the mosquitos were thick, unbearable, even with bug spray. Could not sit outside at all. I didn't notice the mosquitos being so bad elsewhere in Denali so I don't know if Denali Cabins are in the midst of a swampy area or what.
We had rented cars, so we didn't use their service to the park itself.
The restaurant served a good dinner menu. Our college-girl waitress was very friendly. We bought box lunches from the restaurant to take with us on our shuttle bus trip back into the park. They were OK; the boxes need to be sturdier though. The little cup of sauce for my sandwich popped open immediately and spilled all over the food in the box. They replaced it but it happened again later.
They do try to keep up with maintenance---the ceiling fan in my son's cabin crashed to the floor shortly after they got there. Fortunately no one was beneath it when it fell! They were moved to another cabin right away. One of our cabins, towards the back left side, rested on the raised wooden walkway so whenever someone walked by outside, the whole cabin shook.
The staff was friendly and helpful, so I have no complaints there.

We were looking for 'semi-rustic' so I guess we got it. I know that the hot weather and thick mosquitos influenced my opinion of our 3 nights at Denali Cabins. For folks that are used to tent camping, I'm sure this would be a great place to stay. It didn't work for us though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
47
55
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I enjoyed our stay at Denali cabins. I went in expecting something a bit more rustic than we got. As in - no TV, no internet, a few spiders in the corners rustic. This is still very rustic - small rooms, small bath area, 2 small double beds. Don't go expecting a Marriott. Thankfully, no spiders. Surprised to see a TV. Particularly one with more than 3 static-y channels. Was even more surprised by the availability of WiFi - which managed to be quite stable during my visit. The shower took some time to get warm. Once it did - awesome. Also - the cabins and the decking are built on stilts, so there is quite a bit of shake when people walk by. The biggest and most pleasant surprise was the on-site restaurant. Well executed, super-tasty food that is obviously made with care. The banana walnut french toast for breakfast was one of the best things I ate on the trip. Dinner was awesome too. Even if you don't stay at the cabins - visit the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ones at the back of the resort have a better view. May want to stay away from the hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy L, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Sakecat22, we appreciate your positive feedback. It seems that you have a true appreciation of how uncommon it is for seasonal operations to include upgrades travelers are used to seeing in less remote hotels. We have worked hard to bring modern conveniences such as wifi to Denali Cabins. Also, we are glad to hear that you got a chance to try Prey Bar & Eatery, thank you for mentioning your enjoyed meals there. We hope the rest of your Alaskan Vacation was lovely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here post 7 day cruise Vancouver-Whittier in June 2011. Made reservations months prior to travel. During reservation process, lady on the phone and website is a bit rude and unfriendly. And when we got to the hotel there they gave us a tiny little room with a queen bed. There were 4 in my family and I have reserved 2 queen beds. I've asked that we are to be given what I have reserved and luckily they were able to provide us the proper room. Driver of the shuttle that takes us back and forth to the Center was friendly. Breakfast was good (on site). We decided that we want to stay another night and were able to grant our request. Place is okay. Rustic and cute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy L, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello ljutm, Thank You for taking the time review Denali Cabins, we appreciate hearing about your experience. There have been a few changes in our reservations staff since the time of your booking; this change has received positive feedback from our guests. We hope your visit to Alaska was magnificent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First, let me start with the good. The on-site restaurant was terrific and, for Alaska, reasonably priced. The staff was very friendly if not a bit clueless as to running a motel. First, the cabin was very quaint and had a TV (unexpected). The room seemed pretty clean although I never trust bedspreads and their was only one small pillow per person. The bathroom sink, in the room, had no hot water. The toliet seat was broken and needed to be replaced (my handy husband tried tightening it, but it was past that quick fix). The shower head was so high that it only hit the back of the shower and my nine year old could barely reach the water flow. In addition, they completely forgot to clean our room the first night and we had to go get towels from office. The cabin was cute and this place has so much potential but alas....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our reservation for June 16, 2013 was made in fall 2012. After a beautiful train ride to Denali and a full shuttle to Denali Cabins, we got in line for our keys. Although 2nd in line, we were told that they had overbooked and we had been moved to another lodge. We were told that Denali Cabins often bumps single nighters and a room if they can book a larger party.
Their shuttle driver was kind, took us to other lodge and offered to pick us up the rest of the day if we needed to go anywhere. Thank you to him.
Thank you to the DENALI GRIZZLY BEAR folks who took care of us for the night and called Backcountry Lodge Bus to be sure they knew where we were. Denali Cabins staff made no mention of our next day meeting with the shuttle.
Thank you to the McKINLEY VILLAGE BAR & RESTAURANT for their great food for dinner and for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent two night and really enjoyed the hot tubs. Cabins are spare, small but clean and comfortable. There is a 'lodge' area where you can sit and read or play games in the evening, or on a rainy afternoon. The area is incredibly beautiful, and frankly, you don't come to Denali for the accommodations. Seven miles from the park, with an on site restaurant, I'd recommend Denali Cabins to a friend. Restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was good. Staff overall was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Internet was best in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Denali Cabins. We appreciate it! The hottubs are a favorite of our guests. Our lodge "Lounge and Learn" is a great place to relax, we are glad you found it comfortable. Our Prey Bar & Eatery chef, Shad, has some great dishes on the menu this summer--thank you for trying out the restaurant and reviewing it. We also have just listed Prey Bar & Eatery listed as a restaurant on trip advisor. Thank you again,
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked thru Alaska Denali Travel for 2 nights, the Homestead Husky Tour, and the Denali Backcountry Tour and were booked at this hotel. The cabins had the bare basics, were clean, and the beds were comfortable. There were outdoor hot tubs and a restaurant/bar on site with a limited but adequate menu. The staff were very friendly. You could have a bit of a walk to your cabin, walking over gravel and/or wooden pathways and decking. We did hear noise from rolling luggage at various hours which was annoying later in the evening. There were stairs to the cabins. Even though we drove to Denali it was nice to be picked up at the hotel for the tours. We found the hotel to be perfectly sufficient for our needs and would consider staying again if we returned to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you Phillie_gal for your Denali Cabin review. We have kept the cedar cabins simple but comfortable. Our manager works hard not only to ensure the cabins are kept clean and ready for guests but also to ensure there is staff on hand to help you connect with all of the great Denali activities. I'm glad this worked out well for you. I hope you will visit us on your next trip to Alaska.
Regards,
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denali Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Cabins

Address: Mile 229 George Parks High Way, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Denali Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combine charm of Alaskan cabins with the comforts of a hotel room. You get all the amenities: private bath, wireless internet, TV, phone and comfortable beds. Plus, you get your own cedar cabin nestled conveniently by the highway in the arboreal forest next to Denali National Park. Convenient to package with a day trip into Denali National Park on Denali Backcountry Adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Denali Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Cabins Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.