We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denali River Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Denali River Cabins to your Saves list
Denali River Cabins
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 231.1 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Poway, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rustic but affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in cabin 25 for a couple nights in July and found it quite comfortable. Our cabin was recently remodeled, and quite acceptable. It was rustic, but provided a good, affordable place to stay while we visited Denali national park. Some cabins are near the road and there's a lot of noise but ours wasn't. Yes, you can hear when people walk by outside, and they can hear you from outside (so keep it down :). The grounds are clean and well maintained and you can easily stroll along the river.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin away from the road to avoid road noise. The Nenana river is quite loud so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    56
    35
    39
See reviews for
53
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the Cedars lodge because of its proximity to the park. The room was correct, nothing special and no extras (coffee maker, fridge, etc). Staff were polite and friendly. Prices were very high and most rooms seemed unoccupied. We did hear Parks Highway traffic more than we might have liked but slept well and were happy with the location. Wifi worked in our room (the router is in the restaurant in the center).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I spent one night at Denali River cabins recently and would suggest trying another place if one were available.

The hotel cabins were packed together tightly and most are not on the river. Cabins need serious updating. Our cabin did not have enough light and the bathroom was very small. Remember this is Alaska and the bar is a little lower in general. Breakfast was forgettable.

Denali River Cabins is fine in a pinch but I would try somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

for a person visited Alaska for the first time, i was extremely impressed with the hotel. It was the perfect place to spend two days and explore the national park. I found the location also to be very beauiful admist the trees and the wilderness.
The rooms were outstanding eqiupped with the most basic needs and was replenished everyday> the tour we were offered from the hotel was convenient and they picked us up and dropped us on time. i absolutely loved the experience of staying there as the feeling was one of luxury within wilderness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The rooms were ok but the beds uncomfortable. The tv got 3 stations and they were fuzzy. You had to drag your suitcase through the gravel and up and over a deck to get to the car. Can't park near your room. The cabins were stacked on top of each other and no one had a view of anything. Could create more of an atmosphere by using the fire pit on the beach. The location is beautiful and they aren't using what they have. Felt a little taken advantage of. Even the coffee was $2 a cup in the morning. Thinking this must be owned by a large corporation who never comes to see the place. Great potential. No enthusiasm. The bright spot was Plumar- a Bulgarian student server in the restaurant. Terrific, friendly and polite. Had a nice, good dinner there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here on a recent visit to Denali. the location is good. Near the nenana river.The rooms need updating (at least the cabins in which we stayed) The mini blinds were broken and inoperative. The staff put a blanket over the window to correct the problem. Some of the bulbs were burned out in the room so it was kinda of dark. At night it was a very noisy place with people walking on the decking and rolling things around. Trucks and cars going over the bridge over the river could be heard all night long. Not a very relaxing place. The staff was nice and accommodating and apologized for the inconveniences. the toilet in our room was leaking and we had to put towels down on the floor to pick up water. I think that there are better places to stay in Denali. Would probably not stay here if I had a choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugiak, Alaska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I recently stayed at Denali River Cabins and the experience was aweful. I know it was just a rustic cabin but this was very dissapointing. Dont pay extra to be along the river since you barely have a view through the trees and the other cabins are the same. The cabin or should I say "room" is extremely small and strictly for one or two people. The shower curtain was about a foot short so the whole bathroom floor was a pool everytime you showered. My four year old found someones prescription meds and asked if it was candy, the workers were rude and not helpful. There is a restaurant with average food for high prices. I had desserts that were $6 each and tasted like something out of a package. I was looking for things for my young kids to do in Denali and was offered NO assistance with suggestions. Later I got ideas from total strangers after I left of a neat science thing my kids would of loved. Too little Too late! Not sure how the rooms are at the cabins across the road but when I stopped on my way out to buy milk they were much nicer and ablidging. They opened their store even though they were closed so I could purchase milk and get on my way to Fairbanks. They were extremely helpful and I would probably try them if I ever get back to Denali. I think it was called McKinly village. Don't waist your money here !

Room Tip: Don't waist your money here and if you do...don't pay more for the cabins along the river. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denali River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali River Cabins

Address: Mile 231.1 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Denali River Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Denali River Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali River Cabins Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Denali River Hotel
Denali River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali River Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.