We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but mosquitos!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
224 Mile, George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Martinez, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute but mosquitos!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I guess that isn't there fault but DAMN! We literally had to run from the car to our cabin and vice versa it was so bad and the family was wearing 40% DEET. The little buggers were bouncing off the windows, the exhaust pipes and some would sneak in through the cracks at night and bite us up a little.

Otherwise it was comfortable, cute and affordable

Other issue is that when they say check in is at 4PM they mean it. There will be no one there until 4PM. We got there in a torrential downpour and had to stay in our car for 20 minutes while we waiting for the clock to strike 4PM.

Also no hiking trails in walking distance which I found odd. The Café across the street if very good for breakfast, lunch or dinner

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!

I'm truly sorry to hear about the mosquitoes giving you a hard time. Unfortunately, we have had an abnormally acute mosquito problem across the entire state this summer, even by Alaska standards. We're doing our best to keep bug repellant stocked in our office (both natural and DEET) and we also have some hand-held bug zappers that we have been lending out to guests as well. We just ordered more of those zappers, along with some head nets and netting to cover the cots in our Wall Tents, to try and help make the hostel a more comfortable and relaxing retreat from these obnoxious little insects. If you have time, please send us an email regarding what cabin you stayed in, and we will have someone from maintenance take a look at it, as all of our windows and doors should be sealed so that no bugs can get inside.

Regarding your comments about check-in not beginning until 4 PM, we do put a note in all of our confirmation emails that check-in is from 4 PM- 10 PM, so that guests can prepare for that ahead of time. Before 4 PM, our staff is working on housekeeping. They are on the property and we have a sign on the door of our office letting guests who arrive early know that they can take a look for the housekeeper out back if they need something, but otherwise yes, our afternoon office shifts do not begin until 4 PM promptly.

There aren't many hiking trails around the hostel, as we have neighbors close by who enjoy their privacy. There is some open space around us, but it is privately owned and occasionally patrolled for trespassers as well, and we don't want our guests getting into trouble for that. However, we do make sure that our staff members are experts when it comes to suggesting hikes in Denali National Park, and on other public lands in the area, along with being able to help people arrange tours and decide what else to do while they are visiting Denali.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope that you will stay with us again if you ever return to Denali, and next time, we'll keep our fingers crossed for less mosquitoes- (if we're lucky, none at all!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    37
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
48
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great place to stay when visiting Denali. We had one of the log cabins (Splatter Rock) which was towards the back of the property, so no road noises. The shared area is good with books and things to do and wifi. Communal washroom/shower area is clean and warm. The little cabin was cute and comfortable. Staff are very friendly as were other guests. For those who don't arrive with their own transport, they run a minibus to and from the Wilderness Access Center (about 12 miles down the highway) twice in the morning and twice in the afternoon. When we were heading back to get the train out however, the manager Ali kindly dropped us down at the railroad station further on which was a great help as we had a lot of luggage. Excellent value compared to other accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha and thanks for taking the time to review us! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your cabin, and our common area as well! We do try to keep a book exchange going on our bookshelf in there, so for any future guests, feel free to trade for new books, or leave behind old ones for others to read on a rainy day! Thanks again and we hope to see you back at the hostel on your next Alaskan adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We couldn't believe the prices for hotels near Denali, so we took a chance on this hostel. So glad we did! We stayed in Iceworm 2, which had 2 queen size beds (one in a little loft area with very steep steps). The room was very clean and more spacious than I expected. The common shower/bath rooms were not far away and were also quite clean. The luxurious bath mats were nice to step out of the shower onto on cold mornings. The large kitchen was fine for our simple meals. We had to cooperate with others who were also cooking, but folks were considerate and accommodating of one another. We really enjoyed getting to know fellow guests, which was facilitated by the presence of wi-fi in the common area; everyone came in to check email, etc. at some point. The fire pit by the creek was also nice and we enjoyed several evenings out there. The only draw back was that when others stayed out by the fire pit well into the night (like 2 am and it still wasn't really dark) we could hear them from inside our cabin. They could also use more hooks or towel rods in the bathrooms, but that was a minor inconvenience. We also booked a rafting trip through the office and paid less than we would have at Denali Outdoor Center while having the office handle all of the arrangements which was very nice. I will definitely look at staying at other hostels after this positive experience.

Room Tip: If you elect to stay in a tent, bring mosquito netting (recommendation from a fellow guest in a tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your time and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the note about the steep steps in the Iceworm Cabin- some of our stairs are more comparable to ladders, and we definitely take points like this into consideration for future remodels/updates. We'll make a note of the request for more hooks in the shower rooms as well, and we are looking into purchasing new mosquito netting for our tents, too! We had it in past summers, but it got torn up quickly, so we are looking into a better option for replacing them. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the common area meeting and cooking with other guests- that's what hosteling is all about! In regards to your comments about the campfire, we're sorry to hear that you were kept awake by other guests. We tell everyone at check-in and post signs on the property that quiet hours are in effect after 11 PM. We also have one staff member on-site, and one staff member on-call nightly, to be there in case there are any complaints or emergencies. Please know that if you had gone to the on-site staff member regarding the noise level, he would have corrected this issue immediately. If you make it back to Denali, we hope you will stay with us again- our on-site person, as well as the rest of our staff, would be more than happy to assist you in making your next trip even better than the last one! Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Place was so cute!! Located in the middle of bush like mini log cabins. We stayed in Yellach House (I think that was the name).

Room had very comfortable beds and great ventilation when the shutter (with mozzie screen) was open. Main quarters were spacious with open plan living and dining and more than adequate facilities including WIFI and computer.

Bathrooms were in a separate block. Private shower and toilet with great water pressure and lots of hot water! Night lighting made moving around easier (although in the summer...it's never dark).

Outdoor fire place was located right next to the river which would have been relaxing had the
unseasonably high number of boeing-777 mozzies not been in full force!

Downside, only place it's close to is the lodge across the road. No issue if you have a car as McKinley village isn't far.
Highly recommend this place to all travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us here! We're so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Kudos to you for staying positive in spite of the crazy mosquito populations this summer! I did want to clarify one point of this review for other readers- all of our showers and toilets are "private" in the sense that they are home-style. There is only one shower and toilet per room, so they are not commercial-style, but, they are all shared by all of the guests on the property. We definitely like to be able to offer a hot shower after a long day of hiking or other adventures in the park! We are 13 miles south of the park entrance, so yes, we are a bit far from many of the area hotels, gift shops, and restaurants- but the upside to that is, there is plenty of peace and quiet in our location! We also offer a free shuttle service for our guests 4 times daily that goes between the hostel and the Denali National Park entrance area, so hopefully that makes it easier for people to get around. Thanks again for reviewing us! We hope to see you next time you are back in Denali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am not crazy about hostels, but this one in Denali is my favorite! What makes it so special: first, the awesome stuff , who's very friendly and helpful. Second, the hostel is CLEAN!!!! I can't tell you how much I appreciate that. As a bonus, complimentary coffee is made fresh every morning, and as your token of appreciation, tipping is recommended. I would love to live there- summer only :) Third, will be the great people you get to meet, and listen to their stories- AMAZING! This is what makes a great trip- besides the wonderful places, the great people you meet and what you learn from them- an unique experience! Keep up the good vibe! B

Room Tip: Book in advance- about 2-3 months ahead, if you can. Also , take a look at the discounts they offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello there and thanks for the nice review! We are so, so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would call us your favorite hostel- what an honor! I have to say thanks to our wonderful staff for making the hostel such a clean, friendly, and enjoyable space! They do a great job. Thanks for posting tips about our discounted tours as well! We hope to see you again in Denali sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our second experience staying at a hostel, the first one being in Whitehorse earlier on our trip. Both were excellent experiences. We were traveling with our son and daughter in law and stayed side by side with them in iceworm 1&2, essentially 2 identical rooms separated by a wall with separate entrances in one large cabin with a shared porch. The interiors were rustic and charming, clean and the beds comfortable. Linens, comforters and towels provided. The weather was extraordinarily hot the days we were there so we did not need to use the heater. There were plenty of lights and outlets and hooks to hang things, and the room got dark enough with the curtains that we could sleep, even though it never got dark outside. We were right across from the lovely creek and close to the bathrooms (which were very clean) and common area. The kitchen is large, clean and well equipped and coffee available in the morning. Staff was very helpful with advice on where to hike and there are informational books and maps all over the common area. We enjoyed hanging around the campfire right by the rushing creek with other guests the last evening we were there. Wi-fi available in the common area which was great. This is a great deal for the independent traveler on a budget or if looking to avoid the crowded tourist areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha and thanks for the review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we love to see people trying out hostels for the first time! Thanks for giving such a detailed description of the Iceworm Cabins- it really is a great fit for families/friends who are traveling together! Thanks again for taking the time to review us here- we hope to see you and your family the next time you're in Denali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed 3 nights and have enjoyed my stay here. The log cabin was awesome. It was so comfortable like a home. The kitchen has full facilities and big. There is a big dinning table. Beside all the log cabins there is a beautiful, clear creek running beside. You can sit by the creek and enjoyed the water or even have a campfire or BBQ. This ambience gives you a true Alaskan feeling. I enjoyed relaxing and sitting by the creek.
The staff are very helpful and friendly. They even helped me to book another hostel in Fairbanks.There is a free shuttle to the Denali National Park & Preserve.
My only concern is that for the men, we have to use the toilet outside, a short walk from the cabin. It is not so convenience esp. in the middle of the night if you need to use the toilet. However, this is not a major issue. Just don't drink too much water before you go to bed.
Stay here if you want to enjoy the creek!

Room Tip: Avoid the TRAIN WRECK OR YANERT cabin as they are too far from the toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello! Thanks for another great review! We're glad to read that you enjoyed our small slice of paradise. The fire pit and the creek are a great place to hang out and meet the other guests and simply enjoy the view of the creek and mountains surrounding the hostel. Our shared restroom facilities are centrally located on our property, so they can be a short walk from some of our cabins that are on the edge of our property, but nothing is more than a 30-second walk from anything else on the property- having central shared showers and restrooms, rather than en suite restrooms for all of our cabins, helps us keep our costs down so that we can pass our low prices on to all of our guests! Thanks again for your review and for your advice to our future guests. We hope to see you next time you make it back to Denali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

Address: 224 Mile, George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting on a creek. Private cabins, private rooms, hostel beds and wall-tents. 13 miles from the park entrance, but with a free shuttle service. The only way to see Denali on a budget. The hostel is clean, the staff is super-friendly and helpful and we offer discounted prices on local tours and transportation. We are the source for the lowest cost tickets for the Alaska Railroad and sell tickets for The Park Connection Motorcoach. And we offer the lowest prices on nearly all the local tours. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Mountain Morning Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins to your Saves list