We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in a hostel in 32 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
Save Saved
You added Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins to your Saves list
224 Mile, George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Lilburn, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“First time in a hostel in 32 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We couldn't believe the prices for hotels near Denali, so we took a chance on this hostel. So glad we did! We stayed in Iceworm 2, which had 2 queen size beds (one in a little loft area with very steep steps). The room was very clean and more spacious than I expected. The common shower/bath rooms were not far away and were also quite clean. The luxurious bath mats were nice to step out of the shower onto on cold mornings. The large kitchen was fine for our simple meals. We had to cooperate with others who were also cooking, but folks were considerate and accommodating of one another. We really enjoyed getting to know fellow guests, which was facilitated by the presence of wi-fi in the common area; everyone came in to check email, etc. at some point. The fire pit by the creek was also nice and we enjoyed several evenings out there. The only draw back was that when others stayed out by the fire pit well into the night (like 2 am and it still wasn't really dark) we could hear them from inside our cabin. They could also use more hooks or towel rods in the bathrooms, but that was a minor inconvenience. We also booked a rafting trip through the office and paid less than we would have at Denali Outdoor Center while having the office handle all of the arrangements which was very nice. I will definitely look at staying at other hostels after this positive experience.

Room Tip: If you elect to stay in a tent, bring mosquito netting (recommendation from a fellow guest in a tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your time and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the note about the steep steps in the Iceworm Cabin- some of our stairs are more comparable to ladders, and we definitely take points like this into consideration for future remodels/updates. We'll make a note of the request for more hooks in the shower rooms as well, and we are looking into purchasing new mosquito netting for our tents, too! We had it in past summers, but it got torn up quickly, so we are looking into a better option for replacing them. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the common area meeting and cooking with other guests- that's what hosteling is all about! In regards to your comments about the campfire, we're sorry to hear that you were kept awake by other guests. We tell everyone at check-in and post signs on the property that quiet hours are in effect after 11 PM. We also have one staff member on-site, and one staff member on-call nightly, to be there in case there are any complaints or emergencies. Please know that if you had gone to the on-site staff member regarding the noise level, he would have corrected this issue immediately. If you make it back to Denali, we hope you will stay with us again- our on-site person, as well as the rest of our staff, would be more than happy to assist you in making your next trip even better than the last one! Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    38
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
49
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Place was so cute!! Located in the middle of bush like mini log cabins. We stayed in Yellach House (I think that was the name).

Room had very comfortable beds and great ventilation when the shutter (with mozzie screen) was open. Main quarters were spacious with open plan living and dining and more than adequate facilities including WIFI and computer.

Bathrooms were in a separate block. Private shower and toilet with great water pressure and lots of hot water! Night lighting made moving around easier (although in the summer...it's never dark).

Outdoor fire place was located right next to the river which would have been relaxing had the
unseasonably high number of boeing-777 mozzies not been in full force!

Downside, only place it's close to is the lodge across the road. No issue if you have a car as McKinley village isn't far.
Highly recommend this place to all travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us here! We're so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Kudos to you for staying positive in spite of the crazy mosquito populations this summer! I did want to clarify one point of this review for other readers- all of our showers and toilets are "private" in the sense that they are home-style. There is only one shower and toilet per room, so they are not commercial-style, but, they are all shared by all of the guests on the property. We definitely like to be able to offer a hot shower after a long day of hiking or other adventures in the park! We are 13 miles south of the park entrance, so yes, we are a bit far from many of the area hotels, gift shops, and restaurants- but the upside to that is, there is plenty of peace and quiet in our location! We also offer a free shuttle service for our guests 4 times daily that goes between the hostel and the Denali National Park entrance area, so hopefully that makes it easier for people to get around. Thanks again for reviewing us! We hope to see you next time you are back in Denali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am not crazy about hostels, but this one in Denali is my favorite! What makes it so special: first, the awesome stuff , who's very friendly and helpful. Second, the hostel is CLEAN!!!! I can't tell you how much I appreciate that. As a bonus, complimentary coffee is made fresh every morning, and as your token of appreciation, tipping is recommended. I would love to live there- summer only :) Third, will be the great people you get to meet, and listen to their stories- AMAZING! This is what makes a great trip- besides the wonderful places, the great people you meet and what you learn from them- an unique experience! Keep up the good vibe! B

Room Tip: Book in advance- about 2-3 months ahead, if you can. Also , take a look at the discounts they offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello there and thanks for the nice review! We are so, so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would call us your favorite hostel- what an honor! I have to say thanks to our wonderful staff for making the hostel such a clean, friendly, and enjoyable space! They do a great job. Thanks for posting tips about our discounted tours as well! We hope to see you again in Denali sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our second experience staying at a hostel, the first one being in Whitehorse earlier on our trip. Both were excellent experiences. We were traveling with our son and daughter in law and stayed side by side with them in iceworm 1&2, essentially 2 identical rooms separated by a wall with separate entrances in one large cabin with a shared porch. The interiors were rustic and charming, clean and the beds comfortable. Linens, comforters and towels provided. The weather was extraordinarily hot the days we were there so we did not need to use the heater. There were plenty of lights and outlets and hooks to hang things, and the room got dark enough with the curtains that we could sleep, even though it never got dark outside. We were right across from the lovely creek and close to the bathrooms (which were very clean) and common area. The kitchen is large, clean and well equipped and coffee available in the morning. Staff was very helpful with advice on where to hike and there are informational books and maps all over the common area. We enjoyed hanging around the campfire right by the rushing creek with other guests the last evening we were there. Wi-fi available in the common area which was great. This is a great deal for the independent traveler on a budget or if looking to avoid the crowded tourist areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha and thanks for the review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we love to see people trying out hostels for the first time! Thanks for giving such a detailed description of the Iceworm Cabins- it really is a great fit for families/friends who are traveling together! Thanks again for taking the time to review us here- we hope to see you and your family the next time you're in Denali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed 3 nights and have enjoyed my stay here. The log cabin was awesome. It was so comfortable like a home. The kitchen has full facilities and big. There is a big dinning table. Beside all the log cabins there is a beautiful, clear creek running beside. You can sit by the creek and enjoyed the water or even have a campfire or BBQ. This ambience gives you a true Alaskan feeling. I enjoyed relaxing and sitting by the creek.
The staff are very helpful and friendly. They even helped me to book another hostel in Fairbanks.There is a free shuttle to the Denali National Park & Preserve.
My only concern is that for the men, we have to use the toilet outside, a short walk from the cabin. It is not so convenience esp. in the middle of the night if you need to use the toilet. However, this is not a major issue. Just don't drink too much water before you go to bed.
Stay here if you want to enjoy the creek!

Room Tip: Avoid the TRAIN WRECK OR YANERT cabin as they are too far from the toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello! Thanks for another great review! We're glad to read that you enjoyed our small slice of paradise. The fire pit and the creek are a great place to hang out and meet the other guests and simply enjoy the view of the creek and mountains surrounding the hostel. Our shared restroom facilities are centrally located on our property, so they can be a short walk from some of our cabins that are on the edge of our property, but nothing is more than a 30-second walk from anything else on the property- having central shared showers and restrooms, rather than en suite restrooms for all of our cabins, helps us keep our costs down so that we can pass our low prices on to all of our guests! Thanks again for your review and for your advice to our future guests. We hope to see you next time you make it back to Denali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

You have look out carefully for the turn-off into the hostel. It's marked with a sign 'hostel' and 2 red cones. We booked the ice worm cabin which was cozy. Check-in was quick and the staff is friendly and helpful. The portable heater was working very well at heating up the room. The bed was comfortable and the view of the creek from our window was beautiful. Towels are provided. A fire was made in the outdoors near the creek every evening and guests can admire the scenery (we went in June when daylight was long - sun sets around 3 am) while warming themselves by the fire in the evenings. Bathrooms are shared and located within easy/close walking distance from our cabins. The restrooms and bathrooms are heated. Guests need to strip their bedsheets, towels and pillow casings when they check out. 2 restaurants are located across the road from the hostel and the food there is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi and thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a warm and comfortable stay. A word about our sign- our original one blew down in high winds last fall. We have new ones painted and ready to go up just as soon as our contractor has time! For now, you're right, you do have to be on the lookout for the hostel, but hopefully our new sign will be up soon! Come back next summer and check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there 3nights, one night at private tent, two nights at dorm.

It's a little far away from the park. But there is shuttle bus and it was nice view when I was going there, so it's not a big problem.

The tent was actually cold at night for me (even it was my first time to sleep outside) but there was not any bugs inside. The dorm was great. Bed was so comfortable and so cute, the room is so warm and clean. There are lights -and plugs for each bed. There are enough toilet and showers inside and outside so you don't need to worry about rush.

Moreover the lobby and kitchen are amazing. Super clean and have everything!

People's are nice too!

If I have a chance to back to the park, I'll stay there again. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Greetings and thanks for another great review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you chose Denali Mountain Morning Hostel for your first overnight adventure in a tent! Way to go! It can definitely get a bit chilly at night in Alaska, but we do supply our tents with zero-degree sleeping bags, and we also have a stash of extra blankets for anyone who needs them, so if you come back to visit, please feel free to request one! Thanks again to my wonderful staff for keeping the hostel so clean and working hard to create a memorable and enjoyable experience for all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

Address: 224 Mile, George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting on a creek. Private cabins, private rooms, hostel beds and wall-tents. 13 miles from the park entrance, but with a free shuttle service. The only way to see Denali on a budget. The hostel is clean, the staff is super-friendly and helpful and we offer discounted prices on local tours and transportation. We are the source for the lowest cost tickets for the Alaska Railroad and sell tickets for The Park Connection Motorcoach. And we offer the lowest prices on nearly all the local tours. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Mountain Morning Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.