We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fufilled its purpose - Nice Alaska Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Creekside Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added McKinley Creekside Cabins to your Saves list
McKinley Creekside Cabins
Mile 224 George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fufilled its purpose - Nice Alaska Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2006

We picked this place because it was the cheapest and it was available. I tried getting a room in April for a visit in July. It is right down the street from the park entrance, but you have to get to the park yourself. If you get a hotel alittle past the park entrance, you will have more access to restaurants and can actually walk to the park entrance.

We decided to go to Denali before our cruise. We left Anchorage two hours late because of a flight delay and I called to let them know. They said no problem and left the key to our cabin taped to the front door. We didn't get to the cabins until almost midnight. Thank god for the Land of the Midnight Sun because it was still alittle light out.

The cabins were warm although the walls were very thin. But it was really nice ot hear the flowing water from the creek. We really did not spend a great deal of time in the room since we did an all day trip to Denali and then left the next morning to Anchorage to catch a bus to our ship.

We enjoyed the little restaurant they had there. It is not the four seasons, but I think it was alsmot more authentic. Also it was a smaller place and people gathered outside by the creek. Awesome views, but that would be anywhere.

We actually got a
cabin" that had two bedrooms which was really nice after being stuck with my Mama for an entire 72 hours. It was nice to have our own space.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    147
    54
    14
    12
See reviews for
111
208
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

Cabin was small and without a TV but we enjoyed our night there. Make no mistake, this is a no thrills place but it seemed logical since we were in Denali. We could hear the creek babble outside our cabin and that is something you don't find a the bigger resorts.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2004

We booked a cabin on Travelocity and charged 100% upfront to our credit card, received confirmation that guaranteed late check-in, this was 5 days in advance. We get there and first they can't find our resevation, then when we show them the confirmation page printout with the number on it they change their story saying they were overbooked and didn't have a phone number to contact us (lie #2, Travelocity requires a phone number when you make a reservation, and besides, we received email confirmation so travelocity definitely has our email address). So then they tell us that they have a room reserved for us at a different place down the road and we get there and they have no record of any reservation and are booked full (as are most places in Denali this time of year). The manager at that place was kind enough to call around and find us a place that had a cancellation and could get us in.

When we get home and call to speak with the manager from McKinley Creekside Cabins, she just brushes it off, no apoligies for not trying to contact us (remember, we booked 5 days ahead), saying that everyone over books and passes the buck telling us it was the hotel that they sent us to's fault that we didn't have a room.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2004

Its a great place at a great price. The retsurant is super-fabulous and the people really care if you are happy with the food and stay.

Nice sized to huge portions (especially breakfast). They will also pack a lunch bag for you to carry on your tour in Denali.

The cabins are not the most luxurious in the world, but they are really cozy. Strangely, I found this place a lot more affordable (both food and lodging) compared to Anchorage.

Prompt service, great food, nice cabins at a great price. Could not ask for more.

Great Experience, will totally reccommend this to anyone visiting Denali. This is a good half point between luxury and complete wilderness.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2003

McKinley Creekside Cabins are about being comfortable while visiting the wilderness. The facilities are not designed to be ostentatious but rather an economical and comfortable alternative to the High-end resorts of the area. Most of the other resorts are up to $100 more per night.

Don't tell everyone but I was able to pan Gold out of Carlo Creek, just a short hike above my cabin. I wasn't guided for panning, but it was productive for the few minutes that I had to spend.

The restaurant is the key selling point. It is a Cafe that has everything you would expect in a traditional Alaskan restaurant except without the rough and tough attitude. The owner's I noticed cared about the quality and reputation of the food and did whatever was necessary to make sure it was a good experience.

Another restaurant is next door for those who wish to pay more for the better view. The food next door is supposed to be "fine dining" but I found that the Cafe at Creekside was comparible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKinley Creekside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Creekside Cabins

Address: Mile 224 George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your McKinley Creekside Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Creekside Cabins Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Creekside Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.