We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect but a good stay at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Creekside Cabins

Save Saved
You added McKinley Creekside Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McKinley Creekside Cabins
Mile 224 George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Ohio
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Not perfect but a good stay at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

There are not many "luxury" options near Denali National Park, and McKinley Creekside Cabins does not claim to be in that category. Even so, they provide a nice experience at decent prices relative to other nearby options.

Our family of five (2 parents, 3 kids - 11, 14, 17) stayed in a Family (3 double beds) cabin for two nights. As such, our cabin was all our own, and we did not share any walls with other guests, so our stay was a quiet one.

We had only two real complaints.

First, the promised wi-fi service is quite erratic. On a few occasions, we were able to connect just fine - but, more frequently, we found ourselves either without a wi-fi signal or with a signal but unable to reach any websites. On one occasion, I walked to the camp office in search of a better signal and still could not get online.

Second, the cabin did not have blackout drapes, which really are a necessity in Alaska in the summer. Even at 2 AM, there was a lot of light coming through the windows, and this can be distracting.

Overall, though, we were quite satisfied with our stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    128
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
95
170
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, NJ
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This warm and welcoming cabin complex is about 15 - 20 minutes south of the Denali entrance. While the rooms are clean, they are not pristine. But the few flaws, such as stained rugs and minor water damage in the shower, were quickly and delightfully overcome by the sense of home and comfort created by the staff and the overall ambience. I am a stickler about clean rooms, comfortable beds. I slept like a log here, and felt the room was maintained about what I would expect from a casual, reasonably priced cabin environment. My entire family loved the place, the restaurant was fantastic, and overall, we were sorry to leave.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

The cabin was spotless. The staff were friendly and helpful! The cafe offered tasty meals. A delightful 4-day stop for our family!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We spent three nights at the McKinley Creekside Cabins. We visited with my extended family plus friends, attending a wedding at Denali. We had seven or eight rooms between us. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The view was great.

But what set the Cabins apart were the people who worked there. The staff at the Cabins and at the cafe were great. The waitstaff did a fine job accommodating our large group whenever we wanted to eat at the same table.

The staff at McKinley Creekside cabins clearly care about their customers. Here is an example. My rental car developed a flat tire while we were at Denali. Fortunately, I was at the cabins when it went flat. The front desk called Hertz for me (my cell phone was not getting service). Although the front desk closes at 10 pm, the front desk clerk said he would stay there until the tire was fixed. About 10:30 pm, while the wrecker service was working on my car, the clerk checked in with me to ask whether I would like him to stay with me until the tire was fixed. Then 15 minutes later, the two waitresses also stopped by before leaving to make sure that everything was okay. I can't tell you how much I appreciated that.

All of us were very satisfied with the accommodations and would recommend McKinley Creekside Cabins to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

These cabins are located an easy 14 mile drive from the Entrance to Denali National Park. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeble of the area. Although you should never want this just a heads up there are not TV's in the rooms. There is a lot of noise from the outside also but please remember these are cabins. Overall good place!

Room Tip: Just ask to be near the creek if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We were so happy that we stayed at McKinley cabins over the "Glitter Gulch" area and all of the bus loads of tourists and families. It was only a 15 min drive (13 miles) to the park and that distance from the park entrance area made a world of difference not only in the peaceful lodging, but the restaurant seating availability. Our deluxe creekside cabin was VERY clean and so quaint and romantic. Thanks to the advice of the proprietor upon booking, we stocked up on lunch meat, breakfast items and snacks in Anchorage and used the microwave, fridge and coffee maker in our cabin. This also helped save money for lunches since there is no food for sale in Denali National Park and you have to bring your own in. The rushing creek provided a nice shield from any noise (if there was even any). It was a pleasant surprise to find a decent hairdryer as well as big pump dispenser bottles of shampoo and conditioner under the sink - no tiny hotel bottles to fuss with.
The restaurant is FABULOUS and we ate there two nights for dinner as well as our last morning for breakfast. Very good and diverse menu and no crowds to battle.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This place is not by all the many other resorts but close enough to get to the park. Our kids liked the quiet and clean rooms. The room was a little small for 4 big adults but okay for a short stay of 3 days. The cafe had great food and was reasonably priced by Alaska standards. We had problems with the WIE Fie hookup at times.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McKinley Creekside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Creekside Cabins

Address: Mile 224 George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your McKinley Creekside Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Creekside Cabins Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Creekside Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.